BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kind of Blue

Average Rating 5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Abundant Kind of Blue

    This album is a legendary muse of history in its own right! Before I decided to buy this album, I have read the book, The Making of Kind of Blue, and read many reviews from critics, and even asked for some opionions about it to family and friends. The results of such a great, profounding explosion inspired me to buy this album. The first moment i heard it, the music became the painter and my mind became the canvas. Many pictures of night lights, bright stars, starry eyed couples, lonely, sad people, nature, and majestic, somewhat peaceful, quiet, and melancholy places started performing in my mind! This album truly has a voice that's louder than the sights of all the world! It truly has something, not just extraordinary people, such as the famous John Coltrane, Bill Evans, and of course the eat-your-heart-out-choir-music passionate Miles Davis. It's simply the wonder, the power, and the calling muse of the miseries, the pain, the majesty, the thought, the heaven, and the glory of it all, which makes it definitive, an art for all jazz mankind. No album in the world could grow as beautiful as this piece of heaven coming from a horn so sweet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    pure genius

    while this is one of the quitessential jazz albums of all time, it is also a perfect introduction to jazz for the unititiated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    BELIEVE IT...

    I was having a hard time trying to think of all the wonderful things to say about this amazing classic album, and I suddenly realised how easy it was... The editorial review says that ''Kind of Blue'' has been called the greatest jazz album of all time so often that it's hard to believe it. It's perfectly simple; all you have to do is listen to it. You'll believe it -- because it's true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    CLASSIC JAZZ At ITS' BEST!

    This album originaly released in 1959 remains one of my all time favourites in this music genre. Every time I listen to it, I hear something new as Miles Davis was so innovative on this recording. I believe that it remains the top selling Jass album of all time. Highly recommended to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    Miles Davis at his best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!!!!

    Absolutely wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kind of Blue....Miles Davis

    This is by far one of the best Miles Davis recordings....a "must have" for any jazz library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you only get one Miles, this is tied for the one to get!

    Easy to take and addictive. This , in my view, is tied with Sketches of Spain as the best into to Miles Davis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Miles Davis Kind of Blue is fantastic

    I could listen to this album over and over again. Every track is fantastic and showcases Miles' mastery of the horn. 100 years from now people will be in awe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Kinda Blue!

    To anybody who has had the album or earlier issue of this cd will not only re- enjoy the content but the 20 bit re- mastering is execellent. This cd speaks for itself. To me it is one of the best cd's by miles and the re-mastered version lets you sonically enjoy the purity of these musicians. A definate must to any jazz enthusists colection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quintessential Jazz CD

    I have been a lover of Jazz since childhood. This is my favorite recording. Miles Davis and John Coltrane just compliment each other so well. You can drift with the music and get lost. This is a must for any jazz lover. Yet, it is a great place to start if you are trying to sample the genre for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must For Your Music Collection!

    Kind of Blue is absolutely the best jazz album of all time! It's hard to believe that it was produced in 1959. Miles' music and style is still relevant in today's music world. This is real music...truly classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still Kind of Blue Nut!

    I bought this album in that year 1959. I was a Junior in high school. Most of the Jazz set on campus obtained this record. My music teacher, after allowing me to play it during Music Appreciation and hearing it asked me if he could borrow it overnight. He returned it the next morning and told everone in the classroom to purchase this record by Miles Davis and put it in their home library even if they were not into Jazz like he and I were. I certainly appreciate the new CD sound. It was often a common site to see other students carrying this record along with their books a year later '60.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This was recorded in 1959?!?!

    I just brought home the SACD version of this lovely thing, and cannot believe the lifelike sound quality that was captured during the 1959 recording sessions. Truly amazing and actually puts many records since its time to shame, simply talking recording fidelity here. The actual art contained here, having not heard it before and purchased on the recommendation from an online review, has me floored and excited to spend much, much quality time with Miles and friends. I'm sure this disc is going to be spinning alot for a long time to come. If you haven't given this a chance yet, you are truly missing a big chance to be very, very impressed with something. This is one of the very few purchases I've made that have actually exceeded my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Amazing Listening Experience

    Well, not that it hasn't been said already, but this is quite easily one of, if not the most, meaningful jazz albums ever made. Each chart is highly accessible, making this album perfect for someone who wants an introduction to jazz; furthermore, every member of Miles' group is a jazz superstar in his own right. "So What" often gets the most attention, but my favorite chart (of all time, perhaps) is "All Blues". Miles really knows how to create an ambience, and the solos are beautiful. Enjoy what drummer Jimmy Cobb calls an album "made in heaven".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greates Jazz Album Ever Made

    Incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome miles davis

    i like this music from start to finish you cant get much better than this one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BUY THIS ALBUM!!!

    This is by far, not only the greatest Miles Davis album... but the greatest jazz album ever made. Miles Davis' smokey, yet sexy, trumpet playing is at it's peak in every chart on the album... from the mild-paced "Freddie Freeloader" to the slow, and my personal favorite, "Blue In Green." This album, itself, revolutionized jazz from the begining... This is a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Darkest Blue is the deepest blue

    I know little but I know that this is ... something else! Welcome to Scotland - not yet free - but GLORY we will be soon ( there's one one distance MILES - that's the road and the Miles .....)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truely a Standard

    To many people this is the quintessential jazz recording. I cant argue. Every time I listen to it I find something new and interesting within the performances. Everyone else has said what needs to be said about this album. For those who don't get it...take some time out of your day, turn off the lights, and just listen to the album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3