Customer Reviews for

Killing Me Softly (Secrets of Shadow Falls Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    A Soft Mystery

    I like Maggie Shayne romance novels so I thought I'd give this series a try and checked out all 3 "Killing Me" books from the library. I just finished the first one, Killing Me Softly. It was fast paced read and I finished it in one day. It wasn't a plot that hasn't already been done before (serial killers and psychics) but I was drawn to Dawn's character and her past. The love of her life, Bryan, wasn't as well rounded as I would have liked - there just didn't seem to be anything really special about him and nothing to draw me to his character. The biggest disappointment was that it was completely predictable. I knew before I reached half-way through the book who and why, but there's a little twist that keeps the reader interested. A good romance scene thrown in there to keep Shayne doing what she does best, but the reason I want to pick up book number two is in hopes I get more of Dawn and see what she does with her powers now that she's found a good use for them and is no longer running from them. A solid 3 stars, I liked the book but it lost a higher rating due to its predictability and for being unoriginal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    Okay Book

    I usually like all of her books. This one was kind of disappointing, because I knew who the killer was by page 100, this is not good. I will read the other 2 in this series hope they are better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally- Dawn's Story.

    I read the Mordecai Young Trilogy not long ago, and really enjoyed the whole series. Maggie Shayne writes great suspense. But, I wondered if Dawn's story would ever be told. I was so pleased to fine Killing me Softly on the book shelves two days ago. I downloaded it to my nook immediately, and read it until I finished. I just couldn't put it down. The mystery was good, the action intense in a some places, but most of all I was happy to see that Dawn and Bryan had been brought back together. The last chapter was very emotional. It was a great way to spend an afternoon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a superb paranormal murder mystery

    Shadow Falls, Vermont police officer Bryan Kendall was shot in the line of duty. Healed, a party is thrown welcoming him back to work. The next day Bryan awakens up on his bathroom floor. Confused, he enters his bedroom to see Bettina Wright lying dead in his bed.

    The murder looks identical to the M.O. of the Nightcap Strangler; who was just executed by the state after fifteen years on death row. Learning what happened from her biological mother, Bryan's former girlfriend Dawn Jones decides to help him prove his innocence so she comes from the West Coast to New England. She hears voices in her head, but ignores them as she has for five years ever since she broke Bryan's heart by leaving. However, for Bryan's sake she heeds the voices when she realizes she is a dead ringer for the latest victim of apparently The Nightcap Strangler.

    This is a superb paranormal murder mystery with a supporting second chance at love romantic subplot. The story line is fast-paced with a strong support cast especially the intriguing killer and a great unique witness to the homicide in Bryan's bedroom. Readers will relish Maggie Shayne's taut thriller as Bryan and Dawn (see Thicker Than Water and Darker Than Midnight for her previous appearances) work the case while rekindling their love.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I count on Maggie Shayne to give me a thriller with hot sex scen

    I count on Maggie Shayne to give me a thriller with hot sex scenes thrown in. Some of the book was a bit cliched, and I still enjoyed reading it.

    Dawn is a specialty mechanic in California. Bryan is her former high school sweetheart back home in Vermont.

    Off-duty cop Bryan finds a dead body in his bed - apparently killed by a copycat of the Shadow Falls Strangler, said Strangler having recently died in prison.

    Dawn's mom, now married to Bryan's dad, calls Dawn to come home for moral support. She hems and she haws, but eventually she returns home, as we know she must, because Bryan is a primary suspect.

    Bryan and Dawn's reunion is by turns tense and easy, as they fall into the old habits of friendship. Over the course of the murder investigation, Bryan and Dawn remember why they were in love, confront relationship ghosts and go on the lam together when the Strangler strikes again.

    They run their own investigation while they're on the run, thanks to the original police reports on the Strangler, which Bryan happened to have in his garage before the copycat struck.

    And so, thrilling action ensues and some romance is to be had, old friends are rediscovered and new friends are found in unlikely places.

    What I didn't like: I met the killer in the first few pages of the book, and I knew who he was the minute he stepped onstage. When I turned out to be right, I was deeply disappointed, because this sort of foreshadowing, for lack of a better word, falls short of Shayne's best. I knew what the "witness" twist was very shortly after said witness was first discussed when reading a police report. The sex scenes were tame in comparison to what I know Ms. Shayne can write.

    What I did like: The friendship of Dawn and Bryan was fairly realistic. It moved tensely from the first re-meeting, when both parties remembered their mutual attraction, to the culmination of their story, with a supercorny but appropriate to the relationship resolution. Shayne avoided the too-easy love at second sight immediate rebonding that some storytellers insist on using.

    All in all, this was an enjoyable read. It wasn't the best of Maggie Shayne's books, and it definitely was not even close to being among the worst books I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    A thrush

    A thrush flies overhead, landing in a low branch on a pine tree. Despite the height of its perch, the thrush is safe from predators on the ground because of the pine needles: They'd really hurt a cat's feet. The needles on surrounding branches also protect it from predators in surrounding trees...don't they?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    got to have this!

    wow after reading the first book and don't even know that it was followed by two great story too, now with Dawn!!! wow from her mother to her! now thats what im looking forward surely want to have this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2