Customer Reviews for

Killing Kennedy: The End of Camelot

Average Rating 4
( 814 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(450)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(84)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

RIVETING!

Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the w...
Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the whole story as far as anyone can. Using every possible iota of information from all manner of sources, they have brought everything together into one chronological history. I loved the book. I learned a lot more of the history of just the time JFK was president and what he and the US faced. Highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know how our country lost its 1950's innocence and began the path to apathy and cynicism (sp?).

posted by 10121380 on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

126 out of 166 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was...
I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was also blown away by their buying into Jack Ruby's grief over the loss of the president and his being a "patriot" being his reason for killing Oswald. PLEASE! Ruby was clearly a mob owned, fouled mouth, strip club owner who's only reason for killing Oswald could have been he couldn't tell his mafia bosses no. Poorly researched, not footnoted, over-sensationalized the sex life of the president at the expense of presenting plausible reasons for the assassination. We will never know for an absolute certainty the reasons behind JFK's assassination because the people and hard evidence that could have clarified the situation are long since dead or missing BUT they could have made the effort to explore and present those reasons in this book but alas did not bother. I care a lot less about how many women the president had sex with than the possibly that some people got away with plotting the murder of the president of the United States. Find another book to read - I do recommend Killing Lincoln by the same authors - this one is a waste of your time & money.

posted by Honeybee48 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 814 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    Disappointment

    I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was also blown away by their buying into Jack Ruby's grief over the loss of the president and his being a "patriot" being his reason for killing Oswald. PLEASE! Ruby was clearly a mob owned, fouled mouth, strip club owner who's only reason for killing Oswald could have been he couldn't tell his mafia bosses no. Poorly researched, not footnoted, over-sensationalized the sex life of the president at the expense of presenting plausible reasons for the assassination. We will never know for an absolute certainty the reasons behind JFK's assassination because the people and hard evidence that could have clarified the situation are long since dead or missing BUT they could have made the effort to explore and present those reasons in this book but alas did not bother. I care a lot less about how many women the president had sex with than the possibly that some people got away with plotting the murder of the president of the United States. Find another book to read - I do recommend Killing Lincoln by the same authors - this one is a waste of your time & money.

    126 out of 166 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2012

    What a Disgrace!

    First, a note on my personal experience with Mr. O’Reilly. I used to watch his show from time to time. I liked his calm demeanor, and the way he made sense to me. But this one time he went to a commercial break and, completely out of the blue because he had been talking about something else, he made the comment, “And remember, September 11th happened on Bill Clinton’s watch.” “What?!!,” I exclaimed out loud, “no, it didn’t!” While I don’t feel any president should be blamed for the terrorist attacks of 9/11/01, it happened while George W. Bush was president, as pretty much everybody born before 1997 can remember. After realizing that Mr. O’Reilly would tell an outright lie because of his political bias, I stopped watching his show. Although I haven’t read it, I’ve heard that the authors’ “Killing Lincoln” was a very good history book. So, despite my feelings about Mr. O’Reilly’s show, I expected “Killing Kennedy” would also be a very good history book. In addition, I was very curious about who or whom the authors thought was/were the assassin(s). After reading a bit, I began to come across inconsistencies. For instance, on page 14 it is said that Lee Harvey Oswald in the Soviet Union barely understood his coworkers, but on page 39, his future wife, Marina, a Russian woman, talks to him constantly. On page 33 it is said that JFK had the unusual daily habit of swimming nude in an indoor pool between the White House and the West Wing, but on page 84 it is said that JFK’s physical activity is limited to walking, sailing, golf, and, above all, sex (and with whomever). Swimming isn’t a physical activity? On page 76 it is said that the FBI had been tracking JFK’s liaisons since the late 1940s because he was seeing a woman thought to be a spy for Nazi Germany. This statement seems to prove that JFK cared more about his extra-marital affairs than national security as he appeared to be, literally, sleeping with the enemy, but in the late 1940s Nazi Germany didn’t exist anymore as WWII ended in 1945. I gave up on the book that’s over 300 pages after reading only 88 pages. I didn’t care anymore who the authors thought committed the assassination, but I’ve read other reviews that after insinuating that a conspiracy was a real possibility just in the pages that I read, their relatively short conclusion was that Lee Harvey Oswald acted alone. A good history book is unbiased. I expected to find this to be such a book, especially after reading that Mr. O’Reilly was dedicating the book to Kennedys that are his ancestors, and how revered JFK was to some members of his family. Instead, Mr. O’Reilly (and I wonder to what extent Mr. Dugard) clearly showed to me that they had an agenda to prove that JFK was a disgrace to the US presidency, his Catholic faith, and his family, and that he should never have been elected president. Every opportunity is taken to try to prove JFK’s unworthiness as a president. Don’t get me wrong, JFK is NOT someone I revere (because of his infidelities), but these authors give me a revolting feeling that JFK deserved to be assassinated, and that America was better off because he was. What I find a disgrace is that this biased rant is classified as a history book. I can’t wait to return this piece of…garbage and get my money back.

    110 out of 231 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    RIVETING!

    Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the whole story as far as anyone can. Using every possible iota of information from all manner of sources, they have brought everything together into one chronological history. I loved the book. I learned a lot more of the history of just the time JFK was president and what he and the US faced. Highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know how our country lost its 1950's innocence and began the path to apathy and cynicism (sp?).

    89 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Be aware of bias

    As some one who is in the historical field I feel i should point out that the author is a journalist not a historian and one with a clear bias.

    79 out of 138 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not history

    A book for history not written by an historian, enough said.

    68 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Thumbs Down--zero bannas with this one!

    Don't even bother.

    57 out of 167 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Missing pages

    Missing pages on e book

    55 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Profoundly Bad

    Very disappointed in the absence of anything new to add -- if not for love, this must have been made for another reason altogether

    42 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Good Book

    I enjoyed the history. Because I was really young in the early sixties I don't remember the"Bay of Pigs" or the Cuban Missile crisis. This was written in such a way as to make me see how it affected people at the time...not just dry facts. Reading what Jackie went through was heart wrenching. I liked that the history isn't colored or filled in with opinions and conjecture and is still a good story. I also enjoyed the Lincoln book very much. Keep 'em comin'.

    37 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Liar liar

    Billy making up history just like he makes up news.

    35 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    It occurs to me that many of us know very little about the Linco

    It occurs to me that many of us know very little about the Lincoln assassination, not having lived through it. Is it possible that Killing Lincoln is no more historically accurate than Killing Kennedy and we just don't know that?

    31 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    One book cannot fully develop and deliver the entirety of someth

    One book cannot fully develop and deliver the entirety of something as complicated as the assasination of President Kennedy. Read on my friends. Read various other subjects from the same era -- i.e. The Best and the Brightest by Halberstam (1972) and recently, JFK and the Unspeakable by Douglass (2010). Do a little comparable research. What was the mood of the era? Who were the players (on the field and off)? Mr. OReilley is trying to sell a book - just as he is trying to sell you the news. Read it but if it's unreferenced, it's just entertainment.

    28 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Excellent

    O'reilly has a knack for making history interesting and relevant. He is very fair in the way he describes Kennedy's weaknesses and his evolution into a world leader.

    26 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Facsinating Fasciating Fasciating Fascinating hih Fascinating

    Great read fair at times touching

    22 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    Bought and read it the same day.

    21 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    For shame

    The only reason this man is published is because of his tv cult following. This book is so much more heavily biased commentary than historical fact it may as well be called a novel.

    Btw I love Fox News, it's a great comedy channel :)

    20 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    My initial reading enthusiasm soon turned to ennui. As a former

    My initial reading enthusiasm soon turned to ennui. As a former assistant district attorney under Jim Garrison during the time in question, I expected to learn something new. I leaned nothing whatever, new or old.

    The first 234 pages of this tome are circumlocutory drivel more appropriate to Entertainment Tonight or People Magazine. In those pages (76 per cent of the book), we learn in detail the fashions of the first family in wine, Jackie’s taste in swimsuits, and JFK’s allergy to dog hair – but hardly one word relevant to the assassination itself.

    Did the CIA, FBI and Secret Service “assist” O’Reilly’s ghostwriter in penning this pusillanimous pap? I’m truly disappointed that the only pages that directly discuss the killing – the last 75 – spout the official line that Oswald was the lone killer.

    Evidence to the contrary is overwhelming. I worked for my friend, District Attorney Jim Garrison, for much of the relevant time. Though my forté was prosecuting burglars and robbers, not working directly on the assassination, still I know quite a bit. And I sat in on the trial of Clay Shaw.

    I commend Garrison’s book, On the Trail of the Assassins (New York: Sheridan Square Press, 1988. ISBN-13: 9781620872994). Unlike O’Reilly’s, his book comprises 342 pages of pure meat – substance singularly in short supply in O’Reilly’s screed that seems more fascinated with the fortunes of the rich and famous than with finding the real killers.

    17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Titillating , but not factual! Also lots of discrepancies and ch

    Titillating , but not factual! Also lots of discrepancies and chronologically out of order.

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Killing Kennedy is a no spin, no fluff, quick read!

    Martin and Bill do it again! Straight factual account of the scarest time of my parents life time. This book was written for those who want to make their own conclusions from pithy details from Bill O'Reilly's own notes. It is unusal to have a fun surprise at the books end!

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    There is a lot more in this telling of JFK's life and death than

    There is a lot more in this telling of JFK's life and death than most people would either remember ("I remember where I was when the ...") or could understand about this young, powerful president. The authors do a tremendous job of making the story personable to the reader and leave an impact about this amazing part of American history. It has the information that titntillates but also informs a reader, a story that keeps the reader turning the pages for the next scene and even though the climax has been kown for decades still leaves the reader slightly breathless and rewarded for completing this book.

    15 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 814 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41