Customer Reviews for

Killing Floor (Jack Reacher Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(490)

4 Star

(397)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Terrific

The first of this series that I read was Nothing To Lose,,,and ABSOLUTELY fell-flat out- in love! And I knew right then that I would read the whole series. Since then, I've read about 6 of them and Killing Floor was First Rate. All of them are Top Notch,,,hands dow...
The first of this series that I read was Nothing To Lose,,,and ABSOLUTELY fell-flat out- in love! And I knew right then that I would read the whole series. Since then, I've read about 6 of them and Killing Floor was First Rate. All of them are Top Notch,,,hands down. My only fear is that I'll read them all and there will be no more; will be a sad day indeed.

posted by WicDKityNes on August 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A Boring Read

I was sucked into this book for the first two or three chapters. And then very quickly the characters started getting really stale, the plot dragged, and dialogue was amateurish. I'm shocked that this book got a Best First Myster Book Award and was praised highly by so ...
I was sucked into this book for the first two or three chapters. And then very quickly the characters started getting really stale, the plot dragged, and dialogue was amateurish. I'm shocked that this book got a Best First Myster Book Award and was praised highly by so many critics. The most this book does for me is give me the courage that my first novel written will be as good as this or hopefully better. I won't be reading anymore of this series. Jack Reacher just isn't a believable character. Why? Because Lee Child doesn't develop him well enough. I built no connection with Reacher nor any of the other characters.

posted by rockstar29 on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Lee Child

    Great read same type of book he always writes. But worth the time to read, I love tne Reacher series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Okay

    This is not a book that drew me through it. Spends a lot of time on grinding detail that does not drive the story. There are quite a few surprises that stretch the imagination, such as the coincidence that Jack gets arrested for his own brother's murder, whom he has not seen for years and did not even know his whereabouts. Nevertheless, Jack just so happens to drift into the town where is brother has been murdered, gets arrested for it, and the story goes from there. Possible? Maybe. A million in one shot. There are others. I had to push myself to get through it. However, there are some good moments. Others may enjoy the book more. To each his own. I would recommend it, for a very light read, but be prepared for some stretches of low interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    OK, not my favorite

    This is a popular series, with 18 novels so far.
    I am 1/3 of the way through the first in the series, and find it very easy to put down. [I actually found the introduction by the author more interesting.]
    The plot and action are fine.
    Dialogue - not very interesting or creative.
    Descriptive sections - pretty flat.
    I do not plan to buy more of the series.

    It is unfortunate that Tom Cruise was cast to play the title character in the movie version; Jack Reacher is supposed to look more like Vin Diesel, but the visual image from the movie trailors sticks in the mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Quick enjoyable read!

    I started this Jack Reacher series so I would have something to turn to when not reading other books that have just come on market. The series is enjoyable to read. The books are short (under 400 pages) so it makes them easy to stay involved even if you have to put it down for a day or two. I read on my nook and have found this a great way to read the Reacher series by Lee Child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Ok

    Read about 100 pages and almost gave up...nothing really happened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Hope they get better

    Saw the movie. Wanted to start at the beginning. It was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Where "Jack Reacher" Starts ?

    I just saw the "Jack Reacher" movie, enjoyed it, and decided I needed to get more in to the character. It seems funny that Tom Cruise is now " Jack Reacher" considering Mr. Child's difference in physical description.( Jack is 6'4, 220+) Anyway, I like the character as written and will probably buy more books (on Nook) in the series. He is a different kind of P.I. and it will be fun to see his development through the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Ramping up

    Looking forward to reading more about Jack Reacher...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Not bad.

    Worth reading if you are looking to zone out with some easy reading. I am at the third book now, and I am not going to four. Sometimes writing is good, and sometimes the story is good. This book is okay writing with a so-so story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Good Action Thriller - Recommeded Read

    Good read with several story lines and plot twist. jack Reacher is an interesting character that it will take time to know. He has multiple layers, so the reader is not fully sure what exactly motivates him. The pages will fly by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Interesting beginning

    Some holes and alot of mess but not a bad storyline. Kind of.like the Joe Pike books but with far more introspection by the main character Reacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the others in this series.

    A lot of pages spent not on the mystery itself but trying to build up a sense of what the main character is about...but I thought this was unnecessary and for once boring. A good read for 75% of the book, but this one was nowhere near as good as the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Lee Child

    A good read, but there were times in the story that there was a disconnect to the overall flow of the story. Some of the details just didn't see plausible and then the author jumps to another scene...
    I still might try another one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Recommend - Good story line

    While I enjoyed the story line I had trouble with the repetitive use of certain phrases. I have this vision of walking down the street and all the people are "shrugging" their shoulders every 5 steps. Also there has to be a better way of pulling out into the street other then "nosing the car out". I enjoyed it enough to get the second Jack Reacher, but I hope he mixes in some other phrases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you like Tough Guys this One is for YOU!

    Jack Reacher talks tough and he gets tough when he must clear his name after being falsely accused of murder in a small town. The action is fast paced and Lee Child uses lots of action verbs and short descriptions to keep the pace of the book quick and light. the characters are not very memorable and even Jack himself is your average hero. What makes the story is following Jack as he sorts our the mystery. There are some plot twists. Some you see coming. Others you don't. My only complaint with the plot is the body count rises pretty quickly. And Jack doesn't seem too bothered that he is a cold blooded killer. So if you like tough guy, they don't come any tougher than Jack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Entertaining, but far-fetched

    This is the first Lee Child book I've read. I chose it only because Ken Follett, on his website, said that Lee Child was one of his favorite writers (he must have been writing in jest). It's a fast, entertaining read, but I find the abilities of character of Jack Reacher unbelievable. At several points throughout the book, I couldn't help but roll my eyes at Jack's far-fetched talents, that ranged from being able to take down 5 armed and ready hit-men, suffering hardly a scratch, to his application of outrageous deductive reaoning powers.

    Child's overuse of sentence fragments is annoying and distracting. On occasion a sentence fragment is acceptable and perhaps effective, but not to the extent that Child relies on them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Struggled to get through it

    I kept putting it down and then picking it up thinking it might get better after I read something else for awhile. It didn't.
    For me it was redundant and I still haven't finished it.
    Maybe next time I pick it up it will have gotten better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10