Customer Reviews for

Killing Kennedy: The End of Camelot

Average Rating 4
( 823 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(454)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(84)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

RIVETING!

Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the w...
Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the whole story as far as anyone can. Using every possible iota of information from all manner of sources, they have brought everything together into one chronological history. I loved the book. I learned a lot more of the history of just the time JFK was president and what he and the US faced. Highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know how our country lost its 1950's innocence and began the path to apathy and cynicism (sp?).

posted by 10121380 on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

126 out of 166 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was...
I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was also blown away by their buying into Jack Ruby's grief over the loss of the president and his being a "patriot" being his reason for killing Oswald. PLEASE! Ruby was clearly a mob owned, fouled mouth, strip club owner who's only reason for killing Oswald could have been he couldn't tell his mafia bosses no. Poorly researched, not footnoted, over-sensationalized the sex life of the president at the expense of presenting plausible reasons for the assassination. We will never know for an absolute certainty the reasons behind JFK's assassination because the people and hard evidence that could have clarified the situation are long since dead or missing BUT they could have made the effort to explore and present those reasons in this book but alas did not bother. I care a lot less about how many women the president had sex with than the possibly that some people got away with plotting the murder of the president of the United States. Find another book to read - I do recommend Killing Lincoln by the same authors - this one is a waste of your time & money.

posted by Honeybee48 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2015

    Disappointed :(

    After reading Killing Lincoln (a really amazing book), I was sure that Killing Kennedy would be equally fantastic. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case. I disliked the book on many levels and often times found it hard to read. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    Excellent read

    As with his other three books on this subject, it is objective, to the point and does not insist on a foregone conclusion. Facts are presented in a easy to read fashion and you are left to draw you own conclusions. Thought the were all great reads with insights I had not read before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    Good Read

    I learned so much. I wasn't clear about the type of person Oswald was and how he came to be the assassin of the President. I recently watched the TV version of this book and I would recommend that one read the book rather than watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Thunder

    I Train There Everynight. So Don't Tell Me About The Dark Forest

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    I wanted to learn about Kennedy and about his life in the white

    I wanted to learn about Kennedy and about his life in the white house. 
    While O'Reilly devoted a few pages to the Bay of Pigs and the Cuban Missile Crisis, the book focuses far too much upon Kennedy's sexual appetite and the Kennedy Clan's apparent hatred for Lyndon Johnson.
    O'Reilly does have a nice writing style, very simplistic and easy to understand. Not at all like many biographies of other Presidents. But the content just doesn't justify the reading. It seems half like a tabloid, accounting for the various sexual misdeeds of a president.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Interesting read

    Relatively short but interesting read. I was 13 when Kennedy was killed. I thought I knew a lot about Kennedy's life but over the years I have obviously gotten the facts skewed. O'Reilly sticks to the facts but also presents may events that led to the various conspiracy theories. O'Reilly's connection to the assination was also interesting. Worth a few hours of your leisure time to read. It is better than watching the O'Reilly Factor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Salacious in the extreme...more gossip rag mag than historical i

    Salacious in the extreme...more gossip rag mag than historical insight and any sort of a 'fresh' perspective on JFK and his time in the presidency. Being a student of history, and particularly of the American political history of the mid-to-late 20th century, I am disappointed in the inconsistencies and biases reflected. I agree with a number of other readers that this was 'hurried' to press in order to capitalize on the huge success of the far superior read about President Lincoln. I will certainly not rush to read the next "Killing..." book by Mr. O'Reilly & company. I've been a regular viewer of Mr. O'Reilly's FOX cable news program for many years. One thing that his success seems to have done for him is to make him a bit more arrogant and dismissive...and almost incapable of admitting that he is wrong on anything. Methinks he trumpets his own horn too much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Just OK

    As a history lesson it was ok. The writing style left little to be desired unless you are in the 4th grade. Almost gave up on it but kept on reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended - a must read!!

    This book kept me intriqued all the way through. I learned things I hadn't known before, even though i was grown when Kennedy was shot & felt very knowledgeable about most details. It was every bit as good as Killing Lincoln and thoroughy recommend it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great research, good back story to what was going on politically

    I liked the style this book was written in, it was the crisp and clean wstyle of a young reporter named Bill O'Reilly. Bill won awards on his reporting of the Kennedy assassinations. I wish today that was his style of journailism. I also liked Abraham Lincoln and look forward to more history by this author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Ehhhhh.

    SMUT SMUT SMUT SMUT SMUT SMUT SMUT SMUT SMUT !

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3