BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Killing Jesus: A History

Average Rating 4
( 674 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(96)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

226 out of 292 people found this review helpful.

I have read part of this book but I haven't finished it yet but

I have read part of this book but I haven't finished it yet but I can tell it is well researched and written in a manner that makes non fiction enjoyable. I always read the reviews first, as I do with every book i buy, and when i see reviews that call him a white racis...
I have read part of this book but I haven't finished it yet but I can tell it is well researched and written in a manner that makes non fiction enjoyable. I always read the reviews first, as I do with every book i buy, and when i see reviews that call him a white racist who hates democrates and nothing about the book, then i realize that these people aren't reviewing. They are just spewing their hatred and probably couldn't get through a book like this. It also is indicative of the split in this country and of the attitude that if a person's views differ from yours, then they are racist, stupid etc.

posted by Diwms on September 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

133 out of 270 people found this review helpful.

Read through - too many glaring inaccuracies told in 'you are t

Read through - too many glaring inaccuracies told in 'you are there' sort of way to make it easier to believe. Integrity means honesty and accuracy. This book has neither.
Herod wasn't "half Jew and half Arab", as O'Reilly states in the first paragraph of the...
Read through - too many glaring inaccuracies told in 'you are there' sort of way to make it easier to believe. Integrity means honesty and accuracy. This book has neither.
Herod wasn't "half Jew and half Arab", as O'Reilly states in the first paragraph of the first chapter. He was Idumean and Nabatean - neither of these ethnic tribes was considered Jewish. Herod was granted the title King of the Jews by Rome. He was not a "secular man" as O'Reilly states. Herod openly installed pagan temples in non Jewish areas and had a pagan statue erected at the entrance of the second temple... The list goes on. If you want a romatic easy to read novel, this is it. Otherwise look into real biblical scholars for your knowledge.

posted by zbeans on September 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    I have read the two other "Killing" books by Bill O'Re

    I have read the two other "Killing" books by Bill O'Reilly and thought they were great. I was a little disappointed in this book, but I realize this is a very sensitive and difficult subject. They did a very good job as far as giving the history of the times, but it was very hard to get to know the real Jesus as he did not say that much or let himself be known. The discussions on the crucifixion and the barbarous way that people were treated in those days was very well researched. I know that Mr. O'Reilly is a Catholic, but he did not come to any definite conclusion as to the validity of the resurrection. All in all, a very interesting read.

    35 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    I love this book.

    This book is good.

    28 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    I have not finished the book, but I am keeping an open mind.  I

    I have not finished the book, but I am keeping an open mind.  I guess you could call me a liberal as other reviewers have noted.  Does that make me a close-minded snob?  No.  Anytime people of differing views can have a reasonable debate, I am okay with it.  I enjoy reading the reviews that are sincere, thoughtful thinking, regardless of the bent.

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    I gave it 3 stars just so I could comment. I love...(sarcasm on

    I gave it 3 stars just so I could comment. I love...(sarcasm on) the wonderfully written reviews of "its crap". These tell me that people probably just have an aversion to the name of Jesus. Not to mention the fact that 99% of the reviews like that are tagged with the name anonymous...really people, put your name on it, own it..don't hide. Really, if you cannot comment accurately on why you think it is crap...people just don't know anything about constructive criticism. Makes me want to buy it just to see for myself...

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    I don't know about this book.

    The title says "A History",but I take exception with that. I read the book twice and see no way that anyone could have known what was in the minds of people or in the conversations they had in certain situations. No one should state something as history when it has been put into the subjects head or mouth by the author without verification. Lets just say that to me killing Jesus was a good story, but not a history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Not Historically Accurate

    The book is interesting but is not historically accurate in that it perpetuates the myth the Mary Magdalene was a prostitute. This is completely untrue and is an invention of the Catholic church designed to minimize to role of women in early Christianity. Also, the Romans are portrayed as moral degenerates and sinister thugs who kill anyone who opposes the Roman Empire. The first part of the book that describes the historical context of the time is well done and adds insight into the rest of the story. Anyone who reads the book should be aware of these inaccuracies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    I wasn't really thrilled with the book. The three star rating s

    I wasn't really thrilled with the book. The three star rating stems from the post writing which has far more appeal than the actual book. The book just does not flow the way the previous O'Reilly books read. So far, nothing tops Killing Lincoln.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    kilingjesus

    Emma

    2 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    good historical book

    I found the book very interesting, I learned facts that I previously did not know. I did have to separate religion from history,as I was reading. I believe that is the way Bill O'Reilly and Martin Dugard meant it to be read.
    I was glad I read this book, it gave me insight to the circumstances that surrounded Jesus as he lived on this earth, and a better understanding of how those events took place. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Interesting reading.

    Surprisingly informative and non-religious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    It is a good read

    With alof of books in my queue, this one jumped to the front of the line. it is a good read, with some background history as well.
    Although, I think Bill and Martin should have consulted other religions stories as well, because they contradict in some areas. i would have loved to see Bill's attitude of shedding the light on all the facts, even if they are contradciting and then go with one like he always do.
    Overall it is a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    This book is well written and entertaining. It flows and is enga

    This book is well written and entertaining. It flows and is engaging. It is however not history in the truest sense. It is biblical accounts with some additional references, however it doesn't quite pass muster in my mind as history. Non-biblical records of Jesus are scarce and those that do exist are not concerned with Jesus the man but rather the impact of his teachings on political and religious ideas. For those who would like to try to understand the man that was Jesus I recommend "Zealot". That work tries to get at the man and his times and ignores the concept of Jesus the "man-God". Those with an open mind will glean more from Zealot if you are after Jesus the man pertaining in the context of his life and times. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Kronos Cabin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Ok

    Enjoyed Killing Lincoln & JFK much more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    I wanted to love it. I did not love it. I barely liked it. I jus

    I wanted to love it. I did not love it. I barely liked it.
    I just finished reading it. It took much longer than I expected; because it was rather a bore.
    It is very straight forward, flat, and (snore) monotone. 

    I do hope it inspires those ignorant of the subject to crack open their bible; and, get it from the source. That will certainly inspire and inform. Your eyes will be opened, and your ears will too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Hard to read

    Loaded with history, but so violent that I couldn't listen to it all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Y yihyhbhhj b bhhhh . Vb

    Gymgybgbb g nhh bybn nbby hhgbh bhbh.b hyhb vuhh. YBbbybgn.gyy. Uhym bmhinnnn yy bnyk nb.y.ygn myu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Good background info.

    Interesting historical data regarding politics of the day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    A bit dry, but interesting

    There was a lot of information about others. I get that they were trying to set the times, but starting from Joseph's time was good enough. If you like history, then you would like the book. It was interesting about what people and their leaders were like. It did clear up some questionable areas about a few, not just Jesus. I prefer facts when it comes to Jesus. It does deepen your belief when you feel the information that you are getting is not bias. I do believe the authors attempted to portray things as honestly as they could. I read it twice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Interesting but . . .

    Bill O'Reilly has given us an interesting tale of the Killing of Jesus as a historical event. However, this historial account is nothing more than a retelling of the event using the New Testament gospels for his history lesson. There is really no new or startling revelation here. If you are a devote Christian as I am it was nice to re-establish my faith in Christ as the Messiah and our Savior. However, better to just read the gospels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4