Customer Reviews for

Killing Time

Average Rating 3
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

New Place for a Wonderful Author

Caleb Carr's third novel grabs the reader's attention with its first page. Although the subject is decidely new for Carr, his writing style remains similar to the novels The Alienist and The Angel of Darkness. Killing Time grabs you from the start, and doesn't seem to l...
Caleb Carr's third novel grabs the reader's attention with its first page. Although the subject is decidely new for Carr, his writing style remains similar to the novels The Alienist and The Angel of Darkness. Killing Time grabs you from the start, and doesn't seem to let go until long after you've finished reading it. Not only does it have a fascinating story line, it also exposes the dangers that could come along with people's continued use of the internet. Some of the characters lack depth, however, which is a little sad because Carr's other novels were so detailed. My only other complaint with Killing Time is that it is too short. The ending will surprise you and make you question not only your role in this new information age, but also the ever rising cynicism about the human race. As with all of Carr's novels I recommend reading it slowly. Though it is tempting to let it become a page turner, a lot will be lost if thought is not put into the reading.

posted by Anonymous on March 5, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good but no 'Alienist'

I thoroughly enjoyed Carr's other fiction works, 'The Alienist' and 'Angel of Darkness' both dealing with early 20th century serial killers. His foray into Science Fiction however left me wanting for another sequel to the two earlier books, instead. 'Killing Time' was n...
I thoroughly enjoyed Carr's other fiction works, 'The Alienist' and 'Angel of Darkness' both dealing with early 20th century serial killers. His foray into Science Fiction however left me wanting for another sequel to the two earlier books, instead. 'Killing Time' was not bad and I suppose for SciFi Readers maybe it was better. To be fair, I am not a big Sci Fi enthusiast. If yoiu are like me and enjoyed 'Alienist' and 'Angel of Darkness', consider 'The Poet' by Michael Connelly, instead.

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    New Place for a Wonderful Author

    Caleb Carr's third novel grabs the reader's attention with its first page. Although the subject is decidely new for Carr, his writing style remains similar to the novels The Alienist and The Angel of Darkness. Killing Time grabs you from the start, and doesn't seem to let go until long after you've finished reading it. Not only does it have a fascinating story line, it also exposes the dangers that could come along with people's continued use of the internet. Some of the characters lack depth, however, which is a little sad because Carr's other novels were so detailed. My only other complaint with Killing Time is that it is too short. The ending will surprise you and make you question not only your role in this new information age, but also the ever rising cynicism about the human race. As with all of Carr's novels I recommend reading it slowly. Though it is tempting to let it become a page turner, a lot will be lost if thought is not put into the reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2000

    Good but no 'Alienist'

    I thoroughly enjoyed Carr's other fiction works, 'The Alienist' and 'Angel of Darkness' both dealing with early 20th century serial killers. His foray into Science Fiction however left me wanting for another sequel to the two earlier books, instead. 'Killing Time' was not bad and I suppose for SciFi Readers maybe it was better. To be fair, I am not a big Sci Fi enthusiast. If yoiu are like me and enjoyed 'Alienist' and 'Angel of Darkness', consider 'The Poet' by Michael Connelly, instead.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    Not Carr's best

    I am a tremendous fan of Caleb Carr's, yet this did not live up to my expectations. It is quite different from The Alienist and the Angel of Darkness. Not only is this science fiction as opposed to history (note: i'm not a big fan of 'time travel' books), the plot and characters were not as captivating as his previous work. If you enjoy futuristic novels, perhaps you'll appreciate this more than me. I'll look forward to Carr's next historical thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting dark futuristic SF

    By 2023, the force of the Internet lies in misinformation and outright lies that easily fools the general public into accepting what it says as Gospel truth. Many individuals stare at their monitor in the same manner couch potatoes watched TV in the previous century. The world is a bad place where excesses have gored the environment and Mother Nature seems bushed. Few places seem pure of the IT disease, but those isolated spots mostly in Africa and Asia are breeding grounds for deadly outbreaks. <P>Historian and best-selling writer Gideon Wolfe learns that the assassination of President Emily Forrester five years ago was digitally altered to trick the public. The widely viewed web page containing the killing is very popular but has split an already divided nation further. Gideon tries to prove his contention only to meet a group of scientists and military experts who were the professional liars behind much of the official public misinformation floating on the Net. Now they fear their web of deceit has released the nuclear genie and unless they can rebottle it, Armageddon will follow. <P>The concept of KILLING TIME is brilliant with the Internet serving as an information source that contains many misleading items and outright lies that seem veracious. The 1984-like story line slows down a bit due to too many cliffhangers (sort of like a nineteenth century serial novel) disjointing the pace. However, the description of the future world and the players surfing the Internet are intelligently described and provides the entertainment that makes Caleb Carr¿s dark tale worth reading by futurologists. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    From the brilliant Alienist to this trash

    How could the man who created The Alienist write so badly. Not only bsd writing but horrendous story. Could pass for an offering from a high school creative writing class. What professional writer keeps saying: And what happened next will astound you? Caleb, come on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Doucher

    Total doucher

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A good concept but fell short...way short.

    'I really liked the premise of this book. It was based on a thought provoking question: have the information age and technology become the major downfalls of our civilization? Can we use those same technology and information abilities to show mankind how we have been decieved? Although the author's story revolved around these 'information terrorists' and their escapades I kept wondering, 'Where was the editor?' and I wondered why he portrayed the main character, Gideon, as decisionally incompetent when the author seemed to think he was the common sense strain of the story. I don't feel the story was very thought out. The book was originally intended as a serial story in a publication and possibly that is why it seemed very jumbled with too much information crammed into a tiny space. I read as far as 75 pages from the end. My fellow book club members did not care for it either and they all stated it seemed the author ended the book with a 'it's time to end it, what is a quick way I can do it?' manner.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    A Change of Pace

    Mr Carr picks up the ponderous pace of his historical novels to warn us about the uncritical love of information. Malcolm is remniscent of Captain Nemo, but several social issues are reasonably extrapolated. The quick pace makes for an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Carr should stick to history.

    I hadn't read a Caleb Carr book in a while and was pleasantly surprised to run across 'Killing Time' in the local library. Things became less pleasant once I started reading. It was quite apparent throughout the book that Carr was simply wrapping his own social commentary in trite science-fiction devices. It's the closest I've come in a very long time to putting a book down before I finished it. One can only hope that Carr has given up on writing serial science-fiction and is tucked away somewhere working on his next brilliant historical piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    WHEN CAN WE EXPECT THE MOVIE?

    AFTER THE FIRST FEW PAGES, IT SEEMED TO ME THAT CALEB CARR WROTE THIS BOOK IN HOPES IT WOULD BE MADE INTO A MOVIE. I COULD ALMOST VISUALIZE THE SCENES OF DESTRUCTION AND HIGH-TECH GADGETRY THAT HAVE BECOME POPULAR IN TODAY'S MOVIES. I FINISHED THE BOOK, BUT WAS OVERALL DISAPPOINTED, ESPECIALLY THE IMPLAUSIBLE ENDING WHICH SEEMED INCONSISTENT WITH THE BEGINNING. I'TS HARD TO BELIEVE THAT THIS IS THE SAME AUTHOR THAT WROTE 'THE ALIENIST'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah, Blah

    Carr is an exceptional historian, but really lousy at this furturistic stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    At last! A new version of 7000 leagues under the sea

    This book, at first interesting and alarming, is extremely dissapointing at the end. Essentially, it is a rewrite of Verne's 7000 leagues under the sea, with sex. It is also a little like other pulps of years ago. But the ending is just awful, and ruins the somewhat promising dystophian future story. I was caught up in it, but very annoyed at the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    Very disappointing

    I couldn't wait to read this book after reading Carr's Alienist and Angel of Darkness. I loved those books but was very disappointed in this one. Carr seems to have a knack for writing historical novels and should stick to them. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2002

    Not Like the First Two

    I was very disappointed with this book. Nowhere near the quality of his first two novels, Mr. Carr's vision of the future makes for a fast read, but not much else. There is, however, an eerie undertone given the recent events in Afghanistan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2001

    A disappointing junior try

    I have been an avid fan of Caleb Carr's from the moment I picked up The Alienist making it difficult for me to admit I found this book to be disappointing. Carr breaks format creating a story about our future. In doing so, he lacks the ability to create the in-depth historical pictures that he presented so well in his first two novels. The reader does not get the level of intimacy with the characters as previously accomplished. I can't say I cared about any of these characters or what happened to them. Overall, the story was not awful, but I did not find it to be up to par with his previous work. I wouldn't deter Carr's fans from reading this book, but I do advise that you may be disappointed by the expectation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Huh! I Don't Get It?

    Did I miss something? In the beginning I was intrigued by this book, wondering where it was going and what it was going to say. Well, I¿m still wondering. Mr. Carr must have wanted to shake he reputation for writing stories set in the past really bad! Well he did get the last of that sentence right, really bad. There is no real point to this story. The writing is not bad and he does have a good beginning characterization. But, for the most part, the reader only gets a superficial look at the characters. The ending was dismal. Almost like the author say, ¿well that is enough pages, I need to end this thing `. I really hope that Mr. Carr doesn¿t plan on another one of these ¿future¿ books. Please Mr. Carr, go back to the 1800¿s. Those books are wonderful. You are at your best in that time. And please readers don¿t waste your time on this book. Let alone your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2001

    AUTHOR'S READING ADDS TO UNDERSTANDING

    Ofttimes, when an author reads his or her own work a heightened understanding, a richer intent is added. Such is the case with Caleb Carr's latest, 'Killing Time.' Mr. Carr imbues his rendering with a chilling sureness. The author's first two novels, 'The Alienist' and 'The Angels Of Darkness' were set during New York City's Gilded Age. This time out Mr. Carr takes the reader some years hence - the year 2023 to be exact when Dr. Gideon Wolfe, a professor and criminal profiler comes upon a photo of a recent presidential assassination that has been digitally altered. In Dr. Wolfe's day public opinion is largely dictated by the Internet. Opposing sides are vying for popular favor. 'Information,' as Mr. Carr has pointed out, 'is a double-edged sword. You have to know how to look underneath it.' In addition to information and its dispersal, 'Killing Time' also tackles financial uncertainty, a depletion of natural resources, and mass murder. It's a rather fearsome but fascinating take on the Information Age - read superbly by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    Extremely Disappointing

    I expected more from Caleb Carr after his other two works of fiction. This one reads like Jules Verne meets Sheri Tepper. Both lose. He took a short story premise and spun it into narrative that does not work on any level. This is just not worth reading. On this one, Carr was the victim of bad advice from his editors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2001

    the book is one to share

    the characters and information are very realistic ,the book is one you couldn't get enough off ,i hope these character reappear in another novel soon,excellently writtn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    A Good Writer Fails

    I absolutely loved The Alienist and The Angel of Darkness, so I rushed out to get the hardcover of this latest Caleb Carr novel. Would that I had waited and saved myself the money. Reading like a mix of '20,000 Leagues Under the Sea' and a sixth grade creative writing project, with cardboard characters and simplistic science, the novel moseys along and goes no where. The plot is moved along by neat things that the good guys ship can do. Not enough to make a story, Caleb. This book is trite and boring. I am incredibly surprised to see ANY positive reviews from other readers. Everyone should avoid this book like the plague. I won't even lend this to anyone. I would feel awful subjecting anyone to the torture of this book. And, to be quite honest, in all the time I have had this book I have still not reached the end. I don't think that I ever will -- time is too precious to waste on something so awfully, awfully bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2