Customer Reviews for

Killing Mr. Griffin

Average Rating 4
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Brooke: Great book

You should definitly get this if you like suspense and mysteries

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Killing Mr. Griffin

This book is meant for audiences of 12 to 15 years of age. I think the theme of this book is to not trust just anyone. Popularity isn't all that important. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy suspense and watching crime shows.

Lois Duncan has written over...
This book is meant for audiences of 12 to 15 years of age. I think the theme of this book is to not trust just anyone. Popularity isn't all that important. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy suspense and watching crime shows.

Lois Duncan has written over 40 books in her lifetime mostly in the suspense genre. She wrote Killing Mr. Griffin in 1978. The best part of this book was at the very end. Although it does keep you on your toes the whole time. In the beginning Sue McConnell, David Ruggles, Betsy Cline, Mark Kinney, and Jeff Garrett decide to kidnap their English teacher who they all dislike. Everything goes according to plan until Mr. Griffin, the English teacher, dies after being left in the wilderness alone. The kids have to work together in order to keep from getting caught.

The plot was very well laid out. It could have had a bit more falling action, but the resolution was really great. This book had an unexpected ending that really tied the whole story together. All the characters really don't understand one another till the end.

The main thing I learned from this book is to be careful who you trust. Popularity isn't everything. The plot is relatively simple. A group of high school students kidnap their teacher and accidently kill him in the process. They have to work together to keep it a secret. I thought this was a good book. It had a good message and was very suspenseful. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to be on their toes through the whole book.

posted by evergreen96 on October 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love this book! Lois Duncan did a very well job with all the suspense and the plot, but their is a catch though, sadly. In the end, the book leaves you hanging. With that, you will still love it. Enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Sue McConnell, David Rugges, Betsy Cline, Mark Kinney, and

    Sue McConnell, David Rugges, Betsy Cline, Mark Kinney, and Jeff Garrett were all in the same English class. There English teache, Mr. Griffin was a very mean spirited man. He was never nice to any on of them and they all got frustrated and decided to play a joke.
    My favorite part of the book was when they all took Mr. Griffin up to the waterfall just to play a little joke.
    I thought the book was very suspensful and always kept me on my toes. I also thought the book was very interesting! if you're looking for a book, I recomend "Killing Mr. Griffin".

    Sue McConnell, David Rugges, Betsy Cline, Mark Kinney, and Jeff Garrett were all in the same English class. There English teache, Mr. Griffin was a very mean spirited man. He was never nice to any on of them and they all got frustrated and decided to play a joke.
    My favorite part of the book was when they all took Mr. Griffin up to the waterfall just to play a little joke.
    I thought the book was very suspensful and always kept me on my toes. I also thought the book was very interesting! if you're looking for a book, I recomend "Killing Mr. Griffin".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Cool but

    I love it but it starts out a little confusing other than that one of the best books ive read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Loved it

    I read this book for school. At first i didnt find it interesting, it is a little weird with the details. But one day i sat down and decided to read ahead for homework. Next thing i knew, i liked it and had finished it. I rate it a 4. The one point taken off is for the datails, and the period of time it took me to get interested. The 4 stars are for the excelent topic and the shocking ending. I like to feel for the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Introduction Killing Mr. Griffin is about a really hard teacher

    Introduction
    Killing Mr. Griffin is about a really hard teacher. All of the students don’t like him. They start being friends with a really smart girl to see what she knows.
    Description and summary of main points
    The kids are planning on kidnapping their teacher to get back at him for everything he has done to them. The kids kidnap him and take him to a old home. He has pills and tries to get them to let him take them but they don’t let him.
    Evaluation
    I thought I was a very interesting book. It is probably one of the best books I’ve read in my life. It had a lot of detail in it about everything that happens in it.
    Conclusion
    In conclusion all of the kids took their teacher and didn’t think they would get caught. There teacher found out who they were so they wouldn’t let him have his pills. Mr. Griffin ended up dying while he was kidnapped and they found him died so they buried him under a bunch of wood. One of the girls felt guilty so she went to the cops about it. In the end they all got in trouble for what they did.
    Your final review
    After I finished reading it I just wanted to keep reading it over and over again. All the kids got in trouble and got what they deserved. They shouldn’t of taken their teacher in the first place because they wouldn’t be in the place they are now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    It is a good book. Susan and her friends make a plan to scare Mr

    It is a good book. Susan and her friends make a plan to scare Mr. Griffin. So one day after school her and her friends kidnap Mr. Griffin and make him pass out so it is easier to carry him. Once they get him in the car and take him far away from every one, they start to video tape each other hitting him and doing little things to him. That night there was a basketball game and they left Mr. Griffin in a little cabin. Mr. Griffin need to take pills before him went to bed, but Mark was the only one that knew that. So while everyone was at the game, Mr. Griffin was laying in the cabin dying. So when the game was over they all went back to the cabin to check on Mr. Griffin. And once they got there he was dead. All they girls were crying, but then Mark said “I have an idea, we can dig a hole and put him in it and no one will ever know.” So all the kids got a shovel and started digging. After they put him in it they hurried up and got out of that place. The next day they went back and the police were there. So all the kids got in trouble with not only their parents but with the police. Mr. Griffin is a teacher at Del Norter High. He is one of the strictest teachers at the school. He likes to give out huge projects and humiliate students. Even Susan, a straight a student, can’t believe how hard his class is. So Mark, Susan’s crush, asks her to help scare Mr. Griffin so he will stop being so mean to the students. But everything didn’t go as planned.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    cool

    It was thrill-erific! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    They Only Meant to Read It

    The theme of this book is you should think before you do something to someone else because it might go wrong. I really enjoyed this book. It is very exciting and it keeps your attention through the whole book. I do not recommend this book for kids under 13 because it is very violent and there is a lot of murder.

    The characters are Susan, Jeff, Mark, and David. They are all in Mr. Griffin's class. Mr. Griffin is mean to them and he never gives them a break. He tries to make them work as hard as they can.
    It kept my attention it was exciting. It had lots of twists. The main points are these students get together and they plan to scare their teacher, Mr. Griffin. They did this because he is really tough and can be mean but he is just trying to make them better students. When they try to scare them they accidently kill him!

    The purpose and the goal were to be careful what you do it might go wrong and not turn out how it planned.

    Do not try to scare people because it might end up bad and be careful what you do.
    These five kids don't like their teacher. They try to scare him and end up killing him. They have to hide the evidence. They also have to deal with the guilt. They only meant to scare him they didn't mean to kill him.
    My final statement is be careful what you do there is always a consequence.

    This is a really good book. It keeps your interest. It is a little creepy, but it is very exciting. I recommend it for kids over 13. It has lots of twist and turns. It is very good book and I definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Awesome

    This book is about kids that try to scare there English teacher to think they are going to kill him. What the kids didn't know was Mr. Griffon had a medical condition. He died in the mountains. I thought the book was ok.This book is about kids that try to scare there English teacher to think they are going to kill him. What the kids didn't know was Mr. Griffon had a medical condition. He died in the mountains. I thought the book was ok. In the end the book was ok.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Killing Mr. Griffin

    This book was very suspenseful.It made you want to keep reading until you were finished.This is a good example about how one second something sounds like loads of fun then turns out to be awful.
    This story is good for teenagers and older.It shows you how popularity isn't everything and you can't trust anyone but yourself.The characters personalities are just like how teenagers are now.Even though this was written a while ago this could occur now.
    They drove as fast as they could to take him to camp to tease him.They didn't know he needed his medication to live.It was just a joke,they didn't really mean to hurt him or his family.
    This book was well written and decribed with details that made you feel like you were really there.This story has an ending that you would not expect.
    I would recommend this story to someone who likes a thrill and a good crime story once in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    A great book!!!

    This book is one of those books that you can't put down and stop reading it till the end. This book was one of the best that I have read in a long time it was caring, suspenseful, and daring. Lois Duncan did a good job on the layout of this it was set up to where you knew what was going to happen to Mr. Griffin once they take him in to the wilderness. This book keeps you reading the whole way through the book. From Susan McConnell luring Mr. Griffin to his car where they kidnap him. To them taunting him in the woods. This story will leave you a little bit at the end but that's how Lois Duncan writes most of her endings. This book is a good book from teenagers to high school kids. It is so because the kids are in high school and everybody in their life has had a teacher that they didn't like. Buy this book if you like mystery and thrilling books.This book is a great book and is a very GOOD read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Killing Mr.griffen

    You should never play with fire, theirs always going to be causes.
    Playing jokes, sometimes can be a bad thing for every one .
    They only meant to kidnap the English teacher not for him to be killed.
    Mr. Griffin had a very good life style, until Mark and his buddy's kidnapped him and killed him.
    "they only meant to scare him.. and not to kill anyone." Mrs. Griffins baby was born without a father and it was a boy. No matter what you should always be careful.

    Mark took Mr. Griffins pills, that he was using so he wouldn't die. When mark and his buddy's came back from the basketball game, they found Mr. griffin dead on the floor. Mark admitted that he took the pills because he knew Mr. Griffin already knew that it was mark and the people that he hung out with. They decided to bury him in the ground and keep quite about the whole thing. This book has the same genre "I know what you did last summer."
    Be prepared for anything in life, like mark he was in a miserable life style he was holding on to his past when he should have been strong.
    Mrs. Griffin is very sad, she's miserable now her baby boy doesn't have a father.
    Mark and his buddy's are now put in jail for first degree murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    A Surprisingly Good Book About a Psycopathic Plan

    The usual time that I spend snoring through the pages of a summer reading book, this year were spent visualizing and actually enjoying the book. Killing Mr.Griffin starts of with vivid discriptionsm, which carry on throughout the book. It begins with a lesser popular girl Susan McConnel who just wishes to be anyone but herself. Having a majorly obvious crush on a boy named David, she would easily do anything to get close to him. The one thing that the two had in common was the generally hated English teacher, Mr.Griffin. One day the colaboration of the popular group, (Mark, Jeff, and Betsy), led to the plan that started it all. But while taking advantage of David and Sue, their plot against Mr.Griffin went a bit too far. Parts of the ending were still a mystery but it was better that way. I think books are better that leave you thinking. I would deffinately recommend this book to someone, like me, who likes very detailed stories. The best thing zabout this book was probably how much you get attached to the main charactor. But I, however was cheering more for the antagonist rather than the "goody goody" charactors. It was a very good choice on my part for summer reading and I'm really glad that I took the time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    An Aweosme Novel

    Killing Mr. Griffin, written by Lois Duncan, is an excellent novel. It is about a group of kids who are planning on pulling prank on their English teacher. Instead, they accidentally kill him. As Lois Duncan said, "They didn't mean to kill him. But even the best-laid plans go wrong." This book is almost like a mystery. I had to read it for a summer reading book, and I loved it. I finished it in one day. It is a page turner, and it is filled with suspense. This is one of the most shocking, unpredictable books I have read in a while. The theme itself is excellent. The book is well written, and I would recommend it to all teenagers and young adults who like books that are mysterious, interesting, and have a lot of twists and turns in it. Over all, I think this book was pretty good. The only thing I would have liked to be different is the ending. The ending was good, but I wish it was slightly more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Killing Mr. Griffin Review

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Killing Mr. Griffin by Lois Duncan
    Title of review: Killing Mr. Griffin review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction
    Killing Mr. Griffin was about a group of High School kids trying to play a prank on their English teacher, but instead they ended up killing him. This taught me that you shouldn't be mean to anybody, with no intention of harm, or the consequences will be there, at the end of the road waiting until you reach them. I am not the type of girl that likes to read, at all. Surprisingly I enjoyed this book because it would surprise me with something new in every chapter, so it never kept me waiting for something to happen; that is the kind of book I like, the type that isn't boring.
    Description and summary of main points
    This book has 6 main characters, Susan, David, Mr. Griffin, Mike, Betsy, and Jeff. Jeff, Mike, and Betsy hate their English teacher so much and they wanted to scare him into being easier on them and not fail them in their senior year. They thought they would play a prank, and they needed to good kids to set up the trap. That is where Susan came in; they asked her to make a conference with him to ask her about her test paper. They needed David to convince her because she liked him. That is what led to him dying. I remember these quotes: "I want to kill him!" Jeff said angrily. Of course, he didn't mean it, but it turned out that they did. "Are you sure you want to do this, Susan?" Mark asked. He said this before trying to kill her because she was going to tell the police about the little prank.
    Evaluation
    As I have said, there are 6 main characters, David, Mike, Jeff, Susan, and Betsy. There are many themes, but the theme that I thought was most important was, don't be mean to anybody because the result might not have been on purpose, but it is horrible. I think the book achieved its purpose because the title sure explains what happened, and it surely gives you something to think about which it should, because it is a mystery. I am normally not the type that reads, but this was a great mystery book. He explained everything so well; you could see the story playing like a movie in your head.
    Conclusion
    This is a book that can't leave you bored because all of the events that happen, it surprises you all the time. You should read how all these kids kill Mr. Griffin. I would recommend this book to anybody who loves mysteries, because it is very descriptive, and entertaining. So, go ahead and get this book, if you are a fan of this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    Killing Mr. Griffin is a great book because of the twists and unpredictability. It is good for all ages. The book' main idea is that a small group of high-school students have a teacher that cannot be impressed. So they decide to play a prank on him

    The book was written by Lois Duncan, in 1978. Duncan has also written I Know What You Did Last Summer, and 45 other books. The author's point of view in the story is third person .This story is very realistic. It leaves some questions but you can answer them how you want. The best element of the story is the characters. The main characters are Susan McConnell, David Ruggles, Mark Kinney, Jeff Garrett, and Mr. Griffin. The setting of the story is 1970's New Mexico. The climax is when Mark has Susan tied up in a chair, and he sets her house on fire. The resolution is when the book tells that Mark will be tried separately, and the rest might face second degree murder. I think this is a very good book for all ages because of the unpredictability. It is unforgettable, and thrilling and is great to share with fiends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Killing Mr. Griffin

    I read the book Killing Mr. Griffin by Lois Duncan, the book was about a small group of high schoolers that have an English teacher that is tougher then trigonometry. The teacher Mr. Griffin pushes the teens to the edge until they can't take it anymore. I believe that Duncan writes this story to express past feelings about a teacher or superior that was similar to Mr. Griffin. Duncan was trying to write to a younger audience that is in school; with teachers that seem impossible to impress. The author's point of view is third person omniscient. This story for the most part is being told by David, Susan, Mr. Griffin, and a couple others; its important that they tell this story from their because it is being told from all their points of view on the situations at hand. The group time period was towards the end of the school year; I believe that it's accurate to a high schooler's life. There wasn't anything that was un-believable to my realization of life; because people die every day. I think that I connect most with Jeff, he is the jock that finds trouble with his some what trouble minded friends. I believe that the author exceeded his expectations on the book. I learned that you can't trust people you don't know, because their pasts can come back to haunt them. Mark played all of his friends to save his own skin; and his dad got the same treatment too. I Know What You Did Last Summer; the movie and book. Those two are perfect comparable stories, and they were written by Duncan as well. The title tells its readers that Mr. Griffin has a short life expectance. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good thriller or mystery; because it keeps you on the edge of your sit and makes you keep guessing.
    I believe that this book was enjoyable to read and made me wanting more. I agree with the message of the story, but don't believe it applies to every person you know. The ending blew me away, I didn't see it coming. 4, I feel that it deserved this rating; because it was a great read, but the beginning takes a while to take off. "How do you like it being on the ground for a change? It's not so great is it, being down where people can walk on you? Well, now you know how your students feel all the time" (Duncan ).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Lois Duncan Killing Mr. Griffin

    Lois Duncan has many hit books. Out of all of those books I read Killing Mr. Griffin. This book was the most thilling book I have ever read. I think as Lois writes these books she tries her best to but yourself in the main charcters problem. When I read this book I saw things different I couldn't put it down. If you like her books Read this!!!!!!! Killing Mr. Griffin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    Filled with Suspense

    The book was written the way I like most books to be, unpredictable. The story line made many turns that kept me reading. Although there was a little language I still would recommend this book to anyone wanting a suspence filled read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    the killing review

    I thought this book was fanominal if you had a choics between chronicoles of narinia and this i would very much so pick this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3