Customer Reviews for

Killing Kennedy: The End of Camelot

Average Rating 4
( 800 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(444)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(81)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

89 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

RIVETING!

Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the w...
Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the whole story as far as anyone can. Using every possible iota of information from all manner of sources, they have brought everything together into one chronological history. I loved the book. I learned a lot more of the history of just the time JFK was president and what he and the US faced. Highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know how our country lost its 1950's innocence and began the path to apathy and cynicism (sp?).

posted by 10121380 on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

120 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was...
I really liked their previous book Killing Lincoln and was eager to read this one but was very disappointed in it. They make lots of connections between Kennedy and the mafia but then totally fail to make the many provable connections between Oswald and the mafia. I was also blown away by their buying into Jack Ruby's grief over the loss of the president and his being a "patriot" being his reason for killing Oswald. PLEASE! Ruby was clearly a mob owned, fouled mouth, strip club owner who's only reason for killing Oswald could have been he couldn't tell his mafia bosses no. Poorly researched, not footnoted, over-sensationalized the sex life of the president at the expense of presenting plausible reasons for the assassination. We will never know for an absolute certainty the reasons behind JFK's assassination because the people and hard evidence that could have clarified the situation are long since dead or missing BUT they could have made the effort to explore and present those reasons in this book but alas did not bother. I care a lot less about how many women the president had sex with than the possibly that some people got away with plotting the murder of the president of the United States. Find another book to read - I do recommend Killing Lincoln by the same authors - this one is a waste of your time & money.

posted by Honeybee48 on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    RIVETING!

    Yes, I remember where I was on Nov. 22, 1963 when we learned the terrible news. I was 10 and not sure what it all meant. Perhaps for those of us who still remember and wonder, the tragedy is still a mystery. O'Reilly and Dugard have done a superb job of telling the whole story as far as anyone can. Using every possible iota of information from all manner of sources, they have brought everything together into one chronological history. I loved the book. I learned a lot more of the history of just the time JFK was president and what he and the US faced. Highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know how our country lost its 1950's innocence and began the path to apathy and cynicism (sp?).

    89 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Missing pages

    Missing pages on e book

    55 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Excellent

    O'reilly has a knack for making history interesting and relevant. He is very fair in the way he describes Kennedy's weaknesses and his evolution into a world leader.

    26 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Facsinating Fasciating Fasciating Fascinating hih Fascinating

    Great read fair at times touching

    22 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    Bought and read it the same day.

    21 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Killing Kennedy is a no spin, no fluff, quick read!

    Martin and Bill do it again! Straight factual account of the scarest time of my parents life time. This book was written for those who want to make their own conclusions from pithy details from Bill O'Reilly's own notes. It is unusal to have a fun surprise at the books end!

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    There is a lot more in this telling of JFK's life and death than

    There is a lot more in this telling of JFK's life and death than most people would either remember ("I remember where I was when the ...") or could understand about this young, powerful president. The authors do a tremendous job of making the story personable to the reader and leave an impact about this amazing part of American history. It has the information that titntillates but also informs a reader, a story that keeps the reader turning the pages for the next scene and even though the climax has been kown for decades still leaves the reader slightly breathless and rewarded for completing this book.

    15 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great read!

    Written in a very accessible manner. Highly recommended. Enjoy!

    15 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Defo!!!

    Amazing u hav 2 read this book!!!!!!!!

    13 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    GET THIS BOOK!!!!

    This is a must read/must have book! To anyone who is not clear on what happened to our beloved JFK, you have got to read this book. Just as good, if not better than KILLING LINCOLN, mr. O'Reilly does it again.
    Kudos to this author and co-author. Great job. I loved it and I read mostly fiction. Excellent.

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended.

    I was raised in Dallas and taking the children to see Air Force One depart when I heard about the assassination. We were all terrifid, got the children home from school, hubby's office closed down, for 4 days glued to television set. IT WAS SO TRAUMATOC AND SO SAD.
    The book covered more than I ever knew and was vry well written.
    However rho I know O'Reilly checked it out carefully I am still wondering how Tippirr and Oswald were at the theater together, it was checked and the theater was exactly 8 miles from rhe Depositoryy...feelings were the policeman drove Oswald from the shootting site, then shot Tippitt.but feel certain O'Reailly researched is carefully. I overheard officers discussing this tho those many years ago.
    This is a book you cant put down until you finish it, I didn't!
    Well worth the time and money to read, and I now understand Mrs. Kennedy more than I ever did and never liked LBJ anyway...he made me anxious when he was president.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Have to admit that, even though I am not a Bill O'Reilly fan, th

    Have to admit that, even though I am not a Bill O'Reilly fan, this is a very good read. Well written & factually correct. If you are a history buff or just want to take a trip down memory lane (taking in the good and bad parts of this portion of American...and world history), I would highly recommend this book. Do not believe you will be disappointed.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    -_-

    Anyone that says this is fake IS WRONG! Thank you :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Fascinating Historical Review - A "Must Read"

    This highly detailed review of the Kennedy years gives a much needed perspective to the reality that was "Camelot." Also of great value is the look at the machinations that take place in the political high places. This book provides a window through which we may look to educate ourselves concerning the political process that powers our democracy.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Not what I expected

    This book was very informative and presented in a clear and narrative way. I found that I could not put it down. It was fact finding and gave a very good description of this time in history.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    GReat book really should read it...

    Before i read this book i thought it eas going to be pretty boring but after i read it i was amazed...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Kilii Killing Kenndy

    Very good book and well written- Easy to read-

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Great Book

    Facts are facts and I have seen anyone credible state aything in this book is not truthful. For those who state that Bill is just a jounalist, he major in college was HISTORY.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Bobba2

    I've always enjoyed history but some books are jusy too deep and studious to read. This book is easy to read and puts history in everyones lap. This is a must read for anyone who might like to give history a try

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Good read

    Quick and easy read. Enjoyable if you like history.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23