BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Killing Time

Average Rating 3
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great!

    I really like this book. It seems to get rather mixed reviews wherever I look, but it is one of my favorites by this author. A romantic suspence tale about a contemporary cop, a woman from the future, and the secrets that lie in a missing time capsule. Knox was a great character, and Nikita's facsination with contemporary technology and everyday items was a lot of fun. One scene I particularly like is when Knox buys Nikita a cell phone and it so excited about telling her all its features, he doesn't think about how simple our technology seems to a women from 200 years in the future. And I loved the scene where Nikita tells Knox about the Pope going to the moon. Fans of romantic suspence and time travel tales should definitely give this a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Maybe it was knowing what to expect

    Since I¿d read the reviews and knew this book was about time travel and sci-fi, both of which interest me, I liked it. Granted there were a few loose ends but they were minor. The character of Knox caught on with me right away, Nikita took a bit longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    Not so bad.

    I love Linda Howard books and after reading the reviews here I was a little worried about what people had to say. But I decided to make my own judgement since everyone thinks differently. So I picked up the book and I have to honestly say the first 100 pages were a little slow compared to her other books that keep you riveted right from the start. But it picked up and I could see the Howard spice within the characters. It became a good read and I was happy I did not put it away. So use your own judgement and I think you won't be let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    A NICE CHANGE FROM THE NORM

    After reading son of the morning it got me hooked on reading howards new sci-fi book and this one was worth the buy. I just wish the plot was a little more deep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    A WELL READ MIX OF ROMANCE AND TERROR

    Linda Howard, author of the New York Times bestseller 'Kiss Me While I Sleep,' doesn't waste a minute in grabbing listener's attention with the opening scenario in 'Killing Time.' A time capsule has been buried since 1985 by the flagpole on the courthouse lawn. One morning it's gone - only a granite marker turned over and a gaping hole. As camera footage is viewed, it's a bit of a 'Now you see it, now you don't' because in what appears to be a matter of seconds the marker is in place, then a sudden white flash and poof the capsule is gone. Impossible? Of course. But we all know want to know how and maybe most importantly why. That's not the only mystery stemming from that night - someone who contributed to the time capsule is found murdered. It doesn't look like there was any struggle nor any signs of a break-in. As others who placed items in the time capsule are murdered, chief investigator Knox Davis realizes he's facing the challenge of a lifetime and perhaps a psychopath, too. Voice performer Joyce Bean gives of a fine reading of 'Killing Time,' a story spiced with romance, terror, and a bit of the supernatural. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Versatile Writer appreciated by versatile reader

    I have never been disappointed by any Linda Howard book and am not now. She was and still is one of my favorite authors. Yes it is different than some of her other books. She has a great imagination and this book took me away and let me explore a different theme. Reading this book was like going to a new and different vacation place. You have to be willing to spread your wings and try something different once in awhile. It is not in her normal parameters but still a good book. I do not normally care for time travel but Linda did a very good job with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Suspense with a Twist

    In Killing Time, author Linda Howards has branches out and combines suspense, romance, and a bit of science fiction. I commend her for taking a chance and not sticking to the tried and true formula that has made her famous. The contents of a time capsule buried twenty years earlier are missing. There's a murder and no suspects. Out of the clear blue, FBI agent Nikita Stover enters the picture. But there's no record of her existence. Oh, that's easily explained, she's from the future and has come to assist the lead investigator, Knox Davis. Knox is smitten, but what far can he go with a woman who is apt to evaporate in a puff of smoke? This was an exciting read filled with edge-of-your seat terror and I look forward to more of Howard's work in this unique genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    so imaginative

    I really like this book. Ms. Howard is quite creative. The futuristic Nikita (and the future from which she comes)is very believeable, and she does a good job of explaing things so the reader doesn't get lost with the time paradoxes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Different does NOT mean bad.

    After seeing all of the negative reviews, I almost didn't get this book. Yes, it is different than the author's other books because of the time travel aspect. The time travel complicates what would otherwise be a fairly tame thriller. Nikita is a charmingly vulnerable heroine outside of her normal environment. In spite of the problems she encounters, her enthusiasm for experiencing 'historic' life is contagious. I enjoyed the subtle humor of Nikita's language difficulties. Knox is a kind, thoughtful man with a mind for solving puzzles, making him open to accepting Nikita's story. Their romance, with all its complications, is perfect. Nikita's revelations about the future provoke Knox and also the reader to challenge assumptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1