Customer Reviews for

Kindred (Book 1 The Kindred Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Love it

I really like her books this book is across from Buffy the vampire slayer (the show not the movie) and twilight. She is very good at making you love all the people in the book. One of the better free reads but if you read this book be prepared to buy the next one her bo...
I really like her books this book is across from Buffy the vampire slayer (the show not the movie) and twilight. She is very good at making you love all the people in the book. One of the better free reads but if you read this book be prepared to buy the next one her books just end there is no closer it just stops and continues in the next book. Like twilight it goes on and on about this and that me I don't need a whole page describing the color of the leaves . Over all this is a great book and I can't wait to start on the next book.

posted by mirandaGC on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Ok

This is the story of Cassie, a vampire hunter and Devon, a very old, powerful vampire who is drawn to Cassie. Devon is able to mask his true nature from Cassie and her friends while enrolling in her high school to be close to her. Cassie is just as drawn to Devon but re...
This is the story of Cassie, a vampire hunter and Devon, a very old, powerful vampire who is drawn to Cassie. Devon is able to mask his true nature from Cassie and her friends while enrolling in her high school to be close to her. Cassie is just as drawn to Devon but reluctant to give into her feelings for fear that she'll put him in danger. Eventually she does return his interest and they become inseperable. While she is watching out for his safety from a vampire who is in town killing people, he is watching for her safety. Cassie eventually figures out that Devon is a vamp and wrongly assumes he is the one draining locals. It all comes to a conclusion when Cassie decides to kill Devon but stumbles into a battle between vamps with some very scary results. This book was definately "Twilight" and "Buffy" inspired. I felt like this was not as good as the author's other works. I haven't decided if I'm going to continue reading this series. I'd probably go with 2.5 stars if that had been an option.

posted by KarenDiane on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Review

    Had never heard of this author and i read alot of books. She hooked me with Captivated series and now this one. Already bought book 2 of this series. Good job Ms Stevens.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Good read

    I liked this book and im a very picky reader it had a great plot to it i didnt like how it had a cliff hanger in the ending but other than that it was a good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    I am a raving fanatic of the author¿s other vampire series, The

    I am a raving fanatic of the author’s other vampire series, The Captive, as demonstrated by my gushing reviews and numerous random mentions. While waiting for the finale of The Captive, I needed something to keep me occupied, so decided to give The Kindred a shot. While I detected a number of similarities, there were many differences and it is quite clear that the two series are unrelated. I gobbled up the four published books over a single four-day marathon and I am now yearning for the fifth and final!



    The plot:

    Quick, concise, and clean, this storyline is to-the-point and moves along swiftly. It was interesting to see the dual perspective of Devon and Cassie as they each harbored their secrets with no idea who or what the other was. There were a number of intense fight scenes that were icing on the cake for me, in addition to plenty of “aww” moments worthy of re-reading.



    The characters:

    Cassie is a caring, selfless girl who wants to do the right thing, but can be a bit hot-headed when provoked. She is strong, determined, but reluctantly accepts her duty as a Hunter and the short lifespan that comes with it. She has no plans for children, romance, college, or a future of any kind because she believes she won’t live to see it. Then enters Devon and he becomes something she wants to live for, but at the same time wants to protect him from her lifestyle.



    Unbeknownst to Cassie, Devon has been immersed in the world of vampirism since the early fourteenth century and gleefully partook in the debaucheries typical of his kind until just over a hundred and fifty years ago. Devon senses an immediate connection to Cassie, but tries to stay away at first because he believes that she is blissfully ignorant of the world of vampires. Devon has a certain amount of self-loathing and regret coupled with a desire for redemption that I found very compelling. His asceticism and how he puts Cassie first made for a memorable and empathetic character.



    The villain here was in hiding until the end, so I shan’t discuss him/her for fear of spoilers!



    There were other characters, including Chris, Cassie’s best friend; Melissa, another Hunter girl; Lily, Cassie’s grandmother; and Luther, the man responsible for training and mentoring Cassie, Chris, and Melissa in their roles as Hunters. The other characters had less screen time than Cassie and Devon, but the author still manages to make them multi-dimensional and layered.



    As I said, I sprinted over to the Kindle Store immediately after finishing this to snap up the next book. I highly recommend this series to fans of Upper YA Paranormal Romance, Vampire Romance, and people who like their love stories seasoned with fight scenes and mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Awesome!

    WORTH READING!
    Vampires, Vampire Hunters, and forbidden love.
    This was the best one of Steven's I've read so far. You know you're into a book real good when you're frustrated because it ends and you desperately have to get the next one in the series to find out what happens. Cannot wait to read the next one.
    One bad note: the wrong version ofthe word TO was used several times...should have used 'too' instead of 'to.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Must read

    Must read the whole series.. waiting for book 5 only wished the author got working on it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    I absolutely love this series!!! I can't wait to buy the fifth b

    I absolutely love this series!!! I can't wait to buy the fifth book! I am dying to but it, but unfortunately can't yet! Am going to die from suspense!!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Cassie

    Cassie is a brave and strong woman like Katniss Everdeen in the hunger games and Annabeth Chase in the Percy Jackson series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    GREAT STORY!

    I dont think its anything like twilight. I think its better! I cant wait to read book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Brilliant

    Loved this! Thought the characters were great, and the story stayed strong throughout. Buffy meets Twilight. Looking forward to book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Could not put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    I found something odd

    I loved the bool and thought it was great but did anyone elde notice that in the time between his name being called for homecoming king and him confronting Cassie, Mark's last name magically changed from Young to Johnson? I was quige confused when i reaf this so if i missed something please let me know. And im not trying to say anythkng bad about the book, because it was fantastic and kept me attached the whole time, i just found it when rereading some of my favorite parts.. either way erica stevens is an amazing writer who keeps me captured in the world shee creates everytime i read one of her books:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Loved it

    This book was great! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!

    LOVED IT!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Wow

    I loved this boook. Sometimes it drags but it is really good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Great read

    Love the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2