Customer Reviews for

Kin (Good Neighbors Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    WARNING

    Fo not buy nomatter what people say relly really really bad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    DO NOT BUY THIS AS AN EBOOK!! I cannot tell if the story and ar

    DO NOT BUY THIS AS AN EBOOK!! I cannot tell if the story and art are any good or not because I can't freakin' see them. Each PAGE (all art, all panels, text) is less than half the size of the screen with inches of useless white margins around. It cannot be zoomed in on or enlarged, and the text is TINY. Practically impossible to read. This is no way to enjoy a graphic novel, someone really dropped the ball on executing this ebook. Don't waste your money, as you can't return it even though it is clearly a defective, unusable product for the buyer. Get the print version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Rue is trying not to worry. Her mother has disappeared after a terrible fight with her father. Right after her mother disappears, her father is arrested and accused of murdering one of the students he teaches at the University. Rue knows her father didn't do anything wrong, but doesn't know how to prove it.

    To add to her stress, Rue starts seeing things. Things that shouldn't be possible in the real world. Things with wings. Things that look like faeries.

    While Rue's father is in jail, she is taken to meet the grandfather she's never met - her mother's father. She finds out that her grandfather is one of the fey, and what he has planned for the world is a danger to all mankind. Rue is the only one who can stop him.

    When Rue's mother makes a reappearance, she is extremely ill. Rue picks up some clues as to why her mother disappeared in the first place and puts others information together on her own.

    In between looking for clues to the real story behind the girl her father is accused of killing, finding out about her mother, and coming to terms with her heritage, Rue is trying to maintain her life at school and with her friends.

    KIN is the first volume in THE GOOD NEIGHBORS series. Holly Black wraps up this volume nicely while still leaving readers begging for more. Fans of Black's novels TITHE, VALIANT, and IRONSIDE will enjoy seeing the faeries come alive on the page of this graphic novel. Be looking for sequels in the near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magical fun!

    I'm a big fan of Ted Naifeh, and I have to say that his art has never looked better than it does here. While I miss the sarcastic, brooding nature of his creation Courtney Crumrin, Rue is a heroine worthy of his attentions. This is the type of dark fairy tale he does best, with his beautifully haunting, shadowy world of Gothic sensibilities. It's very atmospheric and paced perfectly. And while Naifeh's trademark claw hands are nowhere to be seen on the humans of this story, they are prevalent among the fairy folk. I really enjoy that the kids are dressed in really cute, hip clothes, and the mythological creatures are garbed either traditionally or fashionably, depending on their nature. Whether the scene is chilling (like the final shot) or emotional (Rue crying over a window ledge beside roses), Naifeh renders the images with beautiful backdrops in thoughtful illustrations.<BR/><BR/>A lot of research has been done for the sake of this story, and creatures of myth are blended seamlessly into a modern environment, something that Holly Black has had some prior experience with in The Spiderwick Chronicles. This really does have the makings of a modern classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Awsome read and Amazing art

    I was excited when I slothed through the YA section at B&N and found this book (even more surprised b/c it wasn't supposed to be released till Oct 2008 I bought it on Sept 6 2008) I had no money and paid for it with $16 in change took it home and read within an hour and enjoyed every min of it. The story is intreging and the art absouluty complaments it. I will post no spoilers you'll just have to find out what happens when you read it. Im waiting at the edge of my seat for the second installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Unexpectedly AMAZING!!!

    I found Kin unexpectedly and I immediatly bought and read it in an hour. The illustrations are edgy and perfect for Holly Black's writing style and earily realistic. I'm not a huge fan of graphic novels but Kin 'The Good Neighbors' is a must buy. I'm eagerly waiting for the second book, no matter how long I have to wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1