Customer Reviews for

Killer in High Heels

Average Rating 4
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(312)

4 Star

(234)

3 Star

(115)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

So So...

This book is somewhat entertaining, I thought the first in the series was better. I can't help but feel like the main character is a Stephanie Plum wannabe. Nowhere near the talent of Janet Evanovich and the story line is almost too silly. Hopefully the next in the s...
This book is somewhat entertaining, I thought the first in the series was better. I can't help but feel like the main character is a Stephanie Plum wannabe. Nowhere near the talent of Janet Evanovich and the story line is almost too silly. Hopefully the next in the series improve!

posted by dlcullen on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Spell check anyone??

I don't expect much with 'light' novels like this. I read these to escape and just have some fun. I took both books in this series with me on a cruise last month. I found a few problems in the first book - a few misspelled words and grammatical errors... but I let it...
I don't expect much with 'light' novels like this. I read these to escape and just have some fun. I took both books in this series with me on a cruise last month. I found a few problems in the first book - a few misspelled words and grammatical errors... but I let it go. Then I started the 2nd book.. and within the first 10 pages, there were so many errors that it made it hard to read. I don't know if these books are transferred directly from their 'hard copy' form onto the nook or are retyped to move them onto the nook. Clearly there was a problem in editing somewhere. The amount of misspelled words was astounding to me... I have never read a book with so many errors. It made trying to read it difficult.. you go along and suddenly your eyes stop because the word is incorrect. Save your money and find a higher quality 'beach read' to spend your money on!

posted by Karoo on December 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Good book, but......

    I really like these books. They are really cute, and funny. However, i find myself getting really, really annoyed by the main chatacter. She does a LOT of stupid things. To the point that it is almost beyond ridiculous. I just krpt thinking that there was no way anyone a) could be that dumb, and b) would be able to keep a man like Ramirez with all of the stupid things she does.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Silly, but fun.

    Ok, this series kind of grows on you. It is silly, and sometimes you want to yell at the main character, but once you start reading you don't want to stop. The sex scenes are done in a really classy way. There are sex scenes, but they are more implied than described, but at the same time the reader is given enough details to satisfy the average romance junkie. At the end of the book You are left wanting to read the bonus material, which is the first part of the next book in the series. Before you know it you are hooked and ready to download the entire next book immediately so you can continue on with the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    If you have nothing better to read....

    I read book one and found it very amusing and I suppose it was enjoyable. Getting to book two ( killer in high heels ) however, I realised the author is just using sex to sell her very annoying main character, Maddie. I will not waste money on book three. I was given a four chapter sample of book three and Maddie is every bit as thoughtless to her 'boyfriend's' requests for her to stay away from his investigation as ever. I really don't care much for the slutty friend, Dana either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Ok Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Another mindless romp with Maddie and Company

    This is just an extension of the first book - and just as overly long and annoying. One would guess that Ms. Halliday is compensated the same way as Charles Dickens - by the word. However, the key differences here are that a) Charles Dickens knew how to write - how to write a plot and how to develop great characters, no matter how minor and b) had an editor that knew how to spell.

    You will get none of that here. It's embarrassing that Barnes and Noble allows such hack writing and worse, hack editing here. (It's called "spell check", people!

    So, if you want to waste eight hours reading about this group again and getting longer exposure to her "faux" dad/stepfather's gay receptionist from the beauty salon all set in Vegas, have at it. It was mindless enough to read on the commute to work for a week - and Gemma's work is best consumed that way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Very entertaining but needs improved editing!

    I really enjoy Gemma Halliday's books. However, I find myself annoyed by the poor editing in her books. I am not sure why some people think hitting spell check is sufficient to edit the written word. All of Ms. Halliday's books are highly entertaining and would be a pleasure to read if she actually had an editor who read the book before it was published!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    Good read

    These stories are entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad for a sequel

    This was pretty funny like the first book. It's a little over the top, but so was the first one. Great book for the beach or a long commute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    fun read but w/errors

    This is a fun, easy read, but I have to agree with some of the other posts about the typos and errors. There are A LOT of them, but they don't take away from the fun story line. It's a really funny bargain book, and I plan on reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good bargain book

    I read the preview for this book in the previous one and decided to buy it to follow Maddie. There are still errors you have to deal with. In this book, though, there are quite a few that are just not as easy to look over. I think that even if you don't have an editor, having a few friends look it over would be some help. Although the plot was interesting, for some reason I was able to put this book down more than I was its predecessor. For its price, it's a bargain. I am looking forward to reading next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6