BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Kindness of Strangers

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

I LOVED this book!! In fact, I have passed it onto my mom!! I know that she will enjoy it as much as I did!! I would recommend it highly!!

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Graphic sexual descriptions between children and adults

I don't know about anyone else but, I thought the sexual descriptions were too graphic. Did she have to say a childs mouth was bleeding during a sexual act? How YOUNG kids faces were red from crying during sex? It made me feel incredibly uneasy. Like the fed was goi...
I don't know about anyone else but, I thought the sexual descriptions were too graphic. Did she have to say a childs mouth was bleeding during a sexual act? How YOUNG kids faces were red from crying during sex? It made me feel incredibly uneasy. Like the fed was going to come get me. Maybe that's what she was going for? I think the same feeling could have been done without being so child pornographic. Most people think this book is good so if you get it just be prepared for the sexual scenes.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Graphic sexual descriptions between children and adults

    I don't know about anyone else but, I thought the sexual descriptions were too graphic. Did she have to say a childs mouth was bleeding during a sexual act? How YOUNG kids faces were red from crying during sex? It made me feel incredibly uneasy. Like the fed was going to come get me. Maybe that's what she was going for? I think the same feeling could have been done without being so child pornographic. Most people think this book is good so if you get it just be prepared for the sexual scenes.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Disappointed with detailed abuse and repeated cursing

    I was extremely disappointed with this book after reading the positive reviews. The book would have been better without the repeated cursing by the characters. Also, the detailed descriptions of the sexual abuse were very heartbreaking and disturbing. I cannot recommend this book to my Christian friends or family members. If I had known it was this kind of book, I would not have purchased it.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    Amazing!

    This book was great. It was touching and very dramatic. The characters are extremely well-developed, and each has a distinct voice. I recommended it to my friends and mom. Read this; it is a page-turner!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Amazing!

    I LOVED this book!! In fact, I have passed it onto my mom!! I know that she will enjoy it as much as I did!! I would recommend it highly!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    A perfect title.....

    The title of the book is so perfect for the story. This book will make you see that things could always be worse. I loved the way she developed the characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful family drama

    When Roy Laden died, the impact on his family was devastating. His widow Sarah struggles with her catering business and raising their two troubled sons. Teenage Nate has been suspended twice skipping school to visit his dad¿s gravesite. Her younger son fifth-grader Danny struggles with the loss too becoming more reticent. --- Sarah visits their neighbors Mark and Courtney Kendrick, but finds by himself eleven years old Jordan who seems very sick. Worried Sarah rushes Jordan to the nearest hospital where the doctors treat what was a suicide attempt, but also shockingly diagnose that the preadolescent suffers from gonorrhea. The cops obtain a search warrant to look inside the Kendrick home where they find plenty of pedophile evidence against Mark who has vanished nothing implicates Courtney, a physician treating her son¿s sexual transmitted illness on the sly, except covert submissive omission as a parent. The three Ladens now have something else that needs healing though each realizes nothing like what Courtney must require. --- Though at times preaching, THE KINDNESS OF STRANGERS is a powerful family drama that looks at the impact of child sexual abuse on next door neighbors. The Ladens are wonderful characters as they alternate respective of the Before and After while readers and the trio will feel for Jordan, loathe Mark as a devil, and detest Courtney as a monster for not interceding. The story line is crisis driven as each Laden struggles with what they knew Before in different ways from the guilt of Sarah to the titillating amazement of Nate and to the shocked Danny of what happened to his peer by so called loved ones. Katrina Kittle hides nothing with this dark well written but not easy to read tale of abuse. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2014

    this book sucks you in and breaks your heart. Kittle is a wonder

    this book sucks you in and breaks your heart. Kittle is a wonderful writer who truely understands peoples ability to cope and heal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Absolutely engrossing read about a hard subject

    Katrina Kittle spins a great story, with believable characters and a wealth of information woven through the story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Great read

    Great read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Lish

    This book ! OMG!! Ten stars! Kept me breathless. I read with tears in my eyes and a rock in my stomach. The characters are so real you not only read their thoughts, you feel their pain. Such betrayal. The reveiwers who were 'disturbed' by the graphic child sexual abuse? Well, child sexual abuse is ugly. It 's offensive and evil. This book doesn't exploit this subject, it shines a light on it. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I happened upon this book and I'm not even sure how. And now tha

    I happened upon this book and I'm not even sure how. And now that I've read it, I can't believe it's not the talk of the town! 
    Katrina Kittle spins this story in such a way, I'm not sure my mere words can do it justice. A truly excellent book by an author that I will be following closely now. 
    The Kindness of Strangers is not my usual light read. This is a story that will stay with me for a long time. It's woven in a way that I felt like I was there, watching it unfold, wanting to stop things from happening and even sometimes NOT wanting to read the next sentence because of what might be revealed next. I was holding my breath at times and racing to turn the page at others. 
    The story being told from the perspective of the various characters through the story reveals so much more detail to the reader and really enhances your understanding of the interactions of everyone in the family. 
    This book was responsible for lost hours of sleep and I was relieved and disappointed to have finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    Very well written

    Very good storytelling. Very compelling subject matter. And I felt so connected to each of the characters in the story! I loved the writing style of this author. Made me want to keep reading & reading. I was so sad when the story ended & I finally had to stop reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Great Book!

    I could not put this book down! What a dramatic plot! Definitely a tear-jerker. This is a must read, especially if you love drama!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book, by far, I have ever read...

    Katrina Kittle's "Kindness of Strangers" is, by far, the best book I have ever read, especially considering the content of this book. I, at first, was very hesitant to read "Kindness of Strangers" because of the content revolving around child abuse. Not the kind of book I would pick up, but a friend of mine gave it to me saying, "this is such a well written book, the topic won't bother you as you think it might." She was right. Katrina Kittle described the characters and their emotions brilliantly. I couldn't put the book down. When I was finished, I was disappointed it was over. I couln't wait to read another one of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank God for Kind Strangers

    This book was so hard to read; but not because it wasn't good. It was so heart-breaking and yet could be happening in any neighborhood. I hope if I ever have to deal with a situation like this, that I can also be so kind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a story

    I had this book for months on my wish list and hesitated for a long time to buy it...I don't know why. Now I have finally reading it and I am deeply touched by the story...Kittles writing style is amazing, the characters are well defined and strong...The book is about child molestation, no simple topic and nothing for the faint-hearted...Kittle is an enormous talented writer with deep psychological and emotional insight...The story will follow you even when you turned the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    A book that appeals to readers who like to test the cutting edge of contemporary issues, this book will bring you to the bloody point of despair, but also guide you to the sturdy handle of hope.

    Katrina Kittle's book "The Kindness of Strangers" is packed with emotionally believable characters. The plot, though at times disturbing, takes the reader on a journey through the experience of the main characters, a family and a family friend, as they each try to understand and cope with child sexual abuse. By using various points of view, Kittle is able to express the viewpoints of adults, teens and children effected by this trauma and its aftermath.

    This is a book that is brave, real and pithy in its contemporary pitch. I found myself emotionally draw to the characters portrayed with such emotional realism. Each main character had their own unique ongoing life-challenges along with struggling to cope with the shock and horror of the abuse. Although not an easy read, if the reader wants to learn about how the process of therapy can be effective with youth and how other people can support this process, I would highly recommend this book. The characters in this book model how love, compassion and commitment can be healing in the very worst of circumstances. This is a book about hope, about family, about belonging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    "Kindness of Strangers" is by far my FAVORITE BOOK!!!!

    I actually bought this book a few years ago from Barnes and Noble. I thought I might like the novel. But I was wrong I didn't like the novel. I LOVED the novel. "The Kindness of Strangers" will make you cry but it's such a true, genuine, touching novel. It shows us just how nice humanity is,even through the hardest of times.Trust me, You can't put the book down. I gave this novel to friends/family to read and they feel the same way I do. Honestly, this is by far my favorite story...nothing comes close!!!

    Read it! Trust me, you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Unexpected

    It isn't until you get past the first few chapters that you realize you're involved in more than just a family drama. The intertwining of Jordan's family with Sara's is unbelievable and, fortunately, the author leaves many stones left unturned for you to discover as time and pages move on. I recommend this for anyone who enjoys an extreme look into a situation you hope you NEVER face.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    Amazing!!

    This book was so shocking! The twists and the plot were so amazing. The cover contradicts everything that happens in the book. Definitely a reminder to not judge a book by its cover!! Great read. I couldn't put it down, it's quite the pageturner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4