Customer Reviews for

The Killing Dance (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 873 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(552)

4 Star

(212)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Killing Dance

This is one of my FAVORTIES by far, I really enjoyed it. If you kill a little love, blood, and violence.. THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!

posted by Whispers4NewMoon on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the better, but not one of the best...

The series up until The Killing Dance focuses mainly on Anita Blake and her rapidly growing relationship with the 'monsters' of St. Louis Missouri. However, the series takes a slight turn in subject and begins to circle around the romantic entanglements between Anita an...
The series up until The Killing Dance focuses mainly on Anita Blake and her rapidly growing relationship with the 'monsters' of St. Louis Missouri. However, the series takes a slight turn in subject and begins to circle around the romantic entanglements between Anita and not only Jean-Claude, the Master Vampire of the City, but also the soon to be Ulfric of the local ware-wolf pack, Richard. While the previous books do hold some amount of romantic intrigue, The Killing Dance truly begins this part of Anita Blake¿s life. Don¿t get me wrong, there is some Richard/Anita/Jean-Claude plot line throughout the first of the series, but the romance is nowhere near this intense. This is partly because the character¿s become more of the spotlight rather than the detective and Executioner plot-lines. If you¿re going for the other-worldly urban fantasy/romance read this will be up your ally as would Cerulean Sins, but if you¿re going more for the mystery with an edge read I would suggest something like Obsidian Butterfly or Lunatic Cafe, also by Hamilton. The Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series is one of the few series that can and is sometimes more enjoyable if not read in order. At least that is my opinion. Hamilton has a great talent for reminding readers of the previous plot lines and bringing them up speed, and like wise, if you go back-wards (which I have seemed to do) the short story-line reminders do not bore or interfere with the content and quality of the read.

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 876 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    One of the better, but not one of the best...

    The series up until The Killing Dance focuses mainly on Anita Blake and her rapidly growing relationship with the 'monsters' of St. Louis Missouri. However, the series takes a slight turn in subject and begins to circle around the romantic entanglements between Anita and not only Jean-Claude, the Master Vampire of the City, but also the soon to be Ulfric of the local ware-wolf pack, Richard. While the previous books do hold some amount of romantic intrigue, The Killing Dance truly begins this part of Anita Blake¿s life. Don¿t get me wrong, there is some Richard/Anita/Jean-Claude plot line throughout the first of the series, but the romance is nowhere near this intense. This is partly because the character¿s become more of the spotlight rather than the detective and Executioner plot-lines. If you¿re going for the other-worldly urban fantasy/romance read this will be up your ally as would Cerulean Sins, but if you¿re going more for the mystery with an edge read I would suggest something like Obsidian Butterfly or Lunatic Cafe, also by Hamilton. The Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series is one of the few series that can and is sometimes more enjoyable if not read in order. At least that is my opinion. Hamilton has a great talent for reminding readers of the previous plot lines and bringing them up speed, and like wise, if you go back-wards (which I have seemed to do) the short story-line reminders do not bore or interfere with the content and quality of the read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    Totally Disappointed!!!

    Hamilton paints a perfect picture. Her details are tremendous. Her character has taken a turn along a path I can no longer follow. "Anita" was once an endearing presence that walked the raged-bloody edge, but Hamilton decided to make her both bi-polar and the run of the mill unethical, no moral, blood-thirsty zombie with a pulse and a gun. If you're into unreasoned S&M erotica this is possibly the book for you. For me it will be the last book of this series I will read. I simply flipped through to last few chapters glancing for an ending. When the supporting characters make more sense than the main character, the author is having issues and should end the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Tantalizing from the beginning...

    Laurell K. Hamilton's 6th edition to the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series, The Killing Dance, was absolutely phenomenal. It's a must read and will keep you anxious to turn the page.

    Anita Blake, Vampire Executioner and Animator, vows to protect those she cares about, including members of the local wolf pack. When the tables are turned, Richard tries bringing Anita into the pack as one of their new leaders to help protect her. As more challenges for Anita's safety develop, more from inside the pack than outside, Richard struggles between morality and being a werewolf.

    Meanwhile, back at the Circus, as Jean Claude and Richard compete for Anita's affections, a visitor from another territory arrives. While they all struggle to prove a strong power base, and decipher if this new visitor is a threat to Anita and the cause for some of the mishaps that have been going on, the three of them must put their feelings aside to provide a united front.

    The Killing Dance is just what Hamilton's readers love. This book holds everything we look forward to the most - Lust, passion, thrill, and suspense. Not to mention the erotic sex and a great plot. She leaves nothing out in this 6th edition and is sure to leave you wanting more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Killing Dance

    This is one of my FAVORTIES by far, I really enjoyed it. If you kill a little love, blood, and violence.. THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Read from September 05 to 12, 2012 ¿ I own a copy, read count:

    Read from September 05 to 12, 2012 — I own a copy, read count: 1

    ** spoiler alert ** Its funny how when I finished book 5, Bloody Bones, my one concern was that Richard wasn't in the story enough. He had started out as a great character and I really wanted to see how their relationship was going to develop. Don't get me wrong though, I enjoyed Bloody Bones a lot! I sure got what I wanted in book 6, The Killing Dance!! Practically all of book 6 reveled around Anita, Richard, and Jean-Claude.

    At this point in the story, I've been waiting for Jean-Claude and Anita to make something happen between them. Now that she was dating both Richard and Jean-Claude I had a feeling i was going to be waiting even longer because of the high morals she holds and the fact she didn't want to give in to Richard and then be forced to give into Jean-Claude.

    Book 6 involves very intense scenes between Anita/Richard and Anita/Jean-Claude. It got to the point where you didn't care who she chose you just wanted her to sleep with someone already! And wow my choice surprised me!

    The end of the book really took for a surprise as well, not only did Anita choose someone (and sleep with them) there was a pretty big twist at the end. I totally didn't see it coming!

    I do have to say I'm not sure how I feel about the end of the story. I feel a little bitter sweet just because of how the story ended. Still a great read though!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Am loving the series

    I was so disappointed in the man Anita finally slept with I quit reading for a couple days. Anytime you get truely angry at a character in a book, it must mean you have found an amazing author. I love the series but I am still terribly disappointed with Anita... I mean...How dare she???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    This book is my favorite in the series so far !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    6th book in series

    Finally we see some lovin in this book and she choose the one I wanted to see. So much was going on in this book that I couldn't put it down. I read in another reviews that this book wasn't any good. I disagree but we shall see for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Why...

    Do I continue to torture myself with these books??? Bloody Bones was the last of the good ones, in my opinion.

    Anita's interactions with the Pack are just confusing. i find myself angry at her, OFTEN, and frustrated with the plotline in general. I just cannot follow it. Now, many of you hardcore fans are probably going to be angry at me for saying this, but I feel it should be put out there: Jean-Claude ANNOYS ME. He says 'ma-petite' EVERY. SINGLE. SENTENCE. He should be acting like a VAMPIRE instead of a besotted human guy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT

    I really enjoyed the killing dance. I love this series I can't seem to put any of the books down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    GREAT!!!

    I read it in about two days. I just can't put her books down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    WOW

    This is my favorite by far of the 10 Anita Blake books. Ms. Hamilton's bathtub scene with Jean-Claude (I am SO glad it was him) made me cry, it was so sweet and touching. I read these in order, and the character development through the other 5 books brought us to this point. WoW.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Great book!

    Live them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Love Anita!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Silvermoonstar's bio

    **bio is at 'silvermoonstar' first result**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Best in the series

    I've just read this one and I am blown away! The love triangle with Ricard and Jean-Claude gets steamier and the there's a shocker at the end as to who Anita picks. Anita also taps in to her necromancer side and it is cool as well as scary!
    My husband is a huge comic book fan, and I've gotten to look at some of the comic series too. It is a must! The graphics are incredible!
    Other recommendations: The Carriger Soulless Series - if your into steam punk, plus they are hilarious! Turn of the century England, it's a good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Book will not open

    I was so excited to read this book, but do to problems this book will not open. Very disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great

    Couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Interesting

    While the books have taken on a sexual level I didnt originaly anticipate, I still am enjoying the stories and the characters very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    Kept me interested through the whole book! Great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 876 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44