Customer Reviews for

A Killer Plot (Books by the Bay Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A killer start to a new seris

Welcome to Oyster Bay, North Carolina where the living is easy and murder is on the mind.

Olivia Limoges has returned to the hometown she left as a young girl. She is rich, stunning, suffering from a case of writers block and still a mystery to the locals, and often ...
Welcome to Oyster Bay, North Carolina where the living is easy and murder is on the mind.

Olivia Limoges has returned to the hometown she left as a young girl. She is rich, stunning, suffering from a case of writers block and still a mystery to the locals, and often keeping only the company of her loyal poodle Captain Haviland. She also owns the local five star restaurant and has invested a lot in local properties, becoming landlord to many of the businesses around her. While having breakfast at the local diner she overhears some people talking "book stuff." Dixie, her friend and waitress explains that they are a group called the Bayside Book Writers and encourages her to join. She hesitates until she speaks with Camden Ford, the apparent leader of the group. She finds him witty, charming and impossible to refuse. Olivia decides that she is going to fix up the lighthouse cottage on her property for their meetings.

It looks like things are improving for Olivia, particularly in the friend department, until people start showing up dead. When one of her new friends winds up dead, with of all things a Haiku poem left next to the body, Olivia and her writer friends know they will do whatever they can to find out who is responsible for the murder. But can they figure it out before more bodies start to fall? Do the murders have to do with the gossip book one of their group members is writing about a well know family, the desire to push through a new housing development no matter what the cost, or something else no one could have possibly anticipated?

A Killer Plot is a fantastic start to a new series. The characters are fun, fresh and a bit on the eccentric side. There is Dixie, the roller skating dwarf waitress, Harris the computer geek who suffers from a serious case of Rosacea, and Millay the bartender, who likes to show up with her hair a different color each time they meet. These are just a few of the fun people you will meet in this charming first book of the Books By The Bay Mystery series. The characters are believable and the author gives the reader great insight into the world of a writer. With new friendships, possible romance(s) and promises of great things to come, A Killer Plot is one book you don't want to be caught dead missing.

posted by fdbolt on June 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is the beginning book in the Books By The Bay Mysteries.  O

This is the beginning book in the Books By The Bay Mysteries.  Oyster Bay, North Carolina was a nice little fishing town till a local magazine played it up as one of the best tourist spots around.  Now a big time developer wants to buy the towns huge park area to build ...
This is the beginning book in the Books By The Bay Mysteries.  Oyster Bay, North Carolina was a nice little fishing town till a local magazine played it up as one of the best tourist spots around.  Now a big time developer wants to buy the towns huge park area to build a development.  Not everyone is happy about this though.




Olivia Limoges is one of the towns wealthiest and most interesting patrons.  She was born here to a local fishing family but when her mom died and her father deserted her, rich grandma swooped in and took her away.  She was raised expecting everything to go as she pleased.  Now she has returned to town and lives by herself with her brilliantly well-trained poodle, Haviland. 




When a local charmer and Hollywood gossip columnist convinces Olivia to join her writer's group, she began to break out of her shell.  This strange group is made up of some interesting people who instantly bond.  Then when the gossip columnist is killed, with only a haiku left behind as a clue, everyone joins in to help solve this poetic mystery.  




This is a fun start to a new series, with some very interesting characters not the least of which is the bit over the top smart poodle.  My problem with not giving this five stars was that the mystery was developed late and a bit strangely.  The murderer and reasoning were not laid into the story as expertly as I might have liked--build up of motive was a bit short.  Having said that, I definitely plan to read more in this series, as I think the introduction of the characters was terrific.  I want to see what this eclectic crew has coming up next in this fun --almost a character in itself--town of Oyster Bay. 

posted by RonnaL on February 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A killer start to a new seris

    Welcome to Oyster Bay, North Carolina where the living is easy and murder is on the mind.

    Olivia Limoges has returned to the hometown she left as a young girl. She is rich, stunning, suffering from a case of writers block and still a mystery to the locals, and often keeping only the company of her loyal poodle Captain Haviland. She also owns the local five star restaurant and has invested a lot in local properties, becoming landlord to many of the businesses around her. While having breakfast at the local diner she overhears some people talking "book stuff." Dixie, her friend and waitress explains that they are a group called the Bayside Book Writers and encourages her to join. She hesitates until she speaks with Camden Ford, the apparent leader of the group. She finds him witty, charming and impossible to refuse. Olivia decides that she is going to fix up the lighthouse cottage on her property for their meetings.

    It looks like things are improving for Olivia, particularly in the friend department, until people start showing up dead. When one of her new friends winds up dead, with of all things a Haiku poem left next to the body, Olivia and her writer friends know they will do whatever they can to find out who is responsible for the murder. But can they figure it out before more bodies start to fall? Do the murders have to do with the gossip book one of their group members is writing about a well know family, the desire to push through a new housing development no matter what the cost, or something else no one could have possibly anticipated?

    A Killer Plot is a fantastic start to a new series. The characters are fun, fresh and a bit on the eccentric side. There is Dixie, the roller skating dwarf waitress, Harris the computer geek who suffers from a serious case of Rosacea, and Millay the bartender, who likes to show up with her hair a different color each time they meet. These are just a few of the fun people you will meet in this charming first book of the Books By The Bay Mystery series. The characters are believable and the author gives the reader great insight into the world of a writer. With new friendships, possible romance(s) and promises of great things to come, A Killer Plot is one book you don't want to be caught dead missing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Murder She Wrote, you're going to love this one

    If Olivia Limoges were an ice cream sundae, she'd be made of three scoops of bossy drizzled with a coating of panache and a sprinkling of nuts. She was in no mood whatsoever to put up with Darlene and Sue Ellen's flapping jaws in the Oyster Bay Stop 'n' Shop and when she plopped a bag of Iams dog food on Sue Ellen's chips and posies, they knew she meant business. They could say anything about her, including the fact that she was the richest woman in town, but she had no intention of being the gossip special of the week. Not very likely. Her dog Captain Haviland, a black standard poodle, was her constant companion and she was soon out the door and sitting in her Range Rover with him.

    She rolled into a handicapped parking spot in front of Grumpy's Diner to relax and do a little reading. Olivia needed a bit of sympathy from her best friend Dixie, who was all of "four feet seven inches tall, including the two inches provided by a pair of roller skates and an inch of comb-teased, sun-streaked brown hair." The last thing she expected was a bunch of yappers reading from their manuscripts . . . "His eyes lingered on the heaving swell of her breasts." That did it. A few wry comments later and she found herself on the receiving end of an invite to the Bayside Book Writers club. Why not? After all she was writing a book.

    She dusted off her protagonist, "Kamila," and began to enjoy the motley members of the club, including Camden Ford, a.k.a. Milano Cruise, a big time gossip columnist. Little did they know that his body would soon be found in an alleyway "slumped against the brick wall like a discarded department store mannequin." A strange Haiku had been left with the body, a clue for the literati to solve.

    Chief Sawyer Rawlings stepped in to take their statements, but soon there would be another body and another literary conundrum to solve. A cemetery, a land deal, a movie star, a rock band named Blackwaters, a gossip columnist . . . how did they all tie in? Olivia walked the beach to think about it, but found a clue lying in the sand she never wanted to find. She reached out to touch some curly black fur only to find yet another piece of paper. HAVILAND! What was going on? This was a real emergency and the Bayside Book Writers had been called to action, but just how were they going to find this killer?

    This exciting new, killer of a series with the Bayside Book Writers club is going to garner a LOT of fans. I loved the assortment of characters in this cozy who range from the small town quirky waitress to the more sophisticated and suave literary aficionado. A little splash of Chivas Regal anyone? The pace was relaxed, but the writing was not at all shallow. This is the type of book that you're going to be carting around with you, just hoping for a few minutes to read the next chapter. It's one of those "don't bug me, I'm reading" books you're going to savor from the first page to the last. The ending was well paced, unrushed and made me anxious to read the next in the series.

    Quill says: If you love Murder She Wrote, you're going to love this one because Jessica Fletcher...er, Olivia Limoges has now gone south!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Debut plot succeeds!

    Oyster Bay, North Carolina better be careful, or it's going to fall off of Time's Top "Ten Best Kept Vacation Secrets" list! Wealthy Olivia Limoges has returned to the town and is part of the re-vitalization of town by being both restaurant owner and landlord to many of the new businesses in town. Olivia's poodle, Captain Haviland, seems to be her best friend in life until the Bayside Book Writers group invite her to join them. A murder in town, coupled with haiku clue, get the writers group involved in some detecting. I liked that the story was challenging, characters from outside the quaint town help shape the story as much as those from Oyster Bay. Adams secondary characters, like rollerskating Dixie, gentle, yet deep police chief Rawlings and all of the Bayside writers shine in this debut novel. I definitely look forward to their next mystery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    A good read from start to finish!

    As with any book, you never know what you are going to find at page 1. What I did find with this book was that even at page 1, I couldn't put it down. The characters were down to earth and as the events unfolded, they kept me engrossed right up to the end. The imagery of the beach setting made me feel like I was right there. The main character Olivia and her dog Captain were a likeable pair. I think anyone with pets can understand the relationship between Olivia and her poodle. And anyone who likes a good mystery will be happy with this selection. This book was an enjoyable read and I can't wait to see what happens with the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A twisty, surprising debut

    This shoreline mystery is definitely a great beach read--others have recapped the plot, so I'll just say it's fun, it's fresh, the characters are real people (not cardboard cutouts bound to the plot and nothing else) and the dialogue rings true. This is a terrific debut, and it promises much, much more to come! We want more Olivia!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great new series

    We are introduced to a strong woman with emotional baggage and by becoming involved with the group, she is slowly healing and embracing her life. This is a charming mystery that made me feel for the lure of the town and the characters that live in Oyster Bay. This is a great book and I look forward to reading more stories about Olivia and her friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A strong traditional mystery.

    Unusual heroine, coastal setting, literary themes, and a captivating mystery. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Great Read!!

    A great cozy. Engaging characters, breezy seashore setting, I rrally enjoy this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    A marvelous debut!

    Enough readers have already talked about the story points, so let me just say that Ellery Adams' debut novel, A Killer Plot, is not only a great read, but a visceral experience. Olivia Lamoges investigation into a friend's murder, will have you hearing the waves crash on the North Carolina shore. You might even feel the ocean winds stinging your cheeks. Visit Oyster Bay and you'll long to return again and again. I can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    I finished A Killer Plot this week & loved it! I felt like I was right there with Olivia & Captain Haviland. I loved the beach setting, the writer's group (& their 1st chapters), & the coffee references. :o) I'd love to go browse around in Through The Wardrobe. I liked the references to New Bern, NC since I've been there. I can't wait to learn more about Olivia & her past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Killer Plot

    I just got done reading one of the best books. I love how strong Oiliva comes across and of course who can not love her wonderful dog Haviland? The characters in this book are believable and draw you in from the start. I am anxious to see how the book club comes along with the growth of the characters. I look forward to reading the next book in the Bay Mystery series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This Book by the Bay Tarheel amateur sleuth mystery is an enjoyable tale

    In Oyster Bay, North Carolina the prodigal daughter Olivia Limoges returns but she keeps to herself. Her only outlets of affection are her dog Haviland and her goal is to finish her novel. She is forty, beautiful and rich, but nobody can get past her shell she erected around herself. No one until she meets Camden Ford, a gossip columnist interested in writing a fictional account of the Talbot family concentrating on the rich patriarchal tyrant Dean who wants to build a housing complex in the town.

    Something about Camden charms her and makes her agree to mingle with his book group. She joins the Bayside Back Writers and attends their meeting at the cottage near the lighthouse. Olivia is heartbroken when she finds Camden's murdered body in an alley. She vows to find his killers who left haiku on the victim's body. Before the townsfolk can get over the homicide Olivia finds another corpse. Dean's heir Blake and his sweetheart come to Oyster Bay to obtain approval for the housing project. While Blake and his father's trusted partner Max are trying to win over city council, Olivia investigates. Someone wants her to stop threatening her dog and eventually her.

    This Book by the Bay Tarheel amateur sleuth mystery is an enjoyable tale due to the main protagonist who is independent and forceful; she knows what she wants and goes after it, in this case finding Carmden's killer. The support cast are developed enough to either enhance Olivia's investigation or her as readers will appreciate the heroine's often inquiry into who killed her friend and why.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    I totally recommend this book.

    I haven't even finished it yet and I've already been online to order Ms. Adams' other books. I've read the first book of a couple of new series lately and this was far and away the best. I just wish I could read some of the books Olivia's friends are writing! Ms. Adams makes even the book-within-the-book interesting and readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2