BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Killing Hour (FBI Profiler Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great suspense thriller

Between the years of 1998-2000, eight college kids in Georgia were kidnapped in pairs and the first of the duo was killed immediately. The first victim had clues on their person that if properly interpreted in time would lead the authorities to the other victim who mig...
Between the years of 1998-2000, eight college kids in Georgia were kidnapped in pairs and the first of the duo was killed immediately. The first victim had clues on their person that if properly interpreted in time would lead the authorities to the other victim who might still be alive. Of the eight victims of the UNSUB, only one was found alive and that was because special agent Michael ¿Mac¿ McCormack was able to put the pieces of the puzzle together in time.

For three years, the UNSUB goes dormant but when FBI agent-in-training Kimberly Whey finds a dead body on the grounds of Quanta¿s, it quickly becomes obvious that the UNSUB has become active again. Even though he is out of his jurisdiction, Mac travels to Virginia with every intention of tracking down the UNSUB and capturing him if possible. He has unexpected allies in Kimberely, her father, a famous FBI profiler, and the UNSUB¿S only victim that is still alive.

THE KILLING HOUR is all about time and the race to find the victims before they die. Thanks to dogged investigation into areas that are dangerous to one¿s health, two victims are left standing after the UNSUB is revealed. Mac and Kimberly make a good investigative team whose strengths, when combined, make them an unbeatable force out in the field. They also are able to lean on one another in times of stress and it is fascinating to watch their relationship evolve throughout the story and behind closed doors. Lisa Gardner is becoming a major player in the suspense thriller genre.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's just ok

After reading the previous three books, I was disappointed in this one. I have been reading it for weeks and about to just delete the book. It has been a very hard read for me. I look forward to trying more books from this author and hope they are as interesting, can't ...
After reading the previous three books, I was disappointed in this one. I have been reading it for weeks and about to just delete the book. It has been a very hard read for me. I look forward to trying more books from this author and hope they are as interesting, can't put it down as other books lisa gardner has written.

posted by baileysabuela on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Good for a rainy day

    Enjoyed and will read more of hers

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Good book

    I read this out of sequence for some reason and that did some of the reading please away but if I had read it in the right order all I could have said is "WOW"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Definitely ready for the next in this series

    I like this profiler series and am planning to get the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Another great book

    This was yet another great book by Lisa Gardner. I love the plot. I had difficulty putting this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Dont give up

    At first I found the book confusing. The story went a little too slow for me, but once the action started it was never ending. I could see this being made a movie...a good movie. I usually read books that are a single detective working on his own, but the team work in this book seemed to make it all the more realistic and interesting. i would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Suspenseful

    Don not miss this book!Beautifully written, wildly satisfying, has something for everyone. Sherry A. Mauro fans will enjoy this writer, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Killing Hour

    The killer has struck before. At the beginning of a heat wave, he sabotages the car of two women out having a good time. He kills one of them, and leaves clues on her body how to find the other. Messages left in the newspaper by the killer read 'Heat kills.' Between the years of 1998 and 2000, seven women died before the police found one victim barely alive, and then the killings stopped. Kimberly Quincy is a New Agent in training at the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. The summer heat is stifling, yet she pushes herself to the limits of her endurance to help block the memories of the brutal deaths of her mother and sister. During a physical training exercise, she stumbles off the path and finds a dead woman in the bushes. Michael 'Mac' Macormack, special agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, was a key player in the inquiry of the first murders. After receiving phone calls from someone claiming to know the identity of the murderer, he travels to Virginia to research the case, even though it's been years since the crimes were committed. When he hears the details of the body discovery in Quantico, he knows this must be the same perpetrator, dubbed the Eco-Killer by police. Kimberly and Mac join forces to find the missing woman before it's too late. Fighting the bureaucracy that wants to analyze each piece of evidence for weeks, the two know they don't have that kind of time. A woman's life hangs in the balance. Will they find her in time? Will they discover the identity of the Eco-Killer before he strikes again? THE KILLING HOUR combines fast-paced action, breath-holding suspense, and sparks of passion. Kimberly conquers her inner demons in the hopes that she can help find the missing woman alive. Lisa Gardner creates a cast of believable characters and a plot that doesn't stop until the last page. THE KILLING HOUR is everything I have come to expect from Ms. Gardner's novels and more! Mystery and suspense lovers will not be disappointed in this latest offering from Lisa Gardner. Buckle your seatbelts and dive into THE KILLING HOUR, it will keep you guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    Killing Hour

    The killer has struck before. At the beginning of a heat wave, he sabotages the car of two women out having a good time. He kills one of them, and leaves clues on her body how to find the other. Messages left in the newspaper by the killer read 'Heat kills.' Between the years of 1998 and 2000, seven women died before the police found one victim barely alive, and then the killings stopped. Kimberly Quincy is a New Agent in training at the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. The summer heat is stifling, yet she pushes herself to the limits of her endurance to help block the memories of the brutal deaths of her mother and sister. During a physical training exercise, she stumbles off the path and finds a dead woman in the bushes. Michael 'Mac' Macormack, special agent with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, was a key player in the inquiry of the first murders. After receiving phone calls from someone claiming to know the identity of the murderer, he travels to Virginia to research the case, even though it's been years since the crimes were committed. When he hears the details of the body discovery in Quantico, he knows this must be the same perpetrator, dubbed the Eco-Killer by police. Kimberly and Mac join forces to find the missing woman before it's too late. Fighting the bureaucracy that wants to analyze each piece of evidence for weeks, the two know they don't have that kind of time. A woman's life hangs in the balance. Will they find her in time? Will they discover the identity of the Eco-Killer before he strikes again?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5