Customer Reviews for

Kindred

Average Rating 4.5
( 258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2006

    Incredible

    I've read several books by Miss Butler and this one is so powerful, it's hard to believe it's the author's first novel. I highly recommend KINDRED!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    An Outstanding Book.

    They gave me this book as an assignment, and I thought 'Man this book is gonna be boring' but when i read the 1st chapter I got addicted to it, i couldn't put it down. It's so interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Kindred. Octavia Butler. Boston. Beacon Press. 1979. 264

    The book Kindred draws you to the deep south when slavery is a big issue. Dana is pulled out of her modern day time into the 1800, where she winds up in the deep south. She is pulled out of her time by a bratty white boy, Rufus. When Rufus is in trouble he pulls her to his rescue. Dana is mistaken as a runaway and put into slavery. When her life is threatened she can go home. This book draws your attention to the last page. I didn't want to put it down. It bridges the generaton gap. You will be entertained while educated on how slavery was such a big issue back then. I would reccomened this book to anyone and any age. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Book Review: KindredImagine going back in time to your ancestors

    Book Review: KindredImagine going back in time to your ancestors and seeing them suffer. The book Kindred by Octavia E. Butler is an interesting book because is a type of historical and science fiction book. Dana one of the main characters goes back in time to the 10th century. Dana is a 26 year old woman who is married to a white man and lives in the 19th century. She lives in New York and it was her birthday when she first experienced her time traveling. It seems that she only goes back in time when her ancestor Rufus needs her help with a problem. Rufus is a little boy the first time she goes back in time, but he grows throughout the book. Rufus comes from a slave owner and the reason why she wants to help him is to change his thoughts on african americans. She doesn’t want him to be like his father, Mr. Weilyn. Dana’s husband somehow went back in time with her and he pretended to be her owner.  The author’s purpose is to teach us about slavery in a different more interesting way.The plot of this book is riveting because it has you wondering was going to happen next. It can also be authentic because it seems real I can picture them do the things they are doing. The main characters of the book are Dana and Rufus, their relationship grows throughout the book. It was kind of a difficult to keep their friendship since Dana was african american and Rufus was white but they maintained it. Rufus had to treat her like they would treat any other african american and she had to call him mister Rufus. He had her back though he made her stay over at his house once. He was trustworthy to her. The book had lots of descriptive imagery because the author uses lots of language to make us visualize a picture in our mind like when Dana went to save Rufus from the river I pictured it in my head. It also had dialogue in it but it was not that good, the dialogue was too long and not interesting. It also did have figurative language but the best one to me was descriptive imagery because I could of really pictured it in my head, almost all the interesting things that happened throughout the book. I rate this book as a 4 star because is really good. It actually gets the readers attention and you can picture the things going on in the book in your head. I won’t rate it as a 5 star book because it is not the type of book I like to read but if you're interested in knowing some history in this fictional book I suggest you read it. Other than that I did like the book and enjoyed reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

      Reading Kindred is a thrilling journey through time.









      Reading Kindred is a thrilling journey through time.




    The novel Kindred by Octavia E. Butler is about an African-American woman named Dana Franklin who lived in Los Angeles, California in 1979 with her husband Kevin Franklin who is white. Dana travels back in time to the early 1800s because her distant relative named Rufus Weylin calls her whenever he is in trouble. Dana tries to change Rufus’s ways and mindset about African- Americans during the times she travels into that era. Dana is forced to act like a slave and be treated like any other slave during the time she is in that time period. Through Kindred, readers are able to see the treatment slaves would get and how it would be for modernized people if they were to go back to this era. 




    Kindred is filled with plot twists, which helps keep readers entertained because every time Dana time travels we never know what to expect. It’s almost mysterious in a way because we never know what to expect in her visits to the 1800 century and I think this is part of the fact that we do not know much of the slave history in America. Butler attempts to educate us about the slave’s suffering through Kindred and she does this by writing about slave beatings quite straightforward in a way that leaves us stunned by the things that are happening to them. Kindred is an incredibly clever novel because it lets readers see time travel in a whole new perspective plus Butler adds history into her novel which introduces us to a new riveting way of learning.




    Octavia E. Butler does an amazing job being quite detailed in every character's personality. Dana is a quite relatable character due to the fact that she is modernized like ourselves and she has reactions most of us would have if we were forced into slavery. The second main character, Rufus, has a quite complex and unique personality because he is from a different era and his perspective is different than ours when it comes to African- Americans. Rufus starts off as an innocent boy who is racist due to his society that’s surrounding him, Rufus is good at heart but his society changes him as he gets older. Tom Weylin, Rufus’s father, is a unique character that is quite complex. Tom is the typical 1800 century white man who thinks low of African- Americans and believes they were only born to become slaves. Tom Weylin is complex in a way that he has an abolitionist mind set and although Butler does not talk about him much, we are able to get a sense of his thoughts through his words and actions.




    The book Kindred is mostly focused around the early 1800s and this gives an insight of life during this time. It is quite unique how Butler uses her writing techniques to let us visualize everything that Dana is going through and feel what she is feeling. For example we are able to visualize how Dana time travels thanks to Butler’s detailed writing. The vocabulary that she uses is very unique and does an excellent job of letting us feel her confusion as she travels back and forth through time. As she explains Dana’s dizziness and how everything just seems to disappear, the readers are able to get a sense of what Dana is seeing and we are able to get into her shoes while we read. Apart from Butler’s explicit writing, it’s very interesting when we follow Dana back in time to the 1800s and the character’s speeches are a resemblance of old Southern English. We are able to find times when Dana, who uses modernize English, clashes with the characters of the 1800’s making Kindred a more authentic reading.




    I absolutely recommend this book because of the story line from beginning to end, the reader will really feel a bond between the characters. From one event to another, in the book we truly  see the characters grow in personality and in their being. As the reader follows Dana’s journey, they can stay glued into this book for hours with the anticipation of finding out what will happen next. Butler did an incredible job in making sure Kindred is authentic, clever, and riveting in such a way that any fan of history or science- fiction will agree that it is the best combination of both put into one amazing novel. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    CAPTIVATING PAGE TURNER!

    The other reviews are correct. I could not put it down. I read this on my Nook and there was a problem with the charger, so I spent hours trying to find a repair shop to continue the book. What a great concept for a story. We in the present times often think we would never survive as slaves but this beautifully written book proves that we problably could. I will definitely read other books by her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is a must read book. Fantastic characters, storyline. Don't let the sci-fi label scare you away, this book transcends genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Exciting

    There's a lot of suspense because you'll always want to know what the main character wildo nextl

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Great book

    One of the best books i ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Loved it

    Great read! Different approach to our history of slavery and race relations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Best book ever!

    This is my favorite book. This book is a phenomenal story. It is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Five Star Rated Story/Book (which I never give)

    A+ written story; A+ storyline; A+ characters
    This book will stay in your mind long after you have finished reading it. It is unique and sooo well written. As a reader you are not sure what will happen next; what you will learn; or where the path will lead you; or how you will feel about it. (Unfortunately rare these days.) Do you like/love/hate/understand/forgive Rufus? Will you cheer/boo/criticize/judge Dana? Will you cry for Kevin/Issac/Sarah/Alice? Do yourself a favor and pick up this book for your permanent library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Best book ever

    I dont really like to have to read school books. I usually only read books that i like but, i have to say Kindred is amazing! How she can be transported back in time to help save a boy and is stuck there until she is in danger and returns when the boy isin danger is amazing and how she has to pretend to be a slave just so she wont die is incredible!!!! It is a must read AND again i dont read sci fi but really really terrific!! Reconmened to ALL!!! :] <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Loved it!

    A friend told me about this book and i couldnt put it down!! Glad that i listened. Will read her other books. But.....i wished the ending let me know what happened next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Must Read

    From the beginning until the end, you will be captivated by this book! She draws you in into their lives and times, you will be moved by this book!! Wonderful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Great book to read for class

    I read this for my African Diaspora class. Although it was assigned to read ina day, it took me about a week. It was very engaging, emotional, and an imaginative way to learn about the late 1800s.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating

    "Kindred" is an amazing novel. It is borderline historical drama and science fiction, but there are no clear indications on where fiction and nonfiction begins and ends. It is a neo-slave narrative, borrowing some of its forms but adding a thicker layer of truth than Douglass or Jacobs were ever able to do in the societies in which they were published. It is heartbreaking, loving, informative, and highly inspirational. It literally transports you from the present into the past. If you want to get a glimpse of slavery and prefer reading relaxed prose over reading the technical language of research books, then this book is definitely for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Fantastic!

    This book was great from start to finish! if you like science fiction and history, you'll be blown away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    What a great book

    This book is about this woman

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    Could NOT put this book down!

    This book was incredible! Best time travel; historical fiction EVER! I was surprised the original was first published in 1979. How come I hadn't heard of it?
    The character, Dana's transitions into the past and then to the present again were so real-so believable.
    I can't tell you much about the book because you just HAVE TO READ IT! Try to do it on a day that you don't have to get up and go to work or school early the next day. Just a friendly warning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13