Customer Reviews for

A Killing Tide (Romantic Suspense, Thriller)

Average Rating 4
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Read it in one sitting!

With a little extra time after dinner, I sat down to start A Killing Tide and finished the book just before midnight. Great characters, wonderful imagery, and a tightly woven plot kept me turning the pages. Not quite what I'd planned for my evening, but I just couldn't ...
With a little extra time after dinner, I sat down to start A Killing Tide and finished the book just before midnight. Great characters, wonderful imagery, and a tightly woven plot kept me turning the pages. Not quite what I'd planned for my evening, but I just couldn't put it down it was so good.

My only issue with PJ Alderman is that after reading the prologue and first chapter of the follow up book, I want to read it NOW! :) Please tell me it'll be available soon?

posted by StaceyJoyNetzelSN on November 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just something to read

Just an okay kinda book. No real threals in this book. It read good, but no moments where you couldnt put the book down or call in sick at work to continue to read.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Read it in one sitting!

    With a little extra time after dinner, I sat down to start A Killing Tide and finished the book just before midnight. Great characters, wonderful imagery, and a tightly woven plot kept me turning the pages. Not quite what I'd planned for my evening, but I just couldn't put it down it was so good.

    My only issue with PJ Alderman is that after reading the prologue and first chapter of the follow up book, I want to read it NOW! :) Please tell me it'll be available soon?

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    a great read that grabs tighter and tighter

    I love nothing better than a rainstorm when I'm inside with a cup of hot tea and a new book by a new, to me, author. Today I got to discover A Killing Tide by PJ Alderman.


    The great state of Oregon and the city of Astoria are as much characters in the story as are Kaz Jorgensen captains her family's fishing trawler, her best friend Lucy McGuire Astoria police detective, Michael Chapman the new fire chief/arson investigator, and the all important Zeke, German Shepherd and canine companion.



    The descriptions of rain and the kinds of rain that fall in Oregon and along the coast made me want to make sure I had an umbrella handy; the rain falls and just keeps coming.


    A Killing Tide raised several questions: Small towns are supposed to be safe places where people look out for each other, but do they really? Who will fall prey to corruption and why? Can people remain unbiased in the face of the facts that don't quite add up and local prejudices? Will a family business survive despite the odds?


    The women hold the whole piece together. The fact Kaz and Lucy are strong, have 'non-traditional' careers and do them well, and are loyal. These women play with the big boys and hold their own in very credible ways.


    The story starts with a strong premise and just keeps building. If it were a piece of music, you could hear the tympani projecting a strong beat in the background in the beginning. By the time you get to the crescendo, the beat has turned into a long roll across three kettle drums. The further I read, the more powerful the story, characters, and interactions became. By the time I got to the climax, I didn't want to put it down. I wanted to know all of the details: Who was involved and for how long? Who would be scarred from the experience? Who would heal and how long it would take?


    Rumor has it that this is the beginning of a series. I can't wait to find out: Does the coffee get any better? Will Lucy wind up with Gary? Will Zeke be part of future investigations?


    I, for one, am looking forward to more from this author.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Can't put it down!

    Fast moving, great setting, engaging characters, just altogether the kind of involving story that keeps you reading. Fun to learn more about the Pacific Northwest and the Columbia River. Just enough romance to keep you caring about the characters, and even a great dog! Highly recommend.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    A great read

    This book moves right along keeping you wanting to turn the next page to read more. A very great read....

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    Can't wait for River Phantom to be released

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    This was a great read. But before you start reading it make sure you have nothing to do for a while because you will not want to put it down. I sure hope this turns into a series of books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Loved it

    I really liked this book. The characters were well written Great story line. Romance and mystery. Had everything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Great story. Would be a good movie, hard to stop reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    The mystery was suspenseful, it was well written, and characters were well developed. Definitely worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Must Read!!!!! GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    Excellent, Excellent Book....Couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Terrific!

    Loved this book. I hate to pay full price for anything and was looking for something with great reviews/low cost. Almost felt guilty for the low price because this book is awesome. I will read everything PJ Alderman writes, as I do with the other authors I love, Janet Evanovich, David Baldacci, Lilian Jackson Braun. If you like them, you will love this book. Full of intrigue, mystery and the northwest with a love story too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Loved it!

    It's hard to believe this is a first book, it's so good. Alderman did everything right and I didn't want to stop reading. Kaz Jorgensen takes time out from her successful business in San Francisco to return home to Astoria, Oregon to help save her twin brother's fishing business. Then her twin's best friend is killed, he's the suspect and nowhere to be found. Kaz can't believe he did it, and sets out to prove it. Michael Chapman, the town's new fire chief, is a former top arson investigator from Boston. He came to Astoria to escape memories of his fiancée dying in a fire set by a revengeful arsonist. Now he's falling for another woman whose life might be in danger, and he'll do anything to save her. The characters come to life with strengths and flaws and layers. Alderman peels off the layers sloooowly, keeping the reader in page-turning suspense. The description is evocative, so well done I could see it in my mind. The romantic tension builds naturally, from a spark to a flame. And the writing is brilliant. I'd love to read more stories about Astoria and the other characters in the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Very, very good!

    When I finished the book, I was disappointed there wasn't an excerpt from the next book at the back. This first offering from the author is excellent! I find myself wanting to read Gary's story as well as Michael's cop friend's story. Bravo to J.P. for an excellent read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Just something to read

    Just an okay kinda book. No real threals in this book. It read good, but no moments where you couldnt put the book down or call in sick at work to continue to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Edge of your seat!

    I couldn't seem to put this book down. There were so many twist in the plot that kept you on the edge of your seat. It had a nice balance of thrill and romance. I look forward to the squeal this summer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    really good

    good book. thought i wouldnt like it - but really did. cant wait for 2nd book. Says summer 2011 - but cant find it out yet. anyone know when?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    A real page turner - too good to put down!

    This book was totally entertaining - suspense mixed with romance and mystery. This is an author I have never before read and I would recommend it for anyone used to reading romance but want excitement as well. In fact, I am ordering her sequel right now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Great book!

    I loved this book. The characters were great and I could not put it down. Author is very good, will look for more from P.J. Alderman. Highly recommend reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly recommended - you will enjoy it.

    This book and author got my attention right away from the first chapter. Kept me guessing all the way till the end with the suspense of both the killings and the romance. I will definitely want to read more of this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13