Customer Reviews for

Killing Kennedy: The End of Camelot

Average Rating 4
( 798 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(443)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(81)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

RIVETING!

Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the w...
Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the whole story as far as anyone can. Using every possible iota of information from all manner of sources, they have brought everything together into one chronological history. I loved the book. I learned a lot more of the history of just the time JFK was president and what he and the US faced. Highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know how our country lost its 1950's innocence and began the path to apathy and cynicism (sp?).

posted by 10121380 on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

119 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was...
I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was also blown away by their buying into Jack Ruby's grief over the loss of the president and his being a "patriot" being his reason for killing Oswald. PLEASE! Ruby was clearly a mob owned, fouled mouth, strip club owner who's only reason for killing Oswald could have been he couldn't tell his mafia bosses no. Poorly researched, not footnoted, over-sensationalized the sex life of the president at the expense of presenting plausible reasons for the assassination. We will never know for an absolute certainty the reasons behind JFK's assassination because the people and hard evidence that could have clarified the situation are long since dead or missing BUT they could have made the effort to explore and present those reasons in this book but alas did not bother. I care a lot less about how many women the president had sex with than the possibly that some people got away with plotting the murder of the president of the United States. Find another book to read - I do recommend Killing Lincoln by the same authors - this one is a waste of your time & money.

posted by Honeybee48 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    I agree that this book wasn't as interesting as Lincoln.  I LOVE

    I agree that this book wasn't as interesting as Lincoln.  I LOVE the writing style in both books. Killing Kennedy was an interesting insight to a little of everything surrounding JFk, a little on his military days, a little on Jackie, Bobby, a little on the politics, a little on Oswald and Ruby, and A LOT on his social life. I didn't mind the sexual exploitation to much because I believe it was giving explanation to the man behind the curtains, his character and why he was the way he was, which I found very interesting. There wasn't any groundbreaking information, but I do appreciate there wasn't addition of a new conspiracy theory, I feel in this case it was to the point, truthful and well researched because of that. Also, I'm NOT a fan of Bill O'Reilly on TV, but enjoyed his journalism and story-telling.  

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    The Kennedy Presidency

    From the title of this book I figured it would be another blow by blow account of the assassination. But I was wrong. The main thrust is more a narrative of John Kennedy's presidency and also of his life. O'Reilly was clearly an admirer and supporter of JFK, but he was not blind to his flaws. At times, sexually, Kennedy was a cad. Politically, as in the Bay of Pigs affair, he was inept and stupid, but he learned and when challenged by missiles in Cuba, he responded with greater effectiveness. This reader was, peripherally, a part of that response. Stationed at an southern Air Force training base, I remember the Army units bivouacked, night after night, on our flight line as they moved towards Florida. For me, new details of this narrative were the most interesting part of the book. O'Reilly digs out some new ones. As for the assassination, Oswald saw the parade route, he had the gun, the vantage point, he fired three shots, none of them magical, and a President's life came to an end. O'Reilly doesn't lay another stupid conspiracy theory on us.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    I don't know about people

    I wish I could read honest reviews of this book rather than about the opinion that people have about the author. Can't you people think long enough to put your political bias aside? Reading is supposed to make you think, not have knee jerk reactions.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    not deep enough

    Interesting read! Will the truth ever be revealed?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Good but.....

    I enjoyed this book but it felt a little bit like reading a tabloid at times. Also, there were moments in the book when Mr. O'Reilly's political leanings colored his words and clouded his ability to be objective. There are typos in the ebook that suggest careless editing (TBSD for Texas School Book Depository). This book is an enjoyable, quick read but it is clearly geared toward the layperson. It will not satisfy Kennedy scholars or serious history buffs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Good

    Thankfully no political bluster. My main complaint is there is a lot of unnecessary info which have been better served in a profile or bio rather than here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    This is a very interesting book and I do recommend it.  I gave i

    This is a very interesting book and I do recommend it.  I gave it 3 stars instead of 5 because it did affect/change how I felt about John F. Kennedy after reading this book.  There is so much mystery, hype, and legend about his presidency, affairs, marriage, politics and especially conspiracy theories about his assasination.  The poise and devotion of his wife and youth of his children make the impending end to the story even more dreaded and climactic.  I enjoyed quotes from some of the people who worked for him in the White House and glimpses into his family life.  I guess I came away from the book less consumed with WHO done it, but  instead wondering what kind of legacy he might have ended up with had he lived and served a second term.  I'm not sure he would have lived up to his own legend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    I expected more since killing lincolin was good.

    Erdd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    easy reading

    This book was easy reading, but not particularly insightful. It brought the events of the Kennedy White House years back to life, and tried to put to rest the conspiracy theories regarding the assasination but did not provide any particularly new information. Still, it was interesting and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Bill tells it like it is!

    This will be part of my summer reading. got to get through school semester first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Solid, but there are much better books out there on this topic.

    Solid, but there are much better books out there on this topic. Not as good as the Lincoln book, but ig you have not read muc h into this topic, probably not a bad starter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    If you are not up to everything this will blow your mind on the ...

    On the other hand O'Reilly leaves much out of this book. Much that is fact. That worries me a little but he is Bill. Not a bad read for the first time Kennedy investigator.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Short Semi-History

    Overall, being a follower of the Kennedy Assassination, I found no previously-undisclosed information in this book. The book dealt mainly with the "feelings" of the main participants, deriving them from first-hand accounts with bystanders.

    The book is pretty short, but well-written.

    Mainly dissappointment due to the lack of new info.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Not as good as Killing Lincoln.

    A lot about what a philanderer he was.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Too Much Unnecessary and Unrelated Detail

    I thoroughly enjoyed KILLING LINCOLN. Excellent recounting of the planning Boothe went through as well as very interesting detail on the hunt for him after the assassination. The great majority of the content was related to that horrible event. I bought KILLING KENNEDY expecting the same. However, there were so many many items included in this book that were completely unrelated to the assassination of Kennedy. Why did we have to know that Martin Luther King slept with other women? Why did we need to know that there was no pill residue in Marilyn Monroe's stomach? Why did we have to hear all about John Profumo? It is obvious that the author was just riding the coat tails of KILLING LINCOLN by naming this one KILLING KENNEDY. Should have named it differently and not inlcuded some of the many instances of unrelated detail.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    I would think twice...

    The first 2/3’s of the book is informative and keeps you reading, but then the air comes out of the balloon and becomes disappointing.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Brought back very bad memories

    This was a dark time in history and because of the last remaining brother, Ted Kennedy, we now have Obama, the guy who is determined to bring America to it's knees
    In my opinion none of the Kennedys has done any good for this country
    Killing Kennedy was an interestng book but had some mistakes ie Jackie crawling on the trunk of the death car trying to retrieve parts of his scull when in reality she was trying to escape and the number of bullets shot
    I liked loved Killing Lincoln but not sure about Killing Kennedy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Not bad of a book 3*

    Boaring but intresting

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Killing kenedy

    It was ok but lacked the excitement of killing lincoln I thought there would be more surprise information,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Does anyone else have a problem with the size of the fonts on yo

    Does anyone else have a problem with the size of the fonts on your Nook with this book? I know this is not the format to be asking this but I don't know where else to go. I was so excited to buy this and when I started reading it the fonts are so small, hardly 10 words per page and the margins are so narrow it's like reading a book marker I'm hoping tomorrow when B&N help desk is open they can help me. just wondering if anyone else had problems with this book and the size of the fonts and margins? thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5