Customer Reviews for

Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination That Changed America Forever

Average Rating 4
( 1298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(657)

4 Star

(275)

3 Star

(144)

2 Star

(70)

1 Star

(152)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

What a Read!!!!!

Not a typical book I read, however this is a masterpiece......Informative, interesting and easy to read. Kudos to the authors who were so insightful in presenting such an event, which changed America, in a way that held my interest and make me proud that Lincoln was one...
Not a typical book I read, however this is a masterpiece......Informative, interesting and easy to read. Kudos to the authors who were so insightful in presenting such an event, which changed America, in a way that held my interest and make me proud that Lincoln was one of our great Presidents. Recommend this for students as well.

posted by Reader1DL on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

440 out of 535 people found this review helpful.

Too Many Errors to be Taken Seriously

I like Bill O'Reilly very much. He has done the people a great service by having many who know little or nothing at all about the subject of this book induced to learn about it and perhaps to become interested in that subject in a way that never would have been possible...
I like Bill O'Reilly very much. He has done the people a great service by having many who know little or nothing at all about the subject of this book induced to learn about it and perhaps to become interested in that subject in a way that never would have been possible had not HE been its author. But those folks deserved better.

I am someone who knows a great deal about this subject and, as such, when reading this book, contrary to never feeling as though I could not put it down, I found myself instead periodically feeling like throwing it across the room. Why? Because of the agonizingly regular appearance of errors. Errors matter because when one comes across information which, despite years of study of a subject, appears to be new, instead of celebrating the discovery of that new information or the appreciation of having understood an old story from a new perspective because of that new information, one is left with the overriding suspicion that the new information is not new at all, but only appears to be so because it is not true.

Some examples: Booth did not bore a peep hole in the wall of the hallway leading to the Presidential Box at Ford's Theater, he bore that hole in a door, a door which is there at Ford's Theater to this very day for anyone who visits the site to see for himself. Did Mr. O'Reilly visit Ford's Theater?

Mr. O'Reilly concludes his account of the surrender at Appomattox by observing that Grant and Lee would never meet again, when, in fact, they met the next day and conducted follow-up surrender negotiations on horseback, and met again in 1869 when Lee visited the White House to confer with Grant after he became President.

Mr. O'Reilly tells of Grant, upon returning to Washington from City Point, going over to the White House to see Lincoln and meeting with him in the Oval Office. There was no Oval Office in 1865, and there would not be one until the 20th Century. Grant met with Lincoln in Lincoln's office on the second floor of the White House where today is located the room called the "Lincoln Bedroom".

Details like these are important: Why else include them in the book in the first place? When details worthy for inclusion in the book are inaccurate the inaccuracies matter when they accumulate to the point where the credibility of the entire enterprise is put at risk and the book's reliability becomes suspect.That point is reached in this book.

The book needed vetting it never received, and suffers as a result. The folks who read this book and put it down having learned a story they never before knew or fully appreciated might now be inspired to learn more about that story. The regret is that Mr. O'Reilly did not do a better job of giving them the head start he probably intended for them to have in order to succeed in that worthy effort.

posted by SBrizek on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    O'Reilly had another winner

    Love it and anything he writes!!!

    7 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    not good

    dnt bother.

    6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Pamphlet in hardback

    Quick read is an understatement! Not even worth picking up. Of the hundreds of Lincoln assassination books, this has to be the weakest. Writing style is high school text book.

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Do Not Buy THIS STUPID AUTHOR'S STUPID BOOK

    This book is not based in reality!
    I cannot believe how little the author cares about researching!

    Do not contribute 1¿ to inflate the ego of this man!

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Factually incorrect

    Very disappointing to see the level of factually incorrect information. An elementary-aged child could have out written these authors. Just pitiful. Poor Lincoln.

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Yuck

    Lacks intellectual integrity. Don't quote this book if you want to seem knowledgable.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    Very poor work

    As an avid fan of history I was totally disappointed in this amateurish work. The book is biased and does not paint a true picture of Lincoln who was a tyrant who violated the Constitution. The author tends to skip around with his ideas and the book is hard to follow. I would search elsewhere if I wanted a true portrayal of Lincoln. I wish there were a way to give this book zero stars.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    bill o is horrible

    Another load of bs from bill o

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    For those of you who think this book is badly written and histor

    For those of you who think this book is badly written and historically inaccurate you would be correct. I work at one of the parks on the Appomattox Campaign from Petersburg, VA to Appomattox, VA and as a group at this location (many of which have worked at these parks for years) found, in the first 80 pages, no less than 200 small and major problems with this book from terrain mistakes (The Blue Ridge mountains do not start in Farmville and Farmville is not before High Bridge), troop movements and numbers (30,000 to 35,000 men surrendered at Appomattox not 8,000 and Lee left Petersburg with 60,000 men not 30,000), having towns in the wrong places, getting Robert E. Lee and U.S. Grant personalities wrong, lost cause views and using no National Park, State or local histories that are the newest information (no citations at all). Yea O’Reilly may have made an interesting read, but I get tired of having to tell people I’m glad he got you interested in history, but everything you just read is totally wrong. Most of these mistakes would have been avoided if he used the newest sources (some stuff does not seem to have sources and were made up) and went to the places he was writing about. That’s the problem I have with the book. O’Reilly stated that he work “ is the best non-fiction book on Lincoln” then write it historical accurately and write it in a interesting way, because people are interested in the truth. Don’t write crap and waist people’s money and time.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    This book is disappointing to put it mildly. The history is ofte

    This book is disappointing to put it mildly. The history is often faulty, the tone sensational and the writing is sloppy. Sorry I bought it.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Dont get it!!!!

    I hate it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Unneeded rendition

    There's so many well written books on the life and death of President Lincoln, it's a shame that O'Reilly felt the need to sensationalize (the authors' own description of their book) his assassination. Based on selected facts, the authors fill in the voids with imagined details and their personal opinions of the truth. I guess we should not have expected more from a project tied to O'Reilly.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    If I could give it no stars, I would.

    The book is simplistic, poorly written and I found several historical errors. I had difficulty finishing it as the errors were glaring to anyone who actually knows the history. It is not a book I would ever share.

    Verdict: Don't waste your money.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Good read for elementary school history class

    I just forced myself to finish reading Killing Lincoln, which is a good read for elementary school, but not for anyone who has already read more substantial works on this period of American history. For anyone interested in character development and life in America at this time, "Team of Rivals" by historian Doris Kearns Goodwin is much better, in my opinion. I find the suggestion by the authors that Edwin Stanton could possibly be involved in Lincoln's assassination outrageous. I guess I should have known better once I saw the book cover--if an author's name is larger than the title, then it is more about them than the subject!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    misleading and nonfactual

    plays as free and loose with history as one would expect from such a one dimensional buffoon

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    lousy

    Bill O'reilly is a neocon hack

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No way im gettting this

    Almost All the rewviews say its bad so im nit getting it u should not to

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Before you even get inside of this book, there is a problem with

    Before you even get inside of this book, there is a problem with the cover. Whenever you see the first author's name much larger than the title and the second author's name even smaller, we are in trouble. Bill O'Reilly is banking on his name and reputation and it hits you in the face. Supposedly, O'Reilly used to teach history but he certainly did not check his facts. There are many inaccuracies. The writing style is sensationalistic and there's no new information. It's catalogued as an adult book but the wording seems to be geared more for young people.
    Don't bother with O'Reilly's book. It's really bad.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    A good read

    The book kept me turning the pages. There is something here to learn for everyone, scholar, student or a voracious reader seeking something slightly different.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Great job at editing history

    Not shocked at all that it was full of inaccuracies. I should have known better then to expect an accurate history read from some fox news anchor

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8