Customer Reviews for

Killing Willis: From Diff'rent Strokes to the Mean Streets to the Life I Always Wanted

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Raw, Honest, and Inspiring

    Knowing only that he had been on my favorite show as a kid and had been arrested as an adult, I was not prepared for the rollercoaster of emotion this book provided. Todd lets the reader into the deepest, darkest parts of his mind, thoughts, emotions, confessions, and life: the parts most of us are afraid to look at in ourselves, much less admit to others. The voice is so raw and honest, I felt as if I was snooping in someone's personal diary and that I should not be privileged to the information I was reading. The reality of his story is harsh, and at times I felt as if I were a child who should cover my ears while someone told a story I couldn't handle or shouldn't hear. He lays it all out on the table and holds NOTHING back. As painful as it was to read, I couldn't put it down and read it all in one day!
    I cried so much reading this book that I was sick. I felt so terrible for him, and all the kids like him still in these situations, that there were times I had to stop and walk away. He makes intelligent and self-aware connections to how abuse and racism can lead to self-hatred which then leads to depression and other problems.
    He makes no excuses for his mistakes, but shows how the mistreatment and abuse children receive in this world today, especially child stars, can scar them for life, and, as children, they are unable to deal with those events and unprepared to make the difficult decisions that are placed in front of them. He also shows how quickly depression can take its toll and how fast life spirals out of control once drug use begins. Readers get a true look into the lives of many who faced racism during that time period, as well as glimpse into the nasty world of many drug addicts. He shows no fear in telling it exactly like it was.
    He learned a lot of life lessons the hard way, and all while still a young adult. He tells some disturbing, gut-wrenching stories about his recovery. But, he also describes the tough climb back up, and the humbling experience of starting over with his past as an obstacle.
    In the end Todd completely changed his life, himself, and his outlook on the world. He also discusses his mission to educate others in hopes that teens can learn from his mistakes and make better choices for their lives. Reliving his pain day after day and admitting his faults to strangers cannot be easy, but in this book, he really inspires people to step up and be better to themselves and to their children and to face those difficult questions and situations in our lives head-on. He is not just a child star gone bad, he is a real person with real experiences and problems in his life just like everyone else. Fortunately, he is one of the survivors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Good story

    He does not hold back and takes full responsibility for his actions as a drug dealer and user evethough it was caused by sexual,emotional, and physical abuse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    A Well-Written and Honest Memoir

    I am not sure what book these other reviewers are reading but the book I read was well-written (which is hard to find with these celebrity memoirs) and honest. Mr. Bridges pulls no punches in his analysis of his life. He was not "ghetto". In fact he was raised in a middle-class household. The turning point for him was the sexual abuse he suffered as a child and his father's failure to believe him when he looked for rescue from something he knew felt so wrong. As a survivor of child sexual and physical abuse myself these passages were all too real to me.

    Many others would allow that occurrence to be a justification for drug dealing and drug taking. Mr. Bridges did not. Yes, he sold drugs but with others who were also drug addicts like him and to support his own habits. This is an all too frequent common story. However, the difference is he owns up to his own responsibility in this part of his life. He does not use being a "child actor" as an easy excuse. That is why he was able to turn his life around and remain sober for almost 18 years and raise 2 beautiful children. This is what makes his book different. Too many times these celebrities use all these excuses but never confront their own responsibility. Mr. Bridges does not and I found his book uplifting and hopeful as opposed to whiny and narcissitic.

    Mr. Bridges is an actor and yet the press constanting refers to the mistakes he made years ago as if the incidents he speaks about in his book happened yesterday. I hope those who read this excellent memoir realize this is a man who had (no pun intended) career highs and personal lows that crashed into a stew of drugs and hopelessness. Most people in that situation would have died or continued until they were in prison for life. Mr. Bridges rose above it with a new perspective about himself as a man and a human being. I hope he is given the second chance to be the artist and actor he is and the entertainmnet industry no longer holds his 18 year old transgressions against him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful Story

    Behind the bright lights, sometimes you just never know what is truly going on. This is a story that cast a new light on the age old expression that everything that glitters isn't always gold. With Bridges, I can only pray that he takes a page from one of my favorite books, "When God Stopped Keeping Score" and know that now that he knows the moments where people and events have failed him, he can truly begin to find forgiveness and move forward in his life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    great book

    great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Compelling read

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    What a great read

    This book is well written by one of america's greatest underrated child actors. This book should be a must read for young people who want to break into entertainment . Superb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Great book, Todd Bridges was very brave to write about his life. Most people would take all this hurt with them to their grave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!!!

    When I purchased this book for my Nook on 5/8/2011, I thought it would take me at least a week to read it....well I finished in in ONE day. I could not for the life of me put this book down. Todd Bridges was brutally honest, transparent and even a bit humorous in his recount of his uprising and and downfall. I totally appalaud Mr. Bridges as being brave enough to recount your demons and share them with the world is "gutsy" to say the least. Thank you for that.

    If you have any doubt about buying this book, don't because you won't be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    Wow, it's amazing that Todd lived through all that he did and came out at the other end. He did not hold anything back in this book and I give him credit for being able to admit to all the mistakes he made and learn from them. I actually got emotional at the end of the book, when he finally is getting his life back together again, because I think it speaks to every one of us. No matter how lost we are, or what mistakes we have made, we can always turn our lives around and live the lives we were meant to lead.

    I loved Todd when he was on Diff'rent Strokes, but I'm rooting for him even more now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    Felt Like I Was Reading Todd's Diary - Raw, Honest, Holds Nothing Back

    I really enjoyed watching Todd on one of my all time favorite TV shows Different Strokes and I knew that he had some trouble with law and drugs after the show had ended but WOW I had no idea just how bad his life had went out of control. I was in no way prepared to read what I was about to read. The sexual abuse as a child from his publicist, abusive father, dealing with racism, another publicist who stole money from him. He goes into A LOT of detail. As my title says, I felt like I was reading his diary. I just can't believe how open and honest he was about his life as most of us don't like to admit our faults and especially to strangers. He holds NOTHING and I do mean NOTHING back but I think what I enjoyed most about this book is he didn't get on the "child star" bandwagon and blame everyone especially Hollywood as he takes full responsbility for the bad choices he made in his life including how HE threw away his career but does explain how sexual abuse and racism led him to that awful life. Actually he blamed himself for so many years thinking that he didn't deserve a better life. While this book is a page turner it did however take me about a week cause I only read it on my break time at work because some of it was just really painful as it did make me cry and I actually started to feel sick at times because I felt so bad for him and many others who have gone through and are still going through similar things to what he went through. So I'll admit I did have to step away from the book. Just so grateful I've never known the life of drugs and what it can do cause he definitely lays it all out for you. Just so glad that he has not only turned his life around but helping other people with drug addictions because it definitely was a long hard road so to speak to get his life back together again. I definitely have a lot of respect for him not for the things he's done but him being so open, honest, and willingness to helping others not only with addictions but help people to stay away from that life all together. I've read some good books in my lifetime but nothing quite like this. It just really touched my life to be very grateful for what I have and that I've never known that life he once had. What I still can't believe and does make me sad as I've seen him on TV talk about it, even though he's been clean for like 17 YEARS now, some people still want to bash him for his past life. Um, I think he knows better than anyone what a mess of his life he had made as he lives with it every day. What's important is he did not only get his life together again but is helping others. As Judge Judy would say..."Let's put a period and move on already." I wish Todd nothing but the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1