Customer Reviews for

Killing Floor (Jack Reacher Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(490)

4 Star

(402)

3 Star

(194)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Terrific

The first of this series that I read was Nothing To Lose,,,and ABSOLUTELY fell-flat out- in love! And I knew right then that I would read the whole series. Since then, I've read about 6 of them and Killing Floor was First Rate. All of them are Top Notch,,,hands dow...
The first of this series that I read was Nothing To Lose,,,and ABSOLUTELY fell-flat out- in love! And I knew right then that I would read the whole series. Since then, I've read about 6 of them and Killing Floor was First Rate. All of them are Top Notch,,,hands down. My only fear is that I'll read them all and there will be no more; will be a sad day indeed.

posted by WicDKityNes on August 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A Boring Read

I was sucked into this book for the first two or three chapters. And then very quickly the characters started getting really stale, the plot dragged, and dialogue was amateurish. I'm shocked that this book got a Best First Myster Book Award and was praised highly by so ...
I was sucked into this book for the first two or three chapters. And then very quickly the characters started getting really stale, the plot dragged, and dialogue was amateurish. I'm shocked that this book got a Best First Myster Book Award and was praised highly by so many critics. The most this book does for me is give me the courage that my first novel written will be as good as this or hopefully better. I won't be reading anymore of this series. Jack Reacher just isn't a believable character. Why? Because Lee Child doesn't develop him well enough. I built no connection with Reacher nor any of the other characters.

posted by rockstar29 on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Odd Writing Style

    I'm only just into this and was prompted for a review. The writing style of Lee Child is one I've never come across before. Lots of short sentences. It's like each thought that comes out of Jacks' head (or the authors') is just slapped down on paper. I prefer a more flowing style with complete thought development before a 'character' speaks. I was hoping to read the entire series eventually, but I'm going to struggle if all the books are written in this short staccato sentence style.

    I may have to 'review' and amend my rating after I finish the entire book, but for now, I'm giving it 2 stars since I'm having trouble even getting into the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Eh!

    Too slow and bogs down in the middle! Seems like the author was looking for a way to go!.
    Duh!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Haven't read it yet.

    Sorry, I haven't read it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Not so great-

    To me, the characters were shallow and the plot was predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Jen

    Look at this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    First in a series

    I cut Lee Child some slack as this is his first Jack Reacher novel. I'll read his second and hope it improves. Vince Flynn's 1st novel was so-so and I loved his follow ups. Child's characters were undeveloped and shallow. I felt I was 5 steps ahead of him most of the time. I am expecting improvement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Just fair

    Too many impossible implausable holes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Sadly it was a let down.

    I finished reading my favorite authors most recent book and read a lot of great reviews of Lee Child's work and I figured it would be a great new Author to read. I was totally disappointed. The book doesnt keep me hooked like I thought it would. Child seems to really focus to much on the little things that are used to set the mood or scene of the story but he gets to deep in his descriptions of the layouts of houses, cars, sounds and everything else in between. If you take out all the babble this book would be read in half a day. The story in this book was a bit too far fetched. I am all for imagination and theories but this was waaaaay out there in terms of realistic possibilites. To easy to figure out what was going to happen well before it showed in the book. It picked up for the last hour of reading but by then it was a total loss. I let a friend read this book who always read my Connelly or Deaver books when I am done and he brought it back in 2 days. He couldnt get past page 100 without losing it. I was totally bummed, I needed someone to fill the gap between Connelly's next book and Child just wont do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Disappointing

    Didn't like this book. Try Michael Connelly instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Killing Floor (Jack Reacher Series #1)

    I was looking for a new author since I have blasted through everything Michael Connoly has written. Lee Child was recommended to me and I was encouraged to see the reviews on this website. Boy, was I disappointed. There were so many holes in 'Killing Floor' I lost interest in the book. Child's main character was somewhat interesting, but the premise for the story was totally rediculous, and the coincidences just kept on coming. Also, I found Child's focus on cars - driving them, parking them, sitting in them - to be totally distracting. I'd give this book a C-.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4