Customer Reviews for

Killing Pablo: The Hunt for the World's Greatest Outlaw

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Overall, I think that this book was absolutely great. The detai


Overall, I think that this book was absolutely great. The details in the book make it seem like you’re thinking that you’re somehow in the book or that you can picture any scene or character. The author, Mark Bowden, wrote the book with sections titled as six of some o...

Overall, I think that this book was absolutely great. The details in the book make it seem like you’re thinking that you’re somehow in the book or that you can picture any scene or character. The author, Mark Bowden, wrote the book with sections titled as six of some of the major events, The Rise of El Doctor, The First War, Imprisonment and Escape, Los Pepes, The Kill, and Aftermath. These events that happened had to do with Colombian history or with Pablo Escobar made it much easier to understand because it all connected together. There were many facts that I had never heard of, information about his whole entire life and the book had an index and sources. Something that was helpful, even for me, was that since some of the words were Spanish terms, they were italicized and there would be a definition right next to them. Throughout the book, it can be hard to understand since there was so much information, and since it’s a different country other than the United States, there’s a different history and understanding. I could still pick up really quickly on the literature as long as I went over it a couple of times and stuck it in my head. Another thing I didn’t like, was that there were a lot of characters or names mentioned in the book that I thought weren’t as important to go with a story having to do with Escobar so I think it wasn’t necessary. Although the United States isn’t involved as much throughout the book, it’s still really interesting to learn about Pablo Escobar in Colombia, which is why I recommend it for anyone who is interested to learn about this drug lord, violence or Colombian history. If I were to give a rating for this book, I would give it four out of five due to the interesting details and facts. In the end, I was so surprised to have enjoyed the book so much. Since my family is Colombian, I knew some stuff already about Escobar but I learned so much about not only Pablo Escobar but about the history and how things have gotten so bad in the past. You'll definitely want to learn about this devious, sneaky, powerful man who practically once ruled but was then killed in more of a simpler way than you think.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

killing pablo book review

Killing Pablo By Mark Bowden tells the story of Pablo Escobar. Pablo Escobar is part of the Colombian cocaine cartel, and is involved in a huge amount of murders that he denies having anything to do with. This story goes through Pablo's life from his days when he could ...
Killing Pablo By Mark Bowden tells the story of Pablo Escobar. Pablo Escobar is part of the Colombian cocaine cartel, and is involved in a huge amount of murders that he denies having anything to do with. This story goes through Pablo's life from his days when he could do anything or kill anyone and because people were so scared of him nothing was said, to the days coming up to his death where he had everyone in the world turned against him. Pablo Escobar killed hundreds and never thought twice about it. This story also meets with lots of people who's lives crossed paths with Pablo, and most times it was for the worse. I liked this book and i disliked the books for different reasons. I liked this book because it gave a great input into Pablo's Escobar Glory days and also when he fell from the high point he was at. I liked how the book didn't just start when the chase for Pablo began, but it started at the beginning while Pablo was just selling cocaine and killing people secretly. What I disliked about this book is how confusing it got with all the different police officers, political people, the ones that were murdered by Pablo and their grieving family's. There were so many names that sometimes i forgot who the book was talking about. The book also shows how Pablo's killing and involvement in the cocaine cartel affected so many people's lives. Pablo killed fathers, and sons, he killed parents and kids, and he took hostages and threatened their lives. Nobody was safe during the time of Pablo Escobar. Everyone was always worried for their family and their own lives. If Pablo was led to believe that someone was against him, even if it wasn't true they would be killed. Killing Pablo was a great book that showed every detail of what happened during the reign of Pablo. The book showed his family and how they were affected, how his son started to grow up just like his father. It showed how they actually believed Pablo was a good person, even though he was at fault for the pain all the families he killed a member of would live with for the rest of their lives. Living in Colombia was never, ever a guarantee of safety it was more a guarantee of someone you loved or yourself being killed. The story of Pablo Escobar described how one mans power and ruling over all of Colombia could be taken out of his hands when he went to far. The search for Pablo Escobar lasted many years and Pablo was in hiding going from place to place. He would never fight back himself he would hit where it hurt, but killing the family's of the men that were searching for Pablo. Pablo would never be in one place for long, never stay on the phone longer then a specific amount of time, and was very strict about giving out information. I highly recommend the story Killing Pablo by Mark Bowden.

posted by 1270501 on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Overall, I think that this book was absolutely great. The detai


    Overall, I think that this book was absolutely great. The details in the book make it seem like you’re thinking that you’re somehow in the book or that you can picture any scene or character. The author, Mark Bowden, wrote the book with sections titled as six of some of the major events, The Rise of El Doctor, The First War, Imprisonment and Escape, Los Pepes, The Kill, and Aftermath. These events that happened had to do with Colombian history or with Pablo Escobar made it much easier to understand because it all connected together. There were many facts that I had never heard of, information about his whole entire life and the book had an index and sources. Something that was helpful, even for me, was that since some of the words were Spanish terms, they were italicized and there would be a definition right next to them. Throughout the book, it can be hard to understand since there was so much information, and since it’s a different country other than the United States, there’s a different history and understanding. I could still pick up really quickly on the literature as long as I went over it a couple of times and stuck it in my head. Another thing I didn’t like, was that there were a lot of characters or names mentioned in the book that I thought weren’t as important to go with a story having to do with Escobar so I think it wasn’t necessary. Although the United States isn’t involved as much throughout the book, it’s still really interesting to learn about Pablo Escobar in Colombia, which is why I recommend it for anyone who is interested to learn about this drug lord, violence or Colombian history. If I were to give a rating for this book, I would give it four out of five due to the interesting details and facts. In the end, I was so surprised to have enjoyed the book so much. Since my family is Colombian, I knew some stuff already about Escobar but I learned so much about not only Pablo Escobar but about the history and how things have gotten so bad in the past. You'll definitely want to learn about this devious, sneaky, powerful man who practically once ruled but was then killed in more of a simpler way than you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    killing pablo book review

    Killing Pablo By Mark Bowden tells the story of Pablo Escobar. Pablo Escobar is part of the Colombian cocaine cartel, and is involved in a huge amount of murders that he denies having anything to do with. This story goes through Pablo's life from his days when he could do anything or kill anyone and because people were so scared of him nothing was said, to the days coming up to his death where he had everyone in the world turned against him. Pablo Escobar killed hundreds and never thought twice about it. This story also meets with lots of people who's lives crossed paths with Pablo, and most times it was for the worse. I liked this book and i disliked the books for different reasons. I liked this book because it gave a great input into Pablo's Escobar Glory days and also when he fell from the high point he was at. I liked how the book didn't just start when the chase for Pablo began, but it started at the beginning while Pablo was just selling cocaine and killing people secretly. What I disliked about this book is how confusing it got with all the different police officers, political people, the ones that were murdered by Pablo and their grieving family's. There were so many names that sometimes i forgot who the book was talking about. The book also shows how Pablo's killing and involvement in the cocaine cartel affected so many people's lives. Pablo killed fathers, and sons, he killed parents and kids, and he took hostages and threatened their lives. Nobody was safe during the time of Pablo Escobar. Everyone was always worried for their family and their own lives. If Pablo was led to believe that someone was against him, even if it wasn't true they would be killed. Killing Pablo was a great book that showed every detail of what happened during the reign of Pablo. The book showed his family and how they were affected, how his son started to grow up just like his father. It showed how they actually believed Pablo was a good person, even though he was at fault for the pain all the families he killed a member of would live with for the rest of their lives. Living in Colombia was never, ever a guarantee of safety it was more a guarantee of someone you loved or yourself being killed. The story of Pablo Escobar described how one mans power and ruling over all of Colombia could be taken out of his hands when he went to far. The search for Pablo Escobar lasted many years and Pablo was in hiding going from place to place. He would never fight back himself he would hit where it hurt, but killing the family's of the men that were searching for Pablo. Pablo would never be in one place for long, never stay on the phone longer then a specific amount of time, and was very strict about giving out information. I highly recommend the story Killing Pablo by Mark Bowden.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    I read Killing Pablo by Mark Bowden. The book was published in 2

    I read Killing Pablo by Mark Bowden. The book was published in 2001 by the Penguin Books. The theme
    of the book was about drugs and the biggest drug dealer there ever was. It was also a biography of Pablo
    Escobar's life. The book takes place in the wild and unsettling country of Colombia. This tells the story of
    how Pablo Escobar got his start and how it ended. With in that time he killed many people. He was apart
    of the Colombian Cocaine cartel. He was the world greatest outlaw. 

    Pablo Escobar was of course the main character. He was a short fat man with a mop of curly brown hair.
    Had a bit of a temper. If he wanted something he would get it no matter what the cost. He had an interest
    in teenage girls and drugs, especially cocaine. Overall Pablo was a very greedy of the fame and glory. 
    "Pablo didn't give up". I thought that this quote described how he felt when people were pressuring him 
    into dropping out of being apart of congress. 

    I didn't like this book because it was very boring and really graphic for me at some point. One of the graphics
    was when he had found out that one of his workers almost stole from him and he got really mad and 
    decided that he deserved to die. I also didn't like that either because I think that just because someone 
    doesn't mean like you doesn't mean you need to kill. I thought that all Mark was saying was a repeat of 
    what he was saying before. Overall I didn't like the book. I don't like biography books at all and when I 
    started to read this book I was hoping it was going too be something completely different. I chose this 
    book in the beginning because Pablo had sounded very interesting with everything he has done. I also 
    thought it would be a book that would surprise me and I would actually like it. It turns out what I was wrong. 


    While reading this book I learned that fame and glory isn't all that it is meant to be. When reading there 
    moments were graphic moments and a graphic moment fro me was when Mark wrote "Male victims 
    had their gentiles stuff in their mouths; and women had their breasts cut off and their wombs stretch 
    over their heads. Children were killed not bu accident  but slowly, with pleasure." Pablo Escobar could be 
    a winner in the eyes of Colombia but not in the world's eye. I also learned that hunting down someone takes
    the lives of many and the strength of an army. I wouldn't recommend this book at all because I believe that 
    my age group is not at the capacity of handling a reading like that. 
















     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    It looks like a minor detail. Nevertheless, it could be importan

    It looks like a minor detail. Nevertheless, it could be important. Mark Bowden mentions in his book Killing Pablo:

    "To entertain his closest friends, Pablo would hire ... beauty queens for evenings of erotic games.
    The women ... (had to experience) bizarre humiliations – (for example) swallowing insects..."

    In some time now, profilers working for the FBI have linked bizarre animal abuse and animal killing in childhood to
    some of the world's worst killers. Thus, thinking about Pablo Escobar's party pleasures – letting young women
    swallow insects, for example – one might come to the psychological conclusion that the "child" in Pablo, if one may say so,
    reappeared when he was relaxing, partying, playing with friends... In this mood of joking and playing around the perverse
    child showed up again. If this is true, it would be an important observation, psychologically. That a notorious serial killer or
    mass murderer can be defined by his murders is evident. But that we can see right to the bottom of his perverse nature by
    looking into the adult's childish/childlike party habits is a new improvement.

    Conclusion: Let adult murderers chillaxe and play and party with alikes and you will see, how deep his perversion goes, and
    where the whole thing began.

    Therefore, investigating and describing Pablo Escobar's and other criminals' party pleasures can be decisive. Maybe Mark Bowden
    has felt that. Good work! (relif orp)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I was always fascinated by the stories my brother would tell me

    I was always fascinated by the stories my brother would tell me about Pablo and this book confirms a lot of it. He had an interesting relationship with him and that's all I'm saying about that matter. If your interested in that dark world then give this book a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Follow the violent chase and epic take-down of the man deemed th

    Follow the violent chase and epic take-down of the man deemed the world's greatest outlaw, Pablo Escobar, in Mark Bowden's
    action-packed novel, Killing Pablo. Bowden has written an exceptional piece that takes the reader from the early days of Escobar's life,
    all the way through the outrageous manhunt and unexpected turn of events that left him dead. Pablo's story is actually quite remarkable.
     He grew up outside of Medellín, Columbia and led a fairly typical life. most of his influence was from his mother. He had great
    aspirations. He wanted to "be big". He began using drugs and smoking pot at a young age, and committed petty crimes. The first of
    which was sandblasting and reselling tombstones, and then he sold fake lottery tickets and even began car theft; killing and taking
     cars, selling the parts for profit. Not too long after, Pablo realized a new way to make money; selling drugs. He started small, but when
     a local dealer passed away, he took on that portion of the drug trade. He soon opened doors to the United States, and eventually
    became responsible for around 70% of the cocaine entering the US. His power was clear, he was in control of all crime in Medellín.
     He made sure people recognized his authority, he made money off of the people he stole from and made money off of the people he
    didn't for security. Pablo killed because he could, and it made him plenty of money. As his power grew, Pablo even became a part of the
     Colombian government as a member of congress. This gave him access to whatever he wanted, whenever he wanted it. When
    somebody opposed him, he knew how to manage it. He unleashed utter havoc on the nation, setting off bombs and committing
    countless murders. He bribed and killed those who dared threaten his authority. Eventually, Pablo informed the government that he
    would give up under one single condition: that he could construct a jail for himself to spend his sentence in. Reluctant, they accepted.
    And it wasn't long until he escaped. The following events are when things really began to pick up.

    This period of time is most effectively captured by Bowden. He tells of the hunt in great detail, including photographs, transcripts of
    phone conversations, and significant documents. The U.S. special forces and Colombia worked together to bring down Pablo,
    promising no consequences to anybody involved that would assist them. These fifteen months brought great difficulty to those who
    were working to take him down, and it took the United States Delta Force to finally take down the drug lord.


    Action-packed and deeply informative, Killing Pablo is an excellent novel. Bowden is able to tell his story and even include real media,
    creating a compelling book that leaves no questions unanswered. I would recommend it to anybody that enjoys reading crime stories,
    or anybody looking for a great non-fiction. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Ryan Spanish 1

    The novel ¿Killing Pablo¿ by Mark Bowden is an epic fast paced journey through the eyes of the Colombian government during Pablo Escobar¿s reign of terror. The action packed story gives the reader a lot of different information about Colombia¿s history. From early Assassinations of future Presidents to young Pablo muscling is way up through Meddellin¿s organized crime scene.
    The book explains Pablo¿s intentions which in a sense were not that bad. He himself only wanted better for the Colombia people but what he was willing to do to provide it was to much for not just Colombia but for the world to handle. He single handily built the biggest drug cartel in the world smuggling 70% of the cocaine brought into the United States.
    He managed to put himself into Colombia¿s political system becoming part of senate making Colombia a cocaine ruled country. Whatever he wanted he could have it. The United States demanded him be extradited immediately but any force sent after him could be paid off or killed.
    America¿s involvement became a major part to Colombia¿s eventual victory. Once Pablo became a wanted man and lost all credibility he became the worst terrorist the world had ever seen. He set off bombs everyday and his hit squads erased anyone who stepped in his path. It seamed like he was an unstoppable force.
    The United States involvement was extremely limited though. They were only allowed to gather Intel from there safe compound (although they often went on raids secretly). There technology monitored radio feeds and cell phone lines looking for Pablo¿s voice to come up.
    Eventually Pablo surrendered himself to the government after unleashing all he could on the Colombian people. His agreement to his surrender guaranteed that he would not be extradited and that he could build a jail for himself wherever he liked. Instead of building a jail he built a luxurious mansion which he had free reign to leave whenever he wanted.
    He escaped once again when the government planned to move him to an actually prison. Once again his terrorist acts continued and the Cocaine industry thrived. At that point though Delta Force (Army Special Forces) had enough. They decided to use Pablo¿s tactics against him.
    As police began killing Pablo¿s associates in gun fights, the U.S. decided to bribe the ones that were still alive with Benefits. They were promised that there records would be wiped clean if they were to help on the hunt for Pablo Escobar. Even Pablo¿s enemies came out of hiding to help thus creating a death squad of their own to strike back.
    Any act of terrorism that was committed upon the Colombia people was done back to Pablo¿s family. Bombing and killings went back and forth for months. This took away Pablo¿s moral and confidence.
    `The battle continued for many months until Pablo was eventually slain in his home town of Medellin. The story is a constantly moving forward with action packed chapters that jump off the page at you. Written like a Tom Clancy thriller, ¿Killing Pablo¿ is a must read for Colombian¿s who are curious about there countries recent history. Mark Bowden successfully wrote another great Action novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Getting the guy

    When writer Mark Bowden was working on his book Black Hawk Down, he keep seeing a gruesome photographs of agents posting with a shot up individual. Being curious he began to inquire as to the origin of this macabre pose and uncovered the truth. This is the violent ending of the most notorious drug king pin, Pablo Escobar.
    Tracing the origins to the political rumblings of the period known as "la violencia" in this beautiful South American country Colombia, of which my roots lie, Bowden takes you into the underworld of these drug smugglers. In their hey day of the 80s and 90s they even offered to pay off the Colombian debt in return for amnesty and free reign.
    Pablo Escobar was a ruthless humanitarian who bought allegiance through the code of "plata or ploma" (money or lead). This modern day gangster ruled with an iron fist and even came up with the terms of his own imprisonment, a plush prison campus in which he freely came and went.
    In the end, he cowardly ran and was killed like a dog. Killing Pablo: The Hunt for the World's Greatest Outlaw by Mark Bowden is a fascinating tale of the fast and furious drug under world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great Book kept me interested

    Mark Bowden really did a number in righting this book. It is remarkable how interested this book kept me. It was a story within a story. A story of how the US government helped take down Pablo Escbobar. This book told the story of Pablo using facts but kept me interested like it were any old book. Pablo was head of the Medellin cocaine cartel. He was assassinated by Colombian police with the helpof the American Government. This book was about Pablo's rise and fall in his career as head cartel. The author tells this story with such precision, its almost like your seeing it happen with your very own eyes. Pablo created one of the biggest drug bussinesses ever. He lived with the protection of all his workers and could pay and persuade others to look the other way. He was one of the most powerful people in Columbia even more powerful then the country itself. This book starts out telling how Pablo started and grew to become much more. But at some point he hit the top. He had everything and nothing could stop his power. He was protected from everything no matter what he did. He had the power to accomplish anything he wanted. One day all that came to a standstill and he was forced to run and hide. I really liked this book because of how deep it went into the whole situation itself. It made me see what was happening and i really liked all the situations brought to Pablo. It made the book both have action but tell the whole story of what happend to Pablo. I also liked how it showed pictures to describe his life and summarize his story. They were real photos of him throughout his life just telling his story. I honestly have to say this is one of the better books i ave read in a while. Pablo's life was very interesting and how much he affected the world around him really outstanded me. It was amazing the affect he had on really everything because of how powerful he was and the people he worked with or bribed. This book showed me that no matter how much power you have, if you abuse it, not even all that power can protect you. I would recomend this book to whoever likes to read. I think in general this book could keep the interest to anyone as long as they like to read. I enjoyed all the action in this book and I think whoever reads this book will enjoy it as much or maybe even more than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    Killing Pablo is an anabsoutely fantastic book!

    I recently read the exciting and fascinating tale of Killing Pablo: the Hunt for the World's Greatest Outlaw by Mark Bowden. The book was published by Penguin books in 2002 in New York City. To start off, this book was phenomenal! The subject of Killing Pablo is Colombian drug lord Pablo Escobar's rise to power from almost nothing to one of the most elusive predators in the history of drug trafficking. The United States were at unrest with Colombia at this time, due to all the smuggling of drugs into the U.S. The situation became so bad that the Colombian Government called in the United States Military to assist. This book is about that hunt and the troublesome tale of Pablo Escobar.
    Pablo grew up as a troubled child, always stealing and smashing things, but by the time he reached his young adulthood, he was into expensive drug trafficking. Soon after he plotted to make his drug cartel to be massive, so he got a seat on the Colombian congress, and was arrested son after, in 1992. He escaped prison a year later and continued his life on the run. He soon takes things to the next level with car bombings, murdering, and extreme drug trafficking. Bowden always puts a lot of action into his writing such as when "Tyson tried to flee out a back window to a fire escape, and he was trapped. He took a bullet right between the eyes." Soon after intelligence tracks down Pablo and the police surround him. How will El Doctor get himself out of this mess? You have to read this fantasic story to find out. Throughout this intense journey of emotional and mental surprises, Bowden is constantly filling your mind with great literature, fine writing skills, and most importantly, he teaches you many great things and essential knowledge.
    I learned a lot of information from reading this book. First off, I learned all about the life story of Pablo Escobar, how he manipulated many people, how he was able to get a seat on the Colombian congress, and many other interesting events. I also learned about a secretive group called Centra Spike. They were a leading intelligence agency that assisted in tracking down Pablo. I also learned more about SR-71 space ships. They were used in Cold War reconnaissance, but the war against Pablo escalated to such a level that these vehicles needed to assist. Another thing I didn't know was that George H.W. Bush had to declare war on Colombian drug cartels, which is pretty major.
    In conclusion, Killing Pablo was an absolutely fantastic novel about one of the biggest outlaws in the history of drug trafficking. I would definitely recommend this book to mainly high school students, but anyone older than that can also read and enjoy in learning about Pablo and his manipulative plot against Colombia. Mark Bowden is the perfect author for this novel, and he always does a fabulous job of telling a tale that often is not told. I also like how Mark Bowden uses Spanish words like El Doctor and La Catedral in his writing and every time a new term was introduced, he would frequently repeat these words, perfect for a student learning Spanish like myself. The book was an exciting tale about a time that very few people know about, and it was very phenomenal it. Another reason this book was fantastic was the astounding factually accurate information, it was awesome and appealing to me, and Mark Bowden does and excellent job informing people of events. If you enjoy action movies, stories, or books, Killing Pablo is a book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    Interesting book

    I read Killing Pablo: The Hunt for The World's Greatest Outlaw by Mark Bowden. This book centered around the life and career of Pablo Escobar. I really liked this book and would recommend it to anyone interested in war stories. The violent parts are second-to-none, and are numerous. For example, the author writes "Pablo's men set off a car bomb in Bogotá" (Bowden, 57). Later in the book, Mark writes "Then two large car bombs exploded in the El Poblado section of Medellín" (Bowden, 175).
    However, I would not recommend this to anyone who hates violence. Along with reasons previously stated, some acts of violence are just too detailed. For example, Mark writes "And before you killed a man, you first made him beg, scream, and gag. or first you killed those he most loved before his eyes" (Bowden, 14). The author never writes simply "they were killed". Mark always has to explain how they died.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Killing Pablo by: Mark Bowden

    Killing Pablo is a fascinating look into the life of Columbia's most notorious outlaw, Pablo Escobar. While still a young man, he forces his way into the drug trafficking industry at a time when cocaine use in America was at an all time high. He even manages to obtain a seat in Colombia's Congress. At the height of his power, the Medellin drug cartel which he led was more powerful than the Colombian government. Escobar's drug cartel would attempt to kill anyone that they decided to remove from the picture. Yet this cartel was destroyed, and Pablo Escobar was killed in a shootout with Colombian police. Mark Bowden tells the story of how this killing was possible. It was a cat and mouse game that lasted for about four years. The people who volunteered to hunt down Escobar, both American and Colombian, were putting their lives at risk. Escobar had the mindset of kill or be killed. It got to the point where he was willing to blow up airliners to save his cartel. This book was my favorite out of every book I've read. It is a very interesting book that makes you want to keep reading. There is a lot of action throughout Killing Pablo. If you like action movies and want a book to read that won't have you bored for one second, you should read this book. There is also information in this book about the history of Colombia and America that i did not know. If you like this book I would also recommend one of Mark Bowden's other books, Black Hawk Down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Boring

    though the book was very informational it delt with more of the political side of his story. very boring! it was very repetitive on most subjects and the story skipped around. did not care for it at all. would not recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    Killing Pablo: True Story Review

    Killing Pablo: The Hunt For The World's Greatest Outlaw by Mark Bowden Published by Penguin Books 2002
    The subject of the book is to find Pablo Escobar basically, which leads to a cat and mouse game in the end. Pablo Escobar was once one of the richest people in the world. When he was on the top of the world, he was basically the Medellin drug cartel which most believed, was more powerful then the Colombian government. The Medellin drug cartel could and would attempt to kill anyone who would interfere with their work. But what about Pablo you ask? How did he get started? He began as a high school drop out, stealing car's radios, rims, tires, most of the time the car itself. Then he began to sell cocaine, this is were his main money maker began. With the money he earned he supported his family. Then when his wealth exploded he began to spend his money on his home town and other towns to, fixing them up, building hotels, building better housing, and recreational places such as soccer fields. To many of Colombian citizens Pablo was hero, to outsiders he was a drug lord. Later on, Pablo began using tons and tons of dynamite to prove that the government was not in control, that he was in control. Then the United States of America got involved because, Pablo began selling cocaine Through a Florida drug dealer who told police and the DEA (Drug Enforcement Agency) that Pablo was using him to sel in America. With Special Operations Command on the way to Colombia. Which included the Centra Spike who has been listening into the Medellia Cartel, passing the information onto the Colombian's police force Eventually under the pressure Pablo Escobar turned himself in. This is where Mark Bowden hits home on why no one should make deals with people like Pablo. Then after his escape from prison the Colombian police found where he was hiding, with the help from Pablo's betraying king pin's.
    I personally did like this book, it says that the sotry is fast pace which is absolutely true. "Pablo was like a phantom. Even though he was ostensibly locked up, his power and menace was everywhere" (P. 114 Paragraph 2). To me that was, just too awesome. The way the Author describes it, is like having a movie to go along with the book. I learned that even thought profitable drugs SHOULD NOT be sold, but certain exceptions for medical reasons.

    I would recommend this book if you enjoy a true story about seeing the rise and fall of a drug dealer, also I would recommend this book if you liked Mark Bowden's other work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    Killing Pablo

    Killing Pablo: The Hunt for the World's Greatest Outlaw, recounts the years of terror for the Colombian people in the reign of Pablo Escobar, the king of Medellin drug cartel. The author, Mark Bowden reveals the inability of the government to control the drug trade, and the corruption of the Colombian elite.

    A heartless assassin, Pablo ordered beating and murders, yet showed himself to the public as a generous caring man, showing compassion to the poor. It seemed as if no one could stop this force of nature, even in prison he controlled his empire as it grew and grew. Prison, for Pablo, meant 50" wide screen TV's, custom toilets, a king sized bed and all the food he could eat. After seeing the true breadth of Pablo's operation, the president, Cesar Gaviria, pulled out all the stops, and brought the American government into the fight.

    Lead by Morris Busby, the American ambassador, the U.S. build a strike force to annihilate Pablo and his empire. With information from Centra Spike, one of the greatest reconnaissance forces of the time, and with manpower from the mysterious Delta Force, the strike team embarks on a fifteen month operation, to investigate and destroy Pablo Escobar.

    Bowden reveals all, in this gripping book of intrigue and intelligence. As the noose tightens around Pablo's neck, will the Colombian government hold its resolve, or will it topple under its own weight, leaving Pablo Escobar the king of Colombia?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Killing Pablo

    Killing Pablo
    By: Mark Bowden

    Published by the Penguin group in 2001.

    This is a book that is thrilled with the actions of deaths hunts and betrays. It is about a man named Pablo Escobar the most wanted man in Colombia. He was the 5th richest man in the world in the 1970's and he also was the biggest cocaine dealer shipping out to the U.S. A man by the name of Rodrigo Lara was determined to stop Pablo from his drug trafficking his was then killed three months after he had succeeded he was killed riding in a chauffeur driven Mercedes. After that had happened Pablo went to war against Colombia and he was no won the run with no money and little help from his friends. Then a new president came along and made a deal with Pablo, Pablo accepted after many different offers were made. So he was able to choose a location for his prison and he built it and he also chose what was inside of it. Then a man was ordered to send him to an actual prison instead of the palace kind that he had built. Then one day he escaped. They were able to find and destroy a major cocaine business that was ended in a terrific hunt for on man even though he held thirty million hostages and killed probably many of those hostages.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes killings, deaths, explosions, hunts, anything that involves US DEA agents, the CIA, Colombian DAS, DIJIN, Colombian secret police, and I would also recommended to any body in the forces or a police officer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Insightful and Entertaining

    This was very insightful and at the same time extremely entertaining. Bowden does an excellent job of sticking to facts and filling in with possibilities for the unknown, allowing the reader to decide for themselves. He describes the players and situations in such a manner as to provide the excitement of a suspenseful thriller.

    He seems to do a good job of representing both sides of the story, illustrating how a guy like Pablo Escobar could exist in such a powerful way in the first place and he doesn't hide the fact that the U.S. had the primary role in his rise to power (through our money and drug use)and his eventual demise(through our money and military/political efforts).

    I have many Colombian friends and now I understand a little better the incredible violence they had to live through.

    Thank goodness Colombia is now nothing like it was when Pablo's reign of terror and war with the government was taking place. It is a beautiful, safe country with some of the most interesting, colorful and hospitable people I've ever met, perhaps because of their tragic past. I recommend everyone visit once in their life, as it is truly an undiscovered gem.

    Rumor in Colombia is that the U.S. forces actually killed Pablo and that they then covered it up to look as if the Colombian forces killed him when the press arrived. Who knows for sure?

    But the book illustrates the challenges and potential for all Latin America countries, not just Colombia and the positive role the U.S. could take in helping them deal with their problems (which end up being our problems).

    The U.S. effort illustrated in "Killing Pablo" is one of too few positive moments in an otherwise embarrassing history of the U.S. meddling in Latin America's affairs. The book illustrates at least one success story in a score of failures and shameful behavior on behalf of our government's intervention in Latin America.

    Excellent book. I recommend for anyone who'd like a better worldview of complicated issues rather than the bubble gum diet we are fed on a daily basis by the U.S. media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Compelling Manhunt

    Killing Pablo, by Mark Bowden, is the true story of the hunt for the world's greatest outlaw, Pablo Escobar. Pablo was a major cocaine boss, shipping billions worth of the lethal drug to the U.S.A. over the span of his lifetime. This novel is mostly from the Government of Columbia's view, following their steps in their lengthy attempt of ridding Columbia of Pablo. After many violent rampages from Pablo, killing thousands, Columbia decides to take America's help in hunting down this fugitive. This novel deals with politics, concerning the U.S.A.'s involvement in worldly affairs. Although some people may disagree with America's involvement with Escobar, America considered him a national terrorist after he bombed an airplane headed toward America. So America ships military personnel over to Columbia for much needed help. This book has a technical- military writing style, following the CIA, Columbian Army, and Centra Spike (US secret service) in their compelling efforts to hunt down Pablo. With the weakness of the Columbian government, the hunt is very strenuous, making for an exciting and interesting point of view of the lengthy affair with the world's greatest outlaw. The author greatly portrays the drug lord's unique personality, showing his "calm, stress- free mentality". Pablo, said to be so calm, never under pressure, or stressed out, is forced to constantly be on the run as a fugitive of Columbia. He also cannot not travel anywhere else because he is too infamous, and no country wants the negative publicity of allowing him in. Therefore, he re- locates countless amounts of times, and cleverly adapts to his pursuers tactics, making for a riveting story of the world's greatest manhunt. I recommend this book to anyone who likes military style writing, as well as history, or someone who likes violence. This is a relatively easy read, and very informative, with accurate historical information throughout the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Pablo Escobar: The Godfather of Colombia

    Reading this book it's scary to think that it is a true story. It would be easy to believe that the story comes from a movie or television show, but each word is true. The story of Pablo Escobar is like that of a king. He makes a triumphant rise to the top and a then has a fall straight to the bottom. Some would say that he is still triumphant since his story is now apart of history to be remembered forever. Pablo was a man who wanted to be loved by all. This may very well be his downfall. In his attempts to become a politician and Columbia's "favorite son" he made himself known to the wrong people. His drug cartel would be one that rivaled many multimillion dollar companies. He would be proclaimed the richest man in the world. All of this lead him to fall at the cross hairs of the US government, a spot you don't want to find yourself. He did have control over Colombia, making the US pay billions to try and stop him. Eventually they would kill Pablo, ending his rule, but placing him in the hearts of Colombia forever. Bowden is a great author in his ability to draw his reader in. The way the information and stories flow makes it feel like you are standing on the sidelines watching it unfold. By the end of the book you feel as though you know Pablo Escobar and almost feel sad for him. The research Bowden did is very reliable and some of it may not have been available if no for this book. Definitely a must read for any history buff or someone who wants a good drama criminal read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    Solid

    Another solid book by Mark Bowden. Information flowed smoothly and accurately, in line with several other books which mentioned organizations and missions relating to the Escobar mission. Thorough research and very entertaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4