BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Kindly Ones

Average Rating 3
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not for the faint of heart

    Its a very long book...don't expect to finish it in one sitting (or three for that matter). But the book is strangely compelling in a graphic way, detailing the most horrifying acts committed by German soldiers under pressure by their superiors. The book goes to great lengths to show the moral/immoral sides of human nature. For the price, I say read it only if you're seriously interested in the holocaust, war-time psychological trauma, etc. There are other less painful reads that use the german soldier's perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    Not a kindly read.

    The Kindly Ones is a brutal, and graphic account of every possible horror done during the Holocaust. Nothing is held back, everything is described in graphic, horrible detail. This does have some historical value, but almost all of the 950 pages is about this. The book almost desensitize the reader to these injustices. The plot gets lost in the repetition. Once you have read the frist 200 pages you have read the entire book. Very little commentary made by the author or the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Dus So disturbung yet fantastic

    Reccomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Intense

    Not easy read...but one worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    A disgusting waste of time and money

    If you are determined to read this grammer school waste then borrow it from the library that is if they would have a copy otherwise your money will be in the swi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Extraordinary

    This is one of the most extraordinary books I have ever read. Brilliant writing. A strong and graphic denunciation of the Nazi regime from the inside of the mind of a complex, perverse SS officer, whose very perversity reflects the world around him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A brave and amazing novel with flaws.

    This is a large, disturbing, and enthralling book. The mix of historical fact and military tech with fictional characters, vivid writing, and some suprise surrealist scenes make this a difficult book to label, much less review briefly. Suffice it to say, it isn't just about Nazis feeling bad about what they did. The first half of the novel deals with the massacre of Jews carried out by the Nazi soldiers and their hired help. The scenes are brutal, and the mental/emotional suffering of the German soldiers is in no way given as much weight as the horrors they enact upon the dying citizens. There is no doubt the Nazis are the bad guys, but the book doesn't just show them all as rabid bloodthirsty animals. That would be historically inaccurate, and more importantly, bad, bland fiction. This half of the book culminates in the main character barely surviving the battle of Stalingrad. The scenes here, too, are presented in a vivid and human-level manner and are almost a challenge for the reader to continue on.

    The second half of the book, after a long dream sequence that -in my view- kills the momentum, takes place with the main character hiding out and rebuilding his life in France. This half of the book doesn't reach the same heights as the first, in terms of both brutality and beauty of language, and it resides more on the intellectual plane. What does it say about Aue that he isn't repentant? And how do we, as readers, feel about it after spending so much time (and so many pages!) with this character?

    This is not a book to be read, reviewed, or taken lightly. I hope with the paperback publication in March of '10 more people will take a chance on it. An eBook would be nice as well (hint hint HarperCollins and/or Barnes and Noble)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Horrible

    A ponderous tome telling the story of the Nazi viewpoint during the Jewish extermination. The narrator speaks of the terrible depression the soldiers are forced to deal with because of the atrocious acts they are ordered to perform.
    Is the reader supposed to feel sorry for these men??? I guess they were in an untenable position, shoot the Jews or be shot, but still I find it impossible to relate.
    I gave up halfway through, bored to tears and annoyed with the author's perspective.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    What book?

    didn't buy this book...and probably wouldn't. not my cup of tea!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    dont bother

    i had to have help finding it, wish i had not asked for the help and left without it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Kindly Ones

    Great book, it would be an exceptional book if a little editing had been done prior to it's release. Sometimes the author got off subject and started rambling in the middle of sections of the book. Otherwise great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    More work than necessary

    This was an 8 day labor intensive read that in the end (or 400 pages from the end) left me very disappointed. The author offers some history but that can come from any number of non-fictional accounts of the holocaust, etc. The ending was simply absurd but I was grateful I got there ... so I could read Richard Yates "Young Hearts Crying" (a great book).

    Everyone should READ, amici ... and The Kindly is a book ... I'm just not sure you want to pay for the effort necessary to get through it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2