Customer Reviews for

Killer in High Heels

Average Rating 4
( 714 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(308)

4 Star

(232)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

So So...

This book is somewhat entertaining, I thought the first in the series was better. I can't help but feel like the main character is a Stephanie Plum wannabe. Nowhere near the talent of Janet Evanovich and the story line is almost too silly. Hopefully the next in the s...
This book is somewhat entertaining, I thought the first in the series was better. I can't help but feel like the main character is a Stephanie Plum wannabe. Nowhere near the talent of Janet Evanovich and the story line is almost too silly. Hopefully the next in the series improve!

posted by dlcullen on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Spell check anyone??

I don't expect much with 'light' novels like this. I read these to escape and just have some fun. I took both books in this series with me on a cruise last month. I found a few problems in the first book - a few misspelled words and grammatical errors... but I let it...
I don't expect much with 'light' novels like this. I read these to escape and just have some fun. I took both books in this series with me on a cruise last month. I found a few problems in the first book - a few misspelled words and grammatical errors... but I let it go. Then I started the 2nd book.. and within the first 10 pages, there were so many errors that it made it hard to read. I don't know if these books are transferred directly from their 'hard copy' form onto the nook or are retyped to move them onto the nook. Clearly there was a problem in editing somewhere. The amount of misspelled words was astounding to me... I have never read a book with so many errors. It made trying to read it difficult.. you go along and suddenly your eyes stop because the word is incorrect. Save your money and find a higher quality 'beach read' to spend your money on!

posted by Karoo on December 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 717 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Spell check anyone??

    I don't expect much with 'light' novels like this. I read these to escape and just have some fun. I took both books in this series with me on a cruise last month. I found a few problems in the first book - a few misspelled words and grammatical errors... but I let it go. Then I started the 2nd book.. and within the first 10 pages, there were so many errors that it made it hard to read. I don't know if these books are transferred directly from their 'hard copy' form onto the nook or are retyped to move them onto the nook. Clearly there was a problem in editing somewhere. The amount of misspelled words was astounding to me... I have never read a book with so many errors. It made trying to read it difficult.. you go along and suddenly your eyes stop because the word is incorrect. Save your money and find a higher quality 'beach read' to spend your money on!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Getting Tired of It

    Halliday's first book, Spying in High Heels, was enough fun to make me overlook the egregious lack of editing and the made-up words. Less than halfway through Book 2, I was bored. Bored with Maddie's unchanging bubble-headedness and the near sexual encounters. After awhile it gets tiring, just let them get to it. Worse yet was the complete lack of professional pride with the editing...no, I take that back. It was the lack of character development. Everyone stays exactly the same. It was too ridiculous to be fun. I only finished reading it because I had paid for it. Book 3 is waiting as a sample on my Nook for Android. At this point I am far from convinced that whatever comes next will be worth my $3.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Loved It!

    Loved the book, but someone needs to edit it for mistakes. I am surprised that a book could be published with that many errors (spelling and grammar)in it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    So So...

    This book is somewhat entertaining, I thought the first in the series was better. I can't help but feel like the main character is a Stephanie Plum wannabe. Nowhere near the talent of Janet Evanovich and the story line is almost too silly. Hopefully the next in the series improve!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Book #2 didnt disappoint

    This is the 2nd book in the series. And Im still enthralled. Yes, there were some grammatical errors, but in my opinion thats no reason to give it a low-rated review. Book is exciting and fun! Just was I was looking for! Except I like them so much that I read them too quickly lol :(
    Im so thankful for my tablet showing this series as a recommendation!
    On to book #3!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Tired of a Ditzy Character

    I like this author's writing style, but after reading the first and now this second book in the series I will not continue. The plot in book 1 was pretty solid, but the choices made by the main character in this one are just too much past realistic (read - no common sense) for me to continue reading. I'd love to see what happens between Maggie and Ramirez, but won't be reading more to find out. Overall a nice beach read, if you don't mind overlooking the numerous dumb, self-justification choices made by the main character.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Exciting book

    While I understand some of the criticisms of this book- such as lots of bad decision making by Maddie and lots of typos, this series is just fun. I sometimes enjoy books that let me escape from my everyday life and that don't require too much thinking. This book fit the bill!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Good book, but......

    I really like these books. They are really cute, and funny. However, i find myself getting really, really annoyed by the main chatacter. She does a LOT of stupid things. To the point that it is almost beyond ridiculous. I just krpt thinking that there was no way anyone a) could be that dumb, and b) would be able to keep a man like Ramirez with all of the stupid things she does.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Ugh

    Ok, so Ms Halliday can write, but can someone PLEASE edit her??? I cannot recommend this series to anyone with the typos and grammatical mistakes in it. I realize she's her own editor, but please! It has to be her editing, because no self-respecting editor would ever put their name on something this horribly edited. Ugh. And let's let go of the Stephanie-wannabe-isms, okay? There's only one Janet Evanovich/Stephanie Plum and this just doesn't compare.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Love the series.

    All the books in the series live up to the first one I read. Great series I hope there are more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    A must if you like a chick with a big gun

    What a thriller you have romance, mistery,and human connection if you know what I mean. Great book great story line do not miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Good, fun read!

    If you like Stephanie Plum books, you will like the High Heels series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    loved it!

    This was a chance, random pick for me and I really enjoyed it!! It was a read I started and kept interrupting but was able to pick it up at any given point and recalling the place where I left off. So the characters are memorable, to say the least! I've already gotten another in the series and intend to read them all! Very enjoyable read and I didn't figure out the killer! Had me stumped all the way through!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Addictive

    I really enjoyed the first and second book of this series. Now I think I'm addicted! I have to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Easy read. Keeps your attention throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Silly, but fun.

    Ok, this series kind of grows on you. It is silly, and sometimes you want to yell at the main character, but once you start reading you don't want to stop. The sex scenes are done in a really classy way. There are sex scenes, but they are more implied than described, but at the same time the reader is given enough details to satisfy the average romance junkie. At the end of the book You are left wanting to read the bonus material, which is the first part of the next book in the series. Before you know it you are hooked and ready to download the entire next book immediately so you can continue on with the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Wow,great read

    Fun to read looking fprward to next story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    If you have read everyone else's reviews, you'll find that there

    If you have read everyone else's reviews, you'll find that there are horrendous editing errors that range from misused commas to incorrectly spelled words.

    Moving beyond that, I picked up this series because of the slight similarities between this series and the likes of Stephanie Plum and Lexi Graves, both of which I thoroughly enjoyed. However, I've come to the conclusion that Maddie Springer is just a silly little girl. Honestly, as a character, I would love to hit Maddie over the head, and more than once. She has the worst ideas. She doesn't use her brain, ever, and she runs around thinking that she's in the right, all the time. I'm really not sure how she has survived this long; she acts as if she's thirteen years old, when we are expressly told she's twenty- nine! Besides the fact that she’s ridiculously childish, she’s, also, extremely selfish. She expects that everyone should come running when she needs them, but forgets absolutely everything that is important to anyone else. All in all, Maddie supposed to be a semi-successful woman, but in reality, she acts like immature, nosey teenager. 

    I’ve seen many reviews (especially on later stories) that criticize her relationship with Jack Ramirez, the bad-boy cop, whom Maddie met when she first started butting in on police investigations. I have to say that I don’t really understand their relationship; in fact, I feel as though they barely have one! Sure, they got close to hooking up at the end of the first book, but otherwise, there hasn’t been anything between them at all. Right off the bat, I didn’t like their relationship, especially because neither of them respects the other, and I don’t see that getting better. He asks her to stay out of danger, partly because he’s worried about her, partly because she’s a civilian and has no skills to protect herself, and she responds by completely ignoring him or, even better, lying to him. Then, after she’s done what he has asked her not to do, he does get a bit more forceful, demanding or caveman-like, and it gets flipped back on him like he’s the bad guy. I don’t find that to be a healthy ‘relationship’; it, actually, seems as though they have almost a father- daughter relationship: her being defiant and him getting angry. I just find it to be complete and utter nonsense.

    On the other hand, the story line wasn’t so bad, and some of the supporting characters made up for the fact that our heroine isn’t very well-written. There are some very unbelievable scenes (A five foot one inch woman passing as a grown man, really?), but  there are some very well-written scenes (though they don't quite make up for everything.)

    If you can get past the errors and can ignore an irritating lead character, this is a quick, fun story that’s not meant to get too deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    This book was even funnier than the first. I only gave it 4 star

    This book was even funnier than the first. I only gave it 4 stars for incorrect spelling. I laughed out loud at times. This had a great storyline. Not for the serious mystery reader...this one is more on the comical side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 717 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36