Customer Reviews for

The Kind Diet: A Simple Guide to Feeling Great, Losing Weight, and Saving the Planet

Average Rating 4
( 325 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful!

The title: The Kind Diet: A Simple Guide to Feeling Great, Losing Weight, and Saving the Planet, by Alicia Silverstone, says it all. The plant-based diet, according to Silverstone (and a few doctors quoted) will improve your health, help prevent disease, improve the env...
The title: The Kind Diet: A Simple Guide to Feeling Great, Losing Weight, and Saving the Planet, by Alicia Silverstone, says it all. The plant-based diet, according to Silverstone (and a few doctors quoted) will improve your health, help prevent disease, improve the environment and help you lose weight.

The book begins with Silverstone's personal story. It includes her early attempts at not eating meat, and an unhealthy period when she ate only raw foods.

Then the book discusses the "nasty foods"--meat, dairy, white sugar and processed foods. We learn the many reasons these foods are unhealthy, bad for the planet and bad for animal's welfare.

Next, we learn what the "kind foods" are--notably, whole grains, new proteins, veggies and healthy desserts.

There is a chapter on nutritional FAQ's.

Silverstone gets we are not all ready for a vegan diet, especially if we are used to a diet heavy in meats, dairy and processed foods. So, she presents three levels: flirting, vegan and superhero.

In flirting, she makes recommendations like: go to a vegetarian restaurant and order a dish, buy some vegan products from her "Transitional Food Chart", and simply recommends we start adding vegan meals into our diets.

In vegan, she presents a plan on how to build a meal and a vegan meal plan.

Finally, the superhero level is loosely based on the macrobiotic diet (minus fish,) and features fresh, local and seasonal fare.

Silverstone adds helpful tips, like chew your food really well, what to do about detoxing and cravings and more.

There is a chapter on tips when away from home.

Lifestyle tips is a very short chapter, mentioning things like the importance of reusing and buying secondhand. She recommends the book, THE ECO CHICKS GUIDE TO LIFE: HOW TO BE FABULOUSLY GREEN, for natural cleaning and personal products--and, I agree--a good book. I would also recommend HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET to learn how to make your entire home green and beautiful for optimal health.

The book concludes with fantastic looking recipes (I'm a pretty good cook, I can always tell.) The recipes are divided into vegan and superhero.

Even if you are not committed to a full time vegan diet, I highly recommend this book--just start with the flirting and see where it takes you.

posted by DavidaHarp on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

103 out of 164 people found this review helpful.

A vegetarian from an actress with no credentials

I bought this book as my daughther is a strict vegetarian. But I found the recipes to be totally impractical. Here are some of the ingredients suggested if you can recognize them.
daikon rounds
shoyu
unflavored mochi
jijiki
mirin
burdock
hemp seeds
umebos...
I bought this book as my daughther is a strict vegetarian. But I found the recipes to be totally impractical. Here are some of the ingredients suggested if you can recognize them.
daikon rounds
shoyu
unflavored mochi
jijiki
mirin
burdock
hemp seeds
umeboshi vinegar
dandelion
brown rice mochi
mellow white miso
dried wakame
fennel bulb
umeboshi plum paste

posted by marystuartdenver on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy and Informative Read

    This is a very easy read. It was full of good information. I am already a vegetarian ad this book has given me the motivation to take it to the next level and become a vegan. Good recipes also. The only downside I found to the book is some of the recipes have ingredients that I can't seem to find anywhere so I haven't been able to make a few of them.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As a personal fitness trainer and nutritional advisor, take it from me---worth reading!

    I try to read as many diet and exercise books as I can. This book by Ms. Silverstone rates as one that I really enjoyed and try to incorporate into my own personal routine. In addition, I (and my training staff) often refer to this book while counseling our clients. This book is written in an inviting way, that is easily understood, and makes eating greener/without meat a viable and enticeable option!

    I DO tell everyone of my clients, however, that if they are going to buy ANY diet or exercise book, that they should FIRST read, "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow". This is a short, easy read that empowers the reader to be in a great mindset and be fully motivated to accomplish ANY goal. So, do yourself a favor and pick that up too!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Keeps You Thinking

    I am not a vegan or a vegetarian, in fact I was a die heart meat eater. After reading this book, I am eating less meat, dairy and I haven't eaten an egg since. Alicia did a great job writing this book. It is very easy to read and she gets her point across very well.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    This is a GOOD READ!!!

    I love to read books that are written as if the person is speaking directly to you. I think this book did just that for me. For someone who is a beginner entering into becoming a vegetarian and/or vegan this is an excellent book. For people already in the life style of being a vegetarian and/or vegan this book probably re-establishes what they already know. I personally enjoyed the book. I was able to go to my local international farmers market and pick up everything I needed to make all the recipes I put on my menu for the week. I must say that it took a little longer than my normal trip to the farmers market. A lot of the ingredients I had never heard of but I was able to find after a while of searching. I also went to Whole Foods to get a few extra ingredients. Some of the ingredients can be on the expensive side but at the same time you will have them for a while. Example: Mirin is around 8 to 10 bucks a bottle. I buy mostly organic so I was expecting the prices to be a little on the high side. If you live in a bigger city and the ingredients are available for you to purchase, this book does contain lots of yummy recipes. With every cook book there are the good and the bad. This book is no exception. But from my experience, I have enjoyed it thus far. My advice to anyone when entering this book or any vegan book, expect to pay a little more for your grocery bill than normal, expect for your body to change in away that you have never seen, expect to go to the bathroom (#2) at least twice a day, and enter into this life style with an open mind and stomach. Everything you will not enjoy but you will find out what works best for you, as with anything in life. I have been using this book amoungst others for 2weeks now and I see and feel the difference.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life-changing

    This book is so enjoyable and easy to read! I was an omnivore and because of this book have turned vegan. It has been almost two months now, and I feel and look better! Alicia makes this transition less scary and gives a lot of tools and resources to help you! A must-read in my opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Awesome

    This was an awesome book, very insightful & entertaining. As with everything in life you take each "thing" that works for you and do it. I am in the process of just that, and I am already seeing & feeling wonderful, positive changes. This is a great book for anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it

    This vegan approach includes exotic ingredients, but some are very hard to find so I' m using it with different cook books. Be ready for some serious change with this life style.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book to inspire

    I bought this book to start my vegan journey. I soon realized that I would need to supplement with "real" vegan cook books. Book is thought provoking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Very informative!

    I bought this book when if first came out, skimmed it then sold it on ebay. I have just started eating vegan again and bought the nook version. She has a ton of useful information in the book. It has really made me want to stick with being vegan. Like someone else said, I'm not sure where to find alot of ingredients she talks about so I havent tried many of the recipes yet. I even went to a asian grocery store to look for things but couldnt find any of them. She gives a great base to start a vegan diet with though and I'm glad I re-purchased the book. I like her website too thekindlife dot com.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Great Vegan Recipes

    This book is very infomative and also has some great recipes. The desserts are especially delicious and pretty simple to make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    A perfect book for a live changing transformation

    Althought Alicia Silverstone is not a nutricionist or dietitian, she has gathered plenty of information to make a change in your life in regards to todays food problems. I highly recomend this book as a sort of information and recipes. Making a drastic change to a vegetarian is not an instant process but certainly worth the efforts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ..and the stuff tastes good ,too...

    recipes are well organized and easy to prepare. we have prepared ten different items and all were very good. Alicia doesn't require you to go on the hunt for "exotic" ingredients to prepare most of the recipes in the book. pictures are gorgeous as well. just a little bit preachy but not off putting. money well spent. lost 8 lbs in a month of incorporating these recipes in our meal planning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Motivational

    I owe Alicia's book credit in that it personally helped me to take the final step toward becoming a full vegetarian as opposed to the semi-veggie eater that I was.
    I can appreciate that she's done a lot of research and provided the information here in one book. And it is so much more than just a book of facts and recipes, but she shares her own story of how she made the journey to choosing this lifestyle (yes folks, its more than just a fad diet).
    The tips are helpful, the recipes are tasty, and this is only the beginning as she has also created a website that she actively partakes in to continue the information while also providing a community of support.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall Great Book!!

    I've just started reading this book and so far so good! I find it to be very inspiring, motivational and very informative. I would recommend this book to anyone who is thinking of a lifestyle change of healthy living!! The only reason I can't give it 5 is because I'm still reading it!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Informative and Enjoyable

    I purchased this book because I am a fan of Alicia Silverstone. It was interesting to research an alternative vegan diet. Although I will probably never follow a vegan diet.... I shall flirt with the diet.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Makes sense

    I like Alicia Silverstone's common sense approach to going vegan and eventually introducing a macrobiotic diet. Her recipes are somewhat interesting and not always practical, but fun to experiment with. She is a true proponent of animal rights

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Very informative..some really good recipes

    This book has a lot of great information and some information I challenge. I do think that eating meat and dairy caused health issues with me, but I do not agree that dairy and sugar are as addicting as morphine. While she over uses the word "yummy" so much that you want to scream, she isn't overly preachy on the vegan diet. There are times, but it's pretty straightforward. I started "flirting" with this diet, and my health has improved. I eat about 95% of the time vegan, and I do feel great. Before I was an omni that ate meat daily. Now I haven't touched meat, but I do allow cheese at times. I just feel better now, and I don't think I'll ever go back to my ways. There are more hits than misses with the recipes. Ingredients were hard to find, but if you have a Whole Foods around, you'll find about 99% of them easily. It just opened us up to a whole new set of foods that we love and have a staples in our house. She does have a support website that offers help to people that have been vegan, just beginning, or are just interested. There is a lot of support, but you will find the people that just aren't tolerant of people who haven't made the full committment to veganism. That is annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Not A Vegetarian

    I am not a vegetarian but I enjoyed this book. It is nice to read her story and how she got into being a Vegan. Alicia is not pushy and doesn't tell you that you are awful for not going Vegan. She gives different levels of vegetarianism to try out. Some of the ingredients are not in your normal supermarket but you can go to places like Trader Joe's and Whole Foods to find them. I did try some of the recipes and really liked them. This is a great book for anyone who wonders about Vegetarian/Vegan lifestyles and is thinking about maybe trying it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Back on track...

    Comfort foods, gentle, given by a truly gentle person who has obviously chosen her own road and not followed the mainstream. It becomes more and more difficult to consume meats as more is learned about their growth and handling. Alicia Silverstone, You should be around for some time and it comforting to know that someone of your nature is raising a child into a world of constant change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    simple and kind

    the best thing about this book is that it focuses on the fact that you don't have to place yourself in one category - the important thing is that you understand how to be kind to yourself. If you've been really good to your body, then the book reinforces the fact that its ok to be a little bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4