Customer Reviews for

Killer Weekend (Walt Fleming Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Attorney General Elizabeth Shaler reflects back to eight years ago when she was a victim and almost killed when an intruder attacked her in her Sun Valley, Idaho vacation home. Only the efforts of a dedicated rookie cop Walt Fleming saved her life. Walt¿s excellent ...
Attorney General Elizabeth Shaler reflects back to eight years ago when she was a victim and almost killed when an intruder attacked her in her Sun Valley, Idaho vacation home. Only the efforts of a dedicated rookie cop Walt Fleming saved her life. Walt¿s excellent police work has been rewarded as he is the Sun Valley sheriff. However, he and his staff are preparing for a difficult weekend as Ms. Shaler, who is planning a run for the White House, has come to town to announce her intentions at an upper crust conference. Fleming is concerned that a hitman coming for Shaler has vanished off the radar screen when he should have been on the plane from Salt Lake City. Shaler¿s security team and the zillionaire host scoff at Fleming¿s paranoia writing him off as a local rube trying to pretend he belongs with the big guys. Meanwhile assassin Milav Trevalian has usurped the identity of a Utah blind man he killed because he knows no one would expect a ¿blind¿ person to be the professional killer. --- This is an exciting police procedural political thriller starring a likable dedicated hero who is treated with disdain by the ¿big boys and girls¿ and by his staff one deputy believes the job should be his just like Fleming¿s wife is apparently his. The motive why Trevalian¿s employer wants Shaler dead is not provided with any depth, but most readers will not care as the action never stops. The audience will enjoy this fine tale starring an overworked sheriff struggling with a murder investigation, an animal cruelty case, the Shaler protection entanglement, and his ambitious treacherous deputy in what proves to be a lost KILLER WEEKEND. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Killer, For Sure

After reading another Pearson book which I liked (David Hayes), I picked this one up and was quite disappointed. No suspense whatsoever. I'd put it down and couldn't even remember much when I returned to it. I gave up about 2/3 of the way through. Too bad, because I al...
After reading another Pearson book which I liked (David Hayes), I picked this one up and was quite disappointed. No suspense whatsoever. I'd put it down and couldn't even remember much when I returned to it. I gave up about 2/3 of the way through. Too bad, because I also bought Killer View!

posted by KenCady on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Sheriff Walt Fleming is a truly likable guy who has to put up with all sorts of characters in Sun Valley. His personal life is a mess and he's been hurt a lot, but still has faith in himself, and others. He is tenacious when tracking criminals and has great insight into the mountain people and the mountains surrounding his little County in Idaho. Ridley Pearson is very good at developing characters and carrying them from one book to another so we can follow the stories of their lives. They feel like neighbors to us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Ridley Pearson Not at His Best

    As much as I love Ridley Pearson, this is not one of my favorites. It's quite elementary -- which is good if you want a fast read. Most of his books are more "meaty" -- and I miss the Lou Boldt character, frankly. On the other hand, I had been reading some very heady stuff (involved historical novels, advanced metaphysics, etc.), and this was just what I needed at just the right time. I understand there is another book in this vein by Pearson on sale soon. I think it's called "Killer _____" I will continue to read this author, but maybe not this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    Excellent!

    Great book. Very entertaining. Lots of twists and turns throughout the book. I just bought the second book in the series - Killer View. I hope it's as good as the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Killer, For Sure

    After reading another Pearson book which I liked (David Hayes), I picked this one up and was quite disappointed. No suspense whatsoever. I'd put it down and couldn't even remember much when I returned to it. I gave up about 2/3 of the way through. Too bad, because I also bought Killer View!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Definetly recommend

    Really enjoyed. Read in two sittings. Great characters, protaganist, setting, and story line. Lots of stories have not kept my interest lately, this one definetly did. Will read his next Killer View.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Attorney General Elizabeth Shaler reflects back to eight years ago when she was a victim and almost killed when an intruder attacked her in her Sun Valley, Idaho vacation home. Only the efforts of a dedicated rookie cop Walt Fleming saved her life. Walt¿s excellent police work has been rewarded as he is the Sun Valley sheriff. However, he and his staff are preparing for a difficult weekend as Ms. Shaler, who is planning a run for the White House, has come to town to announce her intentions at an upper crust conference. Fleming is concerned that a hitman coming for Shaler has vanished off the radar screen when he should have been on the plane from Salt Lake City. Shaler¿s security team and the zillionaire host scoff at Fleming¿s paranoia writing him off as a local rube trying to pretend he belongs with the big guys. Meanwhile assassin Milav Trevalian has usurped the identity of a Utah blind man he killed because he knows no one would expect a ¿blind¿ person to be the professional killer. --- This is an exciting police procedural political thriller starring a likable dedicated hero who is treated with disdain by the ¿big boys and girls¿ and by his staff one deputy believes the job should be his just like Fleming¿s wife is apparently his. The motive why Trevalian¿s employer wants Shaler dead is not provided with any depth, but most readers will not care as the action never stops. The audience will enjoy this fine tale starring an overworked sheriff struggling with a murder investigation, an animal cruelty case, the Shaler protection entanglement, and his ambitious treacherous deputy in what proves to be a lost KILLER WEEKEND. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Great book! Good story line, keeps you wondering!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    interesting exciting?

    This started out a little slow but soon caught on to a faster pace. I liked the story line. The pace picked up almost half way through. Very good ending. A quick read. The political string was relevant with current politics. I didn't see the end and was quite surprised at who the " enemy" was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pearson does it again in Idaho

    This book is a great follow up to his previous Killer Weekend series. I don't want to give anything away but Pearson's book took me by surprise as I got to the third chapter. The plot twists and manner of describing the good vs Bad charachters keeps you ont eh edge of your seat. I really enjoy it. It is hard to find a story with strong charachters like the sheriff and how he protects the town and it's visitors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    Killer Read!

    I was not impressed with the story but felt like stopping after about thirty pages. It gave me the feeling that it was not going anywhere and very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was a bit surprised by this book. Usually Ridley keeps me guessing but this one I had figured out very quickly and it turned out how I suspected which still has me shocked. I am not the brightest bulb in the batch but seriously this might have been to easy, to straight forward. I believe the story was great, good twists and likeable characters, what I have come to expect from Ridley's books but to date I was always twisted around with his stories only to have him brilliantly lead me down the path, holding on for the great climax. I dont know what happened with this book. It was just to obvious what was going on and who was involved in the plot. At first I thought I had it all wrong and I was gonna get a great surprise but nope, none of that. It started and ended how I expected up until the very end. Even though I had it pegged the book was still fantastic. He is a master at keeping you hooked and feeding you little bits so you come back for more. I did and I enjoyed it alot. I think his work is some of the best but this one just didnt get the five star from me for the simple facts listed above. I look forward to his next book especially the Boldt series. Nothing better than that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2