Customer Reviews for

The Killing Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

This book, the Killing Sea, by Richard Lewis, is about two teens, Ruslan and Sarah. Ruslan's father is a mechanic in Meulaboh, while Sarah's family is vacationing in Indonesia for Christmas. And then everything falls apart. It's December 26, 2004, and life will never be...
This book, the Killing Sea, by Richard Lewis, is about two teens, Ruslan and Sarah. Ruslan's father is a mechanic in Meulaboh, while Sarah's family is vacationing in Indonesia for Christmas. And then everything falls apart. It's December 26, 2004, and life will never be the same. In the aftermath of a killer tsunami, Sarah, her brother, Peter, and Ruslan must find a way to stay alive and find their missing loved ones. Richard Lewis' writing stays with you-I have reread this novel a dozen times, and it is truly unforgettable. I fall in love with the characters every time. This book is truly fantastic, though sometimes graphic when describing the tsunami and the corpses it leaves behind. You should be prepared to read this, because this is a story that you won't soon forget.

posted by 574046 on April 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

):

Write more! They need to be together...

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    good book

    This was a great book. Very touching you could feel the chracters greif in their horrible tradegy. They were very determined to find and save their family. Very touching. And also has a little love connection between the two main chracters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "My Review" is actually Dash's Review by Interview:

    "My Review" is actually Dash's Review by Interview:

    Who was the main person?

    There was two, no three: Peter, Sarah and Ruslan.

    What did they do?

    At the beginning, the Tsunami came by. The rest of the book they were trying to find their dad. Ruslan is not with Peter and Sarah. Peter and Sarah were trying to find their dad, but Ruslan did find his father.

    Was that sad?

    Well, they know where he was, though. Because they were on the same island and their dad came up and said, “go to the village” and they did. They found a boat..

    Is this a true story?

    …they went to Meulaboh and that’s where they found Ruslan.

    So, this is from the Tsunami from December 6th, 2004? (Looking at author’s note.)

    The Author’s note said the tsunami got up to 100 feet high.

    Did you like it?

    Yea.

    What did you like about it?

    It was about a Tsunami… “that stunned the world.”

    Awesome. What are you going to read next?

    I don’t know. I need a nonfiction book for Ms. McCary’s class.


    He's reading The Lost Hero now. (?)

    For a review to help determine whether you'd like to read this great book or not, please see this great review HERE by Collected Miscellany. To quote:
    Despite its subject, and its at times harrowing details, The Killing Sea is an understated and simple story of friendship and generosity in the face of tragedy and a subtle reflection on the importance of family in our lives. Like The Flame Tree I would recommend it to young adults and regular adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Dont rush

    In honors english we had to read this in two days i have read a lot bigger books in less time but this is the kind that you dont want to rush through overall the killing sea is a well written and very informative book for young readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    The Killing Sea : A Novel by Richard Lewis

    In my own opinion I beleive that The Killing Sea by Richard Lewis is a wonderful and powerful book . I am in 7th grade and i thought it was fun to read about all the excitment and adventures in the chapters. However I do not suggest this book to young readers because some of the chapters are really harsh and even a little scary for some readers . But really over all it was a absoulutley fantastic book . ~ A seventh grader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    better than i thought

    when i first read the title and the summary on the back i didnt think that i would like this book. After i read a couple chapters i was hooked on it. not only is based on true events but it opened my eyes more to see how most of these people suffered to survive. this is a good book that i would recommend to anyone who loves a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1