Customer Reviews for

Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination That Changed America Forever

Average Rating 4
( 1276 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(639)

4 Star

(274)

3 Star

(142)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(151)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

What a Read!!!!!

Not a typical book I read, however this is a masterpiece......Informative, interesting and easy to read. Kudos to the authors who were so insightful in presenting such an event, which changed America, in a way that held my interest and make me proud that Lincoln was one...
Not a typical book I read, however this is a masterpiece......Informative, interesting and easy to read. Kudos to the authors who were so insightful in presenting such an event, which changed America, in a way that held my interest and make me proud that Lincoln was one of our great Presidents. Recommend this for students as well.

posted by Reader1DL on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

433 out of 527 people found this review helpful.

Too Many Errors to be Taken Seriously

I like Bill O'Reilly very much. He has done the people a great service by having many who know little or nothing at all about the subject of this book induced to learn about it and perhaps to become interested in that subject in a way that never would have been possible...
I like Bill O'Reilly very much. He has done the people a great service by having many who know little or nothing at all about the subject of this book induced to learn about it and perhaps to become interested in that subject in a way that never would have been possible had not HE been its author. But those folks deserved better.

I am someone who knows a great deal about this subject and, as such, when reading this book, contrary to never feeling as though I could not put it down, I found myself instead periodically feeling like throwing it across the room. Why? Because of the agonizingly regular appearance of errors. Errors matter because when one comes across information which, despite years of study of a subject, appears to be new, instead of celebrating the discovery of that new information or the appreciation of having understood an old story from a new perspective because of that new information, one is left with the overriding suspicion that the new information is not new at all, but only appears to be so because it is not true.

Some examples: Booth did not bore a peep hole in the wall of the hallway leading to the Presidential Box at Ford's Theater, he bore that hole in a door, a door which is there at Ford's Theater to this very day for anyone who visits the site to see for himself. Did Mr. O'Reilly visit Ford's Theater?

Mr. O'Reilly concludes his account of the surrender at Appomattox by observing that Grant and Lee would never meet again, when, in fact, they met the next day and conducted follow-up surrender negotiations on horseback, and met again in 1869 when Lee visited the White House to confer with Grant after he became President.

Mr. O'Reilly tells of Grant, upon returning to Washington from City Point, going over to the White House to see Lincoln and meeting with him in the Oval Office. There was no Oval Office in 1865, and there would not be one until the 20th Century. Grant met with Lincoln in Lincoln's office on the second floor of the White House where today is located the room called the "Lincoln Bedroom".

Details like these are important: Why else include them in the book in the first place? When details worthy for inclusion in the book are inaccurate the inaccuracies matter when they accumulate to the point where the credibility of the entire enterprise is put at risk and the book's reliability becomes suspect.That point is reached in this book.

The book needed vetting it never received, and suffers as a result. The folks who read this book and put it down having learned a story they never before knew or fully appreciated might now be inspired to learn more about that story. The regret is that Mr. O'Reilly did not do a better job of giving them the head start he probably intended for them to have in order to succeed in that worthy effort.

posted by SBrizek on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 65
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too Many Errors to be Taken Seriously

    I like Bill O'Reilly very much. He has done the people a great service by having many who know little or nothing at all about the subject of this book induced to learn about it and perhaps to become interested in that subject in a way that never would have been possible had not HE been its author. But those folks deserved better.

    I am someone who knows a great deal about this subject and, as such, when reading this book, contrary to never feeling as though I could not put it down, I found myself instead periodically feeling like throwing it across the room. Why? Because of the agonizingly regular appearance of errors. Errors matter because when one comes across information which, despite years of study of a subject, appears to be new, instead of celebrating the discovery of that new information or the appreciation of having understood an old story from a new perspective because of that new information, one is left with the overriding suspicion that the new information is not new at all, but only appears to be so because it is not true.

    Some examples: Booth did not bore a peep hole in the wall of the hallway leading to the Presidential Box at Ford's Theater, he bore that hole in a door, a door which is there at Ford's Theater to this very day for anyone who visits the site to see for himself. Did Mr. O'Reilly visit Ford's Theater?

    Mr. O'Reilly concludes his account of the surrender at Appomattox by observing that Grant and Lee would never meet again, when, in fact, they met the next day and conducted follow-up surrender negotiations on horseback, and met again in 1869 when Lee visited the White House to confer with Grant after he became President.

    Mr. O'Reilly tells of Grant, upon returning to Washington from City Point, going over to the White House to see Lincoln and meeting with him in the Oval Office. There was no Oval Office in 1865, and there would not be one until the 20th Century. Grant met with Lincoln in Lincoln's office on the second floor of the White House where today is located the room called the "Lincoln Bedroom".

    Details like these are important: Why else include them in the book in the first place? When details worthy for inclusion in the book are inaccurate the inaccuracies matter when they accumulate to the point where the credibility of the entire enterprise is put at risk and the book's reliability becomes suspect.That point is reached in this book.

    The book needed vetting it never received, and suffers as a result. The folks who read this book and put it down having learned a story they never before knew or fully appreciated might now be inspired to learn more about that story. The regret is that Mr. O'Reilly did not do a better job of giving them the head start he probably intended for them to have in order to succeed in that worthy effort.

    433 out of 527 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    The Purple Prose of the Assassination

    This review is written by John Berry, author of "A Night of Horrors," a historical thriller on the 24 hours of Lincoln's assassination.

    O'Reilly and Dugard have written a book on the assassination that is part thriller and part history book. Their stated intent was to write "a thriller" but one that remains "unsanitized and uncompromising" in its veracity. Though the title indicates that the book will focus on the assassination itself, it actually covers a span of several months, including the weeks leading up to the day of the shooting and the months following when the conspirators were rounded up and tried. While the facts and sequences discussed in Killing Lincoln are mostly accurate, the narrative moves along quickly and breezily, which makes for a quick read. The problem for me is that the subject of the book is weighty and meaningful, but the narrative skims along the surface. While O'Reilly and Dugard touch on many themes and issues that America faced as it struggled to end the bloodiest war in our history and reinstate the rebel states, they treat none of them in depth. They touch on a few of the many conspiracies that Americans love to debate when it comes to the Lincoln (and Kennedy, for that matter) assassinations. They raise many questions or potential themes, but delve into none in great detail or with any satisfaction.

    Also, the authors continually narrate from the viewpoint of how events unfolded. So every action of Lincoln, in particular, are interpreted and painted with a fatalistic brush. For instance, we have this on the morning of the shooting. "Every aspect of Lincoln's early morning has the feel of a man putting his affairs in order: reading the Bible, jotting a few notes, arranging for a last carefree whirl around Washington with his loyal wife, and setting his son on a path that will ensure him a successful future. All of this is done unconsciously, of course, but it is notable." In reality, Lincoln did many of these things every morning of the war. His habit, as the authors themselves point out, is to read from the Bible daily. He often went first to his office to tend to paperwork and then downstairs for breakfast. His carriage ride with his wife and his advice to his son occur because the war was coming to an end and not because he knew it was the last day of his life. But the authors can't seem to help themselves in over-writing and over-noting how coincidental things look in the light of the assassination.

    The narrative is often painted with purple prose. My favorite is the opening to Chapter 32: "Two thousand years after the execution of Jesus, there are still many unanswered questions about who was directly responsible for his death and what happened in the aftermath. And so it is, on Good Friday 1865, that a series of bizarre occurrences will take place."

    All in all, the book proves a frustrating read for a serious historian as it never dives too deeply into issues, characters, or themes. In their attempt to write both a history book and a thriller, they don't quite achieve either. "Killing Lincoln" does have a strong narrative drive and raises conspiracy questions that will prove of interest to some readers. But I came away feeling that O'Reilly and Dugard had missed the mark and never really provided any new insight or emotion into one of the most important 24 hour periods of our country.

    138 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Errors throughout

    First off I must say I watch Mr. O Reilly from time to time. So I am not not to get him on this book. All I have heard is how great the book is. When in fact the book is full of errors. The one that set me off is found on page 97 of the book. He wrote that after Lee and Grant met at the McLean House for Lee to surrender the Army of Northern Virginia. The two would never met again... WRONG. The two met the very next day to talk about Lee helping to get Joe Johnston to surrender to Sherman. Lee said he would have to talk with President Davis. After Grant became President he sent word though friends he would like to see Lee. Seven weeks later Lee met with Grant at the White House. The two talked from about 30 minutes alone. Grant or Lee never said a word what the two talked about. I upset this was not a footnote. Because I am a great fan of Lee. Lee never allow a unkind word spoken about Grant. I wish Mr. O Reilly could get his facts right. I found many more issues un the pages that followed.I was going to give my copy to the local High School when I was finished with the book. But why give them a book with wrong facts in it.

    122 out of 198 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Would have rated it a 0 star.....Way Too Many ERRORS!

    I don't have all night to list the errors in this book. Save your money and just purchase "They Have Killed Papa Dead" or "Manhunt" for accurate portrayals of the events surrounding Lincoln's assasination. I can't believe O'Reilly is touting this book on talk shows as "ALL TRUE." Just a few examples of errors....1) He states Grant and Lee never meet again after Lee surrenders at Appomatox. False - they meet the next day to go over details and also again after Grant is president. 2) Chapter 40 states that Phillip Barton Key is married to a woman and is killed by her LOVER, with whom she is having an affair. This is backwards....Phillip Barton Key is the LOVER, not the husband, although he is killed by the husband. As a side note, the husband/killer is Dan Sickles, a former Union General who is the first to use the defense of "Not Guilty by Reason of Temporary Insanity" for his murder of Key. 3) The book states Booth blocked the door with a music stand. If O'Reilly simply went to Ford's Theater, he could see the wooden stick on display RIGHT NOW that Booth used to block the door. 4) The book states that Booth drilled a hole in the door the same afternoon that he killed Lincoln, so he could view Lincoln that night before assasinating him. This is a myth that is disputed also by visiting Ford's theater. The manager had drilled the hole long before that night to be able to view all of his VIP guests to ensure they were happy. 5) The book claims the actress who cradled Lincoln's head in her lap, and thus had his blood all over her dress, was haunted by this the rest of her life. In fact, she later held parties and modeled the dress to party attendees to show it off. Even later still, she cut up parts of the dress to give away as souvenirs to her favorite relatives and friends. 6) O'Reilly describes Mrs. Lincoln wore a gray dress to the play, when in fact she wore a black taffeta dress.

    As stated previously, there were too many errors to detail every one in this review. It was sloppy research, if there was research at all. Well-respected non-fiction writers use footnotes, but there are none in this book. Even in history class, I had to use footnotes on papers I submitted. I was looking forward to reading this book, but was seriously disappointed!

    119 out of 169 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    What a Read!!!!!

    Not a typical book I read, however this is a masterpiece......Informative, interesting and easy to read. Kudos to the authors who were so insightful in presenting such an event, which changed America, in a way that held my interest and make me proud that Lincoln was one of our great Presidents. Recommend this for students as well.

    70 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Inncorect facts and overall not s good book

    Save your money, therr are much better and more acturate books available...

    60 out of 132 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Not very good

    Not a very good book. I would not have bought it if I would have known that the facts were wrong throughout the book.

    50 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    WHAT A THOROUGHLY FASCINATING READ !

    I really really enjoyed reading this book ! Extremely well-written and well-researched and totally gripping ! I really did feel as though I'd travelled in a time tunnel back to April of 1865 ! This book should also be required reading in college courses and high school classes so students can know just how interesting history can be ! I really do hope Hollywood might make a movie based on it !

    46 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Amazing Read!

    The writing was excellent...no matter WHO wrote it...and it made history interesting. It detailed many events surrounding this period in history; things we aren't taught in school. Lincoln was a great president and this book tells a touching and human story of a very tragic historical event. I highly recommend reading this book! It truly made history come alive.

    41 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    history comes alive

    "killing linclon" is very hard to put down. bill o reilly a former history teacher and popular talk show host has really done his home work and research on abraham linclon and the most infamous asasination event of our life time. not only did I find so many historical events that I did not learn about in school but I found out what happened to many of the conspiraters as well as many of the patriots.I also learned alot from about linclon as a president and what his personality was like perhaps after getting to know this great president alittle better I will know what to look for in a candidate in 2012 this book would make a great gift for a friend or family member

    39 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Re Michael Farrell's LIBRARY JOURNAL review.

    Farrell wrote a very poor review. Wonder if he even read the book. The writing is factual and not "sensationalist". The remark about the book expressing a "northern perspective" also seems incorrect. The presentation is objective. I enjoyed this book a great deal and highly recommend it.

    31 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Do not waste your money on this book

    Terrible grasp on Facts. Terrible grasp on english grammar. Terrible book.

    30 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Must Read for All

    This book is great! It really shouldn't matter your opinion of the author. Any person in this country can author an historical book. I believe that there have been many an authored book by those with the opposite political view, true? Every person who then reads the book needs to use their own mind to determine the validity of the perspective which the author used in writing the book.

    Every history book was in effect written by the victors not the losers, they were dead remember. So all history has perspective and may or may not be the actual both-side story. If this is kept in mind when reading any history, there would probably be less arguments about the viewpoints of any author because everyone can make up their own minds after reading any book (history or not).

    Even if you don't agree with an author's political leanings, you can try the book and stop reading it at any time.

    I'm sure the very first reviewer hasn't even read the book and just wants to review the author!

    Good reading to you!

    28 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Very highly recommended

    It's a page turner. If only history could have been presented like this in schools.

    26 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    Biased and Low-Quality.

    To be frank, I thought that the entire book was a joke. The quality was incredibly low.

    24 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Wonderful book.

    I just finished this great book and I highly recommend it to everyone. I actually felt like I was in the Ford theater on the night that President Lincoln was assassinated. I was very emotional reading about the last hours of his great life. I hope everyone reads it. So worthwhile.

    24 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Mr O'Reilly, Don't quit your day job.

    I agree whole heartedly with the previous post, simple facts obviously were not double checked... This probably would be a great book for a pre-teen, but for a true Lincoln buff it doesn't quite cut the mustard. It seems to me as if this entire book could have been written in one or two sessions.

    22 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    Not worth the time

    Really not worth the time or money

    21 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Great Job Bill

    Good read kept me coming back for more Didnt want to put it down

    20 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Rate if you've read it!

    Just read the first two chapters...great!!

    20 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 65