Customer Reviews for

Killing Floor (Jack Reacher Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(497)

4 Star

(409)

3 Star

(198)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(82)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Terrific

The first of this series that I read was Nothing To Lose,,,and ABSOLUTELY fell-flat out- in love! And I knew right then that I would read the whole series. Since then, I've read about 6 of them and Killing Floor was First Rate. All of them are Top Notch,,,hands dow...
The first of this series that I read was Nothing To Lose,,,and ABSOLUTELY fell-flat out- in love! And I knew right then that I would read the whole series. Since then, I've read about 6 of them and Killing Floor was First Rate. All of them are Top Notch,,,hands down. My only fear is that I'll read them all and there will be no more; will be a sad day indeed.

posted by WicDKityNes on August 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

A Boring Read

I was sucked into this book for the first two or three chapters. And then very quickly the characters started getting really stale, the plot dragged, and dialogue was amateurish. I'm shocked that this book got a Best First Myster Book Award and was praised highly by so ...
I was sucked into this book for the first two or three chapters. And then very quickly the characters started getting really stale, the plot dragged, and dialogue was amateurish. I'm shocked that this book got a Best First Myster Book Award and was praised highly by so many critics. The most this book does for me is give me the courage that my first novel written will be as good as this or hopefully better. I won't be reading anymore of this series. Jack Reacher just isn't a believable character. Why? Because Lee Child doesn't develop him well enough. I built no connection with Reacher nor any of the other characters.

posted by rockstar29 on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1269 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Terrific

    The first of this series that I read was Nothing To Lose,,,and ABSOLUTELY fell-flat out- in love! And I knew right then that I would read the whole series. Since then, I've read about 6 of them and Killing Floor was First Rate. All of them are Top Notch,,,hands down. My only fear is that I'll read them all and there will be no more; will be a sad day indeed.

    62 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lee Child's Reacher series

    This is my 1st Jack Reacher book and it won't be my last. I am starting with the first one and have already picked up the next two books in the series. This book was a roller coaster ride from the beginning. Reacher gets off a bus and stumbles into a small town looking for information on a musician that lived there years ago. Next thing you know he is in a diner eating when the local police storm in and arrest Reacher for murder. Child develops good characters, a great story, and plenty of twist. A mystery thriller that was hard to put down. Reacher is bad "a" in this story and I can't wait t0o read about his next encounter with trouble.

    37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    The Beginning - A Good Place to Start! ....by oilcitygirl

    Having read every Reacher novel and finally beginning to get a handle on the guy after the latest, which delves into his child-of-a-military-man upbringing, and in which Reacher is ironically placed in the position of leadership in his own family, I decided to go back to the beginning and read them again, sequentially. It is going to be fun watching Reacher grow, along with Childs' skills, and now I can appreciate the poor guy's idiocyncracies in the later stories by knowing his earlier life in the order it took place. I get a kick out of Childs' obvious affection for his character, Reacher. It is almost as if he is raising a son, the way he explains (and makes excuses for) Reacher's unusual behavior and uncommon lifestyle. Although I am not usually a fan of the macho or "superhero" persona, Childs has me returning time after time and looking for the next book. He has made me care about his paper character like a (dare I say it) mother! This first book of the series is a "must" read for anyone intending to follow the series, in order to get a good basis for Reacher's somewhat odd lifestyle. I appreciate Childs' imaginative and descriptive style throughout the series. The fun begins here with this book - don't miss it.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    COMPELLING!

    This is full of fast-paced action, suspense and creative plot twists. Reacher, the hero, has great depth of character that makes his character believable and easy to care about. He stumbles onto a mystery that is multi-layered and complex. There is a lot of brutality, violence that makes the plot intriguing and the book non-put-downable! Compelling!

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    A Boring Read

    I was sucked into this book for the first two or three chapters. And then very quickly the characters started getting really stale, the plot dragged, and dialogue was amateurish. I'm shocked that this book got a Best First Myster Book Award and was praised highly by so many critics. The most this book does for me is give me the courage that my first novel written will be as good as this or hopefully better. I won't be reading anymore of this series. Jack Reacher just isn't a believable character. Why? Because Lee Child doesn't develop him well enough. I built no connection with Reacher nor any of the other characters.

    14 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Grabbed me from the beginning

    The Jack Reacher series was recommended to me and after reading the first installment, I will be reading more. Killing Floor captured my attention in the first chapter and kept it throughout. Jack Reacher is a strong, interesting character and I am looking forward to reading more in the series.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    A very passable first effort

    For a first effort, Child establishes himself as an author with potential. His talents are developed and honed in his latter books of the series an you can see Child evolve into a fine mystery writer. He is meticulous in his research and detail that is both interesting and often neglected by some authors.
    Having thoroughly enjoyed mystery series with strong characters a la Patterson's Alex Cross and others, Child has hit the jackpot with Jack Reacher: a tought as nails, ex-military MP now drifter with black & white principles in a grey world, who's honor is matched only by his lethal capabilities. Reacher's character is both lovable and intimidating in his unpretentious approach to life...and death.
    I have read several in Child's series in no particular order and have found that a start-to-finish sequence isn't necessary though reading "Killing Floor" might be the best place to start from a character establishment point of view. Be warned that both this and his succeeding books will be extremely difficult to put down on the nightstand, particularly in later books where plots shift more frequently as the web is spun.
    A good read with a dynamic character and writer who both can be stellarly entertaining for any number of future books.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's a killer!

    Jack Reacher isn't your typical hero so don't look for that in this story. He's a bit scary but the guy you want by your side when things get rough. He finds himself charged with murder almost minutes after coming into the town of Margrave, Georgia. It is one tense situation after another for Jack as he navigates through each, trying to figure out who he can trust and how to shake off this town. It doesn't take long to be drawn into this intricate web of lies and mystery. The writer uses a first person narrative to tell the story, which allows you to track Jack's reasoning and strategies in real time. The writing style took some getting used to and made it a slower read for about the first half of the book. Once I adapted to the style, it became synonymous with Jack. The pace of the story was swift even when the writing style slowed me down. While there were some predictable moments, there were some things that happened I never saw coming with a pretty exciting finish. I still have some unanswered questions about Jack and am intrigued enough to continue reading this series. Great first book in the series.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    First novel?

    An amazing book for a first novel.
    Full of action, much of it semi-believable for the genre. Some things don't compute, like the remarkable deductive ability of the hero. A good read, though. I'll continue with Child.
    Incidentally, Amazon has the ebook $2 cheaper than B/N and Apple .

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    will get you "hooked" on Jack Reacher stories

    if you like escapist fiction, this is a good read for lovers of mystery and crime stories- offbeat, funny and sometimes downright cynical, it put me in mind of old-style noir books regarding private eyes with a manic, fresh twist-- Jack Reacher, the main character, is wise and uncomplicated at the same time-- his exploits after this book will greatly appeal to all who grow to care about him and wonder if his extraordinary talents will ever be fully realized as there are hints of depths to come-- yeah for Lee Child: he makes us like Jack, seek to at least minimally understand him, hope for his continued success against the "bad guys" and that he will continue to survive in the face of so many wishing him dead as he inconveniences their criminal enterprise

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Excellent first book! Great character, lots of action so what e

    Excellent first book! Great character, lots of action so what else can anyone ask for? Highly recommend.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    E Unim Pluribus

    Joe Reacher is arrested the minute he hits this small town for murder, later to find out that the murdered man is a stunning supprise. He then begins the non stop action. The towns folk begin dying in gruesome ways at a record pace. Joe is a former, highly trained Military Police investigator, and is drawn into the web to find out who and why. It gets messy. This is my first Reacher read, and I am hooked. Very much like James Paterson who I can't get enough of. The twists and turns keep you hopping. It is a fast read you will not want to put it down.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK

    This is a very interesting piece of literature. I'am currently reading it, and approaching the end of it. So far it has proven to be good, fun and exciting. The type of Mistery involved is different than what you would expect. It really has you wondering and thinking so many different things at once, then boom!!! It hits you with something you were not expecting at all. Great Book overall. 5 Star

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Gooo D Good book

    Good book, but ive read better

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Lee Child

    Great read same type of book he always writes. But worth the time to read, I love tne Reacher series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you like Vince Flynn....

    You will like this novel by Lee Childs. The hero is a likeable guy, who comes across as a guy you want to see succeed, and you know in the back of your mind that he will prevail. Good read, good mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    Riveting

    As the first book in the Jack Reacher series, it has me hooked! The main character has a strength and confidence and the suspenseful plot just draws you in.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Sample

    I love jack reacher novels but I'm bummed the samples are so short and generic. I won't buy most of them because they were published awhile ago and I can't find enough info o know if I've already read it. A bett review or sample please!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    As someone that has read a lot of fiction in this genre, I can't

    As someone that has read a lot of fiction in this genre, I can't see how this book is reviewed so highly. There are so many plot holes and unfinished ideas, the characterization is flat and the book survives on coincidence after coincidence. Somehow we are to believe Jack Reacher can kill his way through Atlanta and nobody evens notices?? Or the fact that he can threaten a prison warden right outside the prison with impunity? Lee Childs even has a scene where Jack has 3 minutes to break someone out of the police station and so he crashes a car into it despite the fact that nobody was inside the station guarding the prisoner....worse the "3 minutes" pass and nobody comes, nobody in the town comes to see why their police station has a bentley crashed into it. If this wasn't so beyond belief to make you put down the book the protagonists come back to the unguarded station a couple of hours later just for the heck of it (which still has not attracted any attention from the townspeople) and set it on fire "as a diversion" except we know that the villains are nowhere near the station. Terrible writing, terrible cliches and just an unbelievable plot - it starts out mediocre and ends as drivel.

    In short: The characters are not believable, neither is the plot. If you want a popcorn thriller book that actually has some realistic features I'd recommend Tom Clancy books or better yet "The Girl that Played With Fire" and "The Girl that Kicked the Hornet's Nest" by Stieg Larsson - the book has a similarly incredible protagonist but is written in a way that is believable and actually engaging. -

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Super read ! Fast-paced ! Exciting!! Makes you think !!!

    Exciting action, great character interaction. Pulls the reader in, and makes you think right along with Reacher and want to victory dance right along with him at the end !!! Readers of Baldaccl's Maxwell and King books and Dan Brown's DaVinvi Code and Angels and Demons will love this

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1269 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64