Customer Reviews for

Kim

Average Rating 3.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Underrated masterpiece

Ok, we all know that he was a colonialist and at times bordered on bigotry, but this book is Rudyard Kipling's best and it is an absolute masterpiece. It's the ultimate tale of an Englishman gone native: James Bond meets Siddhartha. Kipling's identification wi...
Ok, we all know that he was a colonialist and at times bordered on bigotry, but this book is Rudyard Kipling's best and it is an absolute masterpiece. It's the ultimate tale of an Englishman gone native: James Bond meets Siddhartha. Kipling's identification with Kim, his young protagonist, is complete. This is the work of a man passionately in love with India, and in possession of extraordinary powers of observation and description.

posted by Anonymous on March 16, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

had to discard

print too small--lines too long--unreadable

posted by americanirish on September 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Underrated masterpiece

    Ok, we all know that he was a colonialist and at times bordered on bigotry, but this book is Rudyard Kipling's best and it is an absolute masterpiece. It's the ultimate tale of an Englishman gone native: James Bond meets Siddhartha. Kipling's identification with Kim, his young protagonist, is complete. This is the work of a man passionately in love with India, and in possession of extraordinary powers of observation and description.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    An entertaining and Touching book

    One of the most beautiful tales of friendship I have ever read, Kim is much more. Rudyard Kipling created in Kim a novel in the mold of the classic heroic journey that has a pedigree reaching back to Gilgamesh and the Odyssey. With Kim, a young white boy, sahib, at it's center and his friend and mentor the Lama, we see the world of India in the nineteenth century as it is ruled by Great Britain. Kipling raises questions of identity (Who is Kim?), culture, spirituality and the nature of fate. Most of all he depicts the growth of a young man through his quest to find his destiny and the bond that develops between Kim as 'chela' or disciple and his Lama. The greatness of this novel lies in Kipling's ability to combine all of these themes with a natural style that conveys the richness both of the lives of Kim and his friends and the fecundity of life in India. One of the most enduring images for me was the close tie Kim has with the land itself. This is shown several times throughout the novel culminating in his final renewal when stretched out on the earth near the end of the novel. The epic quest is successful as this novel unfolds a positive and uplifting narrative.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    More relevant now than ever

    Kipling has become, in these post-colonial days, the man you love to hate. Yet few have equaled Kipling¿s story of an Indian beggar boy whose experience in the heyday of the British raj forces him into personal transformation that entirely illuminates the impact of colonialism on a subject people. The novel, owing to the strength of its narrative and its fatally believable realism, hovers on the dark side of modern consciousness, as does much of Kipling. The writer who invented the phrase ¿The White Man¿s Burden¿ is someone many people would like to forget. But one testimony to the ongoing power of Kim is the recent novel The Impressionist by Hari Kunzru, a descant on Kipling¿s narrative of the problem of identity in British India. The fact that an Indian author borrows Kipling¿s idea and shapes a story on Kiplingesque lines is simply testimony to the ongoing authority of this classic.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    had to discard

    print too small--lines too long--unreadable

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Kim!!

    I love Kim!! It is the most amazing book and it touches you. Kim my grandfather wanted me to read it and I have to say I was a little sceptical at first , but it turned out to be asdonding. YOU must read this book and watch the movie with Errol Flynn!! Its is simaler to the book in some was. I am 11 and I love Kim and Rudyard Kiplings books.I would recommend this to someone. I have to my friend Caroline. I also recommed Kim the movie with Errol Flynn it is the best of them all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    Brilliant Novel, Racist Author

    Kim is an exceptional piece of literature relating to imperialistic India. Kipling's use of Indian diction, especially with the lama. The novel is a truthful depiction pertaining to the confusion of race, religion, and imperial expansion. The author, Rudyard Kipling, however, was an absolute racist, which almost makes one want to hurl the book against a wall instead of reading it. Kipling coined the despicable term 'white man's burden', which related to the need for expansion in order to 'civilize' the 'savage' man in the East. I love the novel, but loathe its creator.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Good read

    A good story that paints a beautiful picture of India in the late 19th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Scott

    Athenian Constitution o.o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Vicmars

    Runs away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Alana to Connor

    The manticore with alana on it swoops down and picks you up and brings you home

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    A manticore

    Flies in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Connor

    Returns to camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Okay thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    VicMars

    Jumps off tree and to cyclops leg. I stab it on the back of th leg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    KNNY - ALL

    SCOTT GOT THE FLEECE LET'S GO!! -He ran out.-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Polyphemus

    Bleeds out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Pat to kenny

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Jellal

    Gtg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    why do u ppl put stuff on this about removing clothes and weddings?

    Why do you ppl put stories about yourself and another person about removing clothes, sex, kissing and weddings?! You guys have some PROBLEMS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8