Customer Reviews for

The Killing Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

This book, the Killing Sea, by Richard Lewis, is about two teens, Ruslan and Sarah. Ruslan's father is a mechanic in Meulaboh, while Sarah's family is vacationing in Indonesia for Christmas. And then everything falls apart. It's December 26, 2004, and life will never be...
This book, the Killing Sea, by Richard Lewis, is about two teens, Ruslan and Sarah. Ruslan's father is a mechanic in Meulaboh, while Sarah's family is vacationing in Indonesia for Christmas. And then everything falls apart. It's December 26, 2004, and life will never be the same. In the aftermath of a killer tsunami, Sarah, her brother, Peter, and Ruslan must find a way to stay alive and find their missing loved ones. Richard Lewis' writing stays with you-I have reread this novel a dozen times, and it is truly unforgettable. I fall in love with the characters every time. This book is truly fantastic, though sometimes graphic when describing the tsunami and the corpses it leaves behind. You should be prepared to read this, because this is a story that you won't soon forget.

posted by 574046 on April 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

):

Write more! They need to be together...

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    Fantastic!

    This book, the Killing Sea, by Richard Lewis, is about two teens, Ruslan and Sarah. Ruslan's father is a mechanic in Meulaboh, while Sarah's family is vacationing in Indonesia for Christmas. And then everything falls apart. It's December 26, 2004, and life will never be the same. In the aftermath of a killer tsunami, Sarah, her brother, Peter, and Ruslan must find a way to stay alive and find their missing loved ones. Richard Lewis' writing stays with you-I have reread this novel a dozen times, and it is truly unforgettable. I fall in love with the characters every time. This book is truly fantastic, though sometimes graphic when describing the tsunami and the corpses it leaves behind. You should be prepared to read this, because this is a story that you won't soon forget.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    good book

    This was a great book. Very touching you could feel the chracters greif in their horrible tradegy. They were very determined to find and save their family. Very touching. And also has a little love connection between the two main chracters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    ):

    Write more! They need to be together...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    WOW!!!!!

    I am reading this in a reading group where i can only read so many chapters a week. It is soooooooooo... hard to not read ahead in this book! I would recommend this book to 4th grade and above. I cannot tell you peeps hou much i LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    It is very suspenseful and interesting to read a story like this

    It is very suspenseful and interesting to read a story like this by a survivor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "My Review" is actually Dash's Review by Interview:

    "My Review" is actually Dash's Review by Interview:

    Who was the main person?

    There was two, no three: Peter, Sarah and Ruslan.

    What did they do?

    At the beginning, the Tsunami came by. The rest of the book they were trying to find their dad. Ruslan is not with Peter and Sarah. Peter and Sarah were trying to find their dad, but Ruslan did find his father.

    Was that sad?

    Well, they know where he was, though. Because they were on the same island and their dad came up and said, “go to the village” and they did. They found a boat..

    Is this a true story?

    …they went to Meulaboh and that’s where they found Ruslan.

    So, this is from the Tsunami from December 6th, 2004? (Looking at author’s note.)

    The Author’s note said the tsunami got up to 100 feet high.

    Did you like it?

    Yea.

    What did you like about it?

    It was about a Tsunami… “that stunned the world.”

    Awesome. What are you going to read next?

    I don’t know. I need a nonfiction book for Ms. McCary’s class.


    He's reading The Lost Hero now. (?)

    For a review to help determine whether you'd like to read this great book or not, please see this great review HERE by Collected Miscellany. To quote:
    Despite its subject, and its at times harrowing details, The Killing Sea is an understated and simple story of friendship and generosity in the face of tragedy and a subtle reflection on the importance of family in our lives. Like The Flame Tree I would recommend it to young adults and regular adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Dont rush

    In honors english we had to read this in two days i have read a lot bigger books in less time but this is the kind that you dont want to rush through overall the killing sea is a well written and very informative book for young readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    D

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    WOW

    Ok, i read the lemony sniket books, and that was wonderful. But in school todat i was reading this book and i couldnt put it down. Even after the third period teacher tild me to stop reading. This was SO much bettter than the lemony snicket, no affence. I still love them. But i started today and i got over half way through, but it was the regular book, not for the nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is amazing! I couldn't put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    AMAZING!

    This book is about a teenage named Ruslan. He is a native of Aceh, Indonesia, who lives with his dad (mom died when he was little). It shows his exciting story about a dreadful tsunami that destroys his town. His father was away when this disaster hit, so he is hoping that he is safe. While Ruslan is searching for his missing father, he meets up with this American girl that was on vacation. She is alone with her sick brother, they are also missing their father and are in search of a good doctor. This book tells Sarah's (the American girl) perspective of the life changing tsunami. She knows things will never be the same again. Together her and Ruslan with help each other to make ends meet, and soon become friends.
    I am in 8th grade and I would recoment this book to any age rank from 10 and up. Even adults would love this book, about the struggle to survive not only the tsunami and the disaster it left behind, and much much more. After you start reading this book you wont be able to put it down, I know I couldn't. With out a question, I KNOW you should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mike for TeensReadToo.com

    THE KILLING SEA is a thrilling book that talks about a tsunami hitting the coast of Indonesia. There are three main characters involved in this fictionalized account: Ruslan, who is an Indonesian, and Sarah and Steve, who are Americans that are visiting the country. <BR/><BR/>Sarah's and Steve's mom and dad asked to see Ruslan's dad to repair their boat that they needed to have fixed. Ruslan doesn't have a mother because she died a few years ago so he has to work. His dad is a mechanic. <BR/><BR/>Then a tsunami hits the coast. Ruslan knows that his dad is working on an oil tanker out at sea so he thinks he is okay. Sarah and Steve are on their boat when the tsunami hits. They run for their lives but lose track of their parents. <BR/><BR/>The book tells you those two stories and what they do after the tsunami. When an exciting part happens, they switch over to another point of view to make you want to read more. <BR/><BR/>I loved THE KILLING SEA and I hope when you read it you do, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    The Killing Sea : A Novel by Richard Lewis

    In my own opinion I beleive that The Killing Sea by Richard Lewis is a wonderful and powerful book . I am in 7th grade and i thought it was fun to read about all the excitment and adventures in the chapters. However I do not suggest this book to young readers because some of the chapters are really harsh and even a little scary for some readers . But really over all it was a absoulutley fantastic book . ~ A seventh grader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    a reviewer

    THE KILLING SEA is a thrilling book that talks about a tsunami hitting the coast of Indonesia. There are three main characters involved in this fictionalized account: Ruslan, who is an Indonesian, and Sarah and Steve, who are Americans that are visiting the country. Sarah¿s and Steve¿s mom and dad asked to see Ruslan's dad to repair their boat that they needed to have fixed. Ruslan doesn¿t have a mother because she died a few years ago so he has to work. His dad is a mechanic. Then a tsunami hits the coast. Ruslan knows that his dad is working on an oil tanker out at sea so he thinks he is okay. Sarah and Steve are on their boat when the tsunami hits. They run for their lives but lose track of their parents. The book tells you those two stories and what they do after the tsunami. When an exciting part happens, they switch over to another point of view to make you want to read more. I loved THE KILLING SEA and I hope when you read it you do, too. **Reviewed by: Mike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    better than i thought

    when i first read the title and the summary on the back i didnt think that i would like this book. After i read a couple chapters i was hooked on it. not only is based on true events but it opened my eyes more to see how most of these people suffered to survive. this is a good book that i would recommend to anyone who loves a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2