Customer Reviews for

Kindred

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

      Reading Kindred is a thrilling journey through time.









      Reading Kindred is a thrilling journey through time.




    The novel Kindred by Octavia E. Butler is about an African-American woman named Dana Franklin who lived in Los Angeles, California in 1979 with her husband Kevin Franklin who is white. Dana travels back in time to the early 1800s because her distant relative named Rufus Weylin calls her whenever he is in trouble. Dana tries to change Rufus’s ways and mindset about African- Americans during the times she travels into that era. Dana is forced to act like a slave and be treated like any other slave during the time she is in that time period. Through Kindred, readers are able to see the treatment slaves would get and how it would be for modernized people if they were to go back to this era. 




    Kindred is filled with plot twists, which helps keep readers entertained because every time Dana time travels we never know what to expect. It’s almost mysterious in a way because we never know what to expect in her visits to the 1800 century and I think this is part of the fact that we do not know much of the slave history in America. Butler attempts to educate us about the slave’s suffering through Kindred and she does this by writing about slave beatings quite straightforward in a way that leaves us stunned by the things that are happening to them. Kindred is an incredibly clever novel because it lets readers see time travel in a whole new perspective plus Butler adds history into her novel which introduces us to a new riveting way of learning.




    Octavia E. Butler does an amazing job being quite detailed in every character's personality. Dana is a quite relatable character due to the fact that she is modernized like ourselves and she has reactions most of us would have if we were forced into slavery. The second main character, Rufus, has a quite complex and unique personality because he is from a different era and his perspective is different than ours when it comes to African- Americans. Rufus starts off as an innocent boy who is racist due to his society that’s surrounding him, Rufus is good at heart but his society changes him as he gets older. Tom Weylin, Rufus’s father, is a unique character that is quite complex. Tom is the typical 1800 century white man who thinks low of African- Americans and believes they were only born to become slaves. Tom Weylin is complex in a way that he has an abolitionist mind set and although Butler does not talk about him much, we are able to get a sense of his thoughts through his words and actions.




    The book Kindred is mostly focused around the early 1800s and this gives an insight of life during this time. It is quite unique how Butler uses her writing techniques to let us visualize everything that Dana is going through and feel what she is feeling. For example we are able to visualize how Dana time travels thanks to Butler’s detailed writing. The vocabulary that she uses is very unique and does an excellent job of letting us feel her confusion as she travels back and forth through time. As she explains Dana’s dizziness and how everything just seems to disappear, the readers are able to get a sense of what Dana is seeing and we are able to get into her shoes while we read. Apart from Butler’s explicit writing, it’s very interesting when we follow Dana back in time to the 1800s and the character’s speeches are a resemblance of old Southern English. We are able to find times when Dana, who uses modernize English, clashes with the characters of the 1800’s making Kindred a more authentic reading.




    I absolutely recommend this book because of the story line from beginning to end, the reader will really feel a bond between the characters. From one event to another, in the book we truly  see the characters grow in personality and in their being. As the reader follows Dana’s journey, they can stay glued into this book for hours with the anticipation of finding out what will happen next. Butler did an incredible job in making sure Kindred is authentic, clever, and riveting in such a way that any fan of history or science- fiction will agree that it is the best combination of both put into one amazing novel. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    CAPTIVATING PAGE TURNER!

    The other reviews are correct. I could not put it down. I read this on my Nook and there was a problem with the charger, so I spent hours trying to find a repair shop to continue the book. What a great concept for a story. We in the present times often think we would never survive as slaves but this beautifully written book proves that we problably could. I will definitely read other books by her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is a must read book. Fantastic characters, storyline. Don't let the sci-fi label scare you away, this book transcends genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Great book

    One of the best books i ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Best book ever!

    This is my favorite book. This book is a phenomenal story. It is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Five Star Rated Story/Book (which I never give)

    A+ written story; A+ storyline; A+ characters
    This book will stay in your mind long after you have finished reading it. It is unique and sooo well written. As a reader you are not sure what will happen next; what you will learn; or where the path will lead you; or how you will feel about it. (Unfortunately rare these days.) Do you like/love/hate/understand/forgive Rufus? Will you cheer/boo/criticize/judge Dana? Will you cry for Kevin/Issac/Sarah/Alice? Do yourself a favor and pick up this book for your permanent library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Best book ever

    I dont really like to have to read school books. I usually only read books that i like but, i have to say Kindred is amazing! How she can be transported back in time to help save a boy and is stuck there until she is in danger and returns when the boy isin danger is amazing and how she has to pretend to be a slave just so she wont die is incredible!!!! It is a must read AND again i dont read sci fi but really really terrific!! Reconmened to ALL!!! :] <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Loved it!

    A friend told me about this book and i couldnt put it down!! Glad that i listened. Will read her other books. But.....i wished the ending let me know what happened next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Fantastic!

    This book was great from start to finish! if you like science fiction and history, you'll be blown away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    What a great book

    This book is about this woman

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    Could NOT put this book down!

    This book was incredible! Best time travel; historical fiction EVER! I was surprised the original was first published in 1979. How come I hadn't heard of it?
    The character, Dana's transitions into the past and then to the present again were so real-so believable.
    I can't tell you much about the book because you just HAVE TO READ IT! Try to do it on a day that you don't have to get up and go to work or school early the next day. Just a friendly warning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome African American Science Fiction and Fantasy Title

    This book as a welcome addition to any reader that loves a realistic blend of sci-fi, fiction, and history. "Kindred" weaves a tale that travels between the present day and a forgettable time somewhere within or nations history.
    The story telling is first rate, and it's main character, Dana, is adept at relating her pain and suffering in a way that makes you feel every observation and feel every moment. She is a strong female character who actually shows strength, by having to be meek, and for good reason.
    This was my first reading of a book by Octavia Butler, and I actually thought this was a modern story set in a different era until I read the readers guide. I guess I would have to classify this a timeless story that will fit an with any generation. Kudos, and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A view of the antebellum south you can strongly feel through a modern black woman.

    A very different way to approach a "new slave" book by having a modern day African American married to a white man in 1976 suddenly, and inexplicably travel back in time to the antebellum south. Octavia focuses the book on the impact her "appearances" on a southern plantation has on the cast of very rich characters, and on the profound impact the experiences have on her and leaves the vehicle of travel (time travel) devoid of explanation. That, in itself, catapults this book to great literature and not science fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    This is now the best book that I have ever read! The idea is amazing and it is told in a manner that is so easy to read. I believe that this should be required reading for High School kids prior to graduation. I just can't say enough because it leaves you speachless...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    Intermingling of souls, past and present

    I read this beautiful novel many years ago, as time have came and gone the purpose has remained. Kindred is totally life changing. Slavery is not physical,it is all mental. Slavery exist today only because we choose to not think outside the box and explore the possibilities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Outstanding!

    No words can describe how I feel about this novel. It is a fantastic out of the ordinary, time travel story that touches deeply unto the life of a young 20th century black american woman who unwillingly travels back & forth to the slave holding south about 10 yrs before the civil war. There is love, betrayal, & of course the physical & psychological cruelty of plantation life. The horrible bond between nadia & rufus, the slave holding plantation owner is riveting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Fantastic read!

    I was really impressed! I was upset when the book ended.. I wanted it to keep going. Highly recommend this boom if you enjoyed The Help you'll enjoy Kindred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Kindred¿ by: Octavia E. Butler is a very riveting book filled wi

    Kindred” by: Octavia E. Butler is a very riveting book filled with many twists. It has many authentic pieces in the story that even leave you off the edge of your seat. If you are looking for a book that is interesting and can also teach you something. This is the book you are looking for because it's very interesting and it also teaches the readers to have more sense of how slavery was back in time.The book Kindred is about an African American woman named Dana which she's accompanied by her boyfriend named Kevin in which they both live in Los Angeles,CA. Her boyfriend Kevin Is white unlike her which in that time it was allowed for whites to be with blacks unlike Rufus’s time. So basically throughout the book Dana travels through time from 1976 to 1815. The reason she travels into time is to save a small red headed boy named Rufus. Without any knowing of who the boy is , she keeps on traveling back and forth to save Rufus from trouble. Which was a very difficult thing to face for both Dana and Kevin because they were together and Dana as African American knew how to read and write so it was a struggle to know all this in Rufus’s time and for a African American to be married to a white person. The authors purpose of writing this novel “Kindred” is for readers to gain knowledge and a type of sense of how slavery use to be , but in this book the author uses a variety of ways to interact there reader into becoming interested in reading about something that actually happened a long time ago , something historical Except that the author uses science fiction for the character to travel back and forth in time.
    The plot of the novel “Kindred” is riveting it interests the readers by catching their  attention in an exciting way so that the reader doesn’t get bored. For example, when Dana first time travels to save Rufus from drowning and Dana takes him out to the shore where Rufus’s mother was, that was the first time that Dana had time traveled. The first time she had ever met seen Ruus other than that she didn’t have a clue who the boy was. This novel has the plot full of twist as when Dana is stuck in the past and she starts to read to Rufus and some slave workers that work for Mr. Weylin, it literally has you on the edge of your seat because back in that time no slave was allowed to read or write because they would write letter or run away and make plans, therefore Dana was making very dangerous decisions that could lead her to getting beaten, so this is something full of twists because you don’t know if she is going to get caught by Mr. Weylin when kevin isn’t around. This is also an authentic novel because the way the author describes everything in the book it makes the reader feel as if they were in the book living every event that was happening in the book, you can actually believe what’s going on in the story. 
    The characters in the novel “Kindred” are Dana which is the protagonist of the story , Rufus which is the second protagonist of the story and finally Kevin which is the supporting character. To start off with Dana has many personal traits that make her be relatable which is that she’s helpful and knows how to work under stressful situations, and she also overcomes her fears. I would say that she is a relatable character because many people have things in common with her that they can relate to like being helpful towards other without knowing them reminds me of people everywhere around the world that help people stay out of hunger by donating food and also some things that are even so simple like walking an elderly person down the street, thats what makes Dana relatable to people in real life but also she is a very unique character she goes through a lot to make sure Rufus learns how to read and makes her read to him which gets her in trouble and she gets beaten so she’s unique because even though she knew the consequences she still went on and read. In the other hand Rufus is a very complex character because he is influenced by his dad who is a slave owner and so rufus is inheriting  the old customs of calling the slaves inappropriate names. Rufus doesn’t appreciate the people who helped them as much because of the customs he has grown up with. Lastly Kevin is a supporting character and he is relatable because he supports Dana in anyway possible he can he is understanding and he makes sure Dana is okay when she time travels and helps her out a lot so that she has everything she may need. Therefore Kevin is a very relatable character in the story as well as Dana is they are both very helpful people that would do anything to help a stranger.
    I would say that this novel had great dialogue throughout which this made the book very engaging and interesting between the characters which gave the reader a sense of what’s going on. The dialogue was a very important element for this story to come alive to reader because it kept the story moving forward since there wasn’t a lot of descriptive language that was being given so therefore the dialogue was the most important of this story to make things exciting and engaging  for the reader.
    In conclusion “Kindred” is a great book for anyone to read I highly recommend it. I would give this book five stars because for the most I found this novel to be very catchy and a very intriguing story. It was set to be mysterious and not predictable so the reader is interested. It’s the kind of book that leaves you off the edge of your seat and makes you want to keep reading more and more because the author does a great job to actually make it seem as if you were in the times of slavery and to see how difficult it was for an African American person to survive in the past and how hard it was to be eligible for them to read and write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

     Imagine yourself in a zone where you don't know anyone and go



     Imagine yourself in a zone where you don't know anyone and going back to time to a place where people of your color are being slaves and you being able to see and smell their sweat. In the novel “Kindred” by Octavia E. Butler it tells a story about a 26 year old African- American woman named Dana Franklin, who would catch her self in time saving a young man named Rufus every time he was in danger. What counts as months and weeks in the past would count as seconds and hours in the present so she would feel like she was gone for a long time. Dana knew how to read and write because she was a writer in New York. In the 19th century no African- American would be educated and be able to do what she was capable of doing. This era was a very harsh time period for African- Americans that were being slaves of the white community. The author’s purpose is to teach you about the history the African- Americans went through and also not that just whites had slavery.
    The book starts with a very riveting start that makes you confused, but at the same time it makes you wonder what's going to happen next and also full of plots twists through the whole book. Also, the book is so interesting that it makes it feel authentic and visual what is happening and it feels so real, you can just imagine feeling those emotions and pain also. 
    The main two characters of this novel are Dana and Rufus whose relationship grew over time but they never became close friends. Rufus was white and Dana was African- American so Rufus had to treat her like the other slaves but didn't make Dana suffer that much like other ones. These two characters are complex, unique, and relatable in so many ways. It’s hard to find it relatable but by seeing Rufus actual personality he’s somewhat like Dana just in a little harder way. Both Dana and Rufus had a very tough personality because Rufus wanted to have everything his way but Dana also wanted to have something her way. Dana and Rufus would make mistakes but then still help each other no matter if they hated each other. Rufus and Dana also faced conflicts. Dana’s husband Kevin wouldn’t believe her about time traveling and Rufus’s dad would whip him.
    The Author doesn't really use a lot of descriptive imagery but does use a lot of dialogue. Throughout the whole book in the middle of each chapter something really interesting happens and would make you want to keep reading to find out what's going on. An example of this is, “The house, the books, everything vanished. Suddenly, I was outdoors kneeling on the ground beneath trees...”. This quote was unexpected because it makes you wonder why that happened and what's going to happen next. Another quote is, “I went over to pick it up, but just as i reached it, someone grabbed me and swung around me. Suddenly, I was facing a young white man...”.  Since Dana was African- American it is interesting that who can it be that grabbed her if it was a white men and if she would be in trouble. 
    Overall, the book “Kindred” was a very touching and shocking novel since it talk about African- American slavery and how cruel they would be with them. It also shows you that not all white people wanted to harm those innocent slaves but they had no choice then to do it and keep doing what their ancestors did. This novel is historical science fiction and is an amazing book to read. I recommend it to people because it keeps you on the edge of your seat and gives you a little background of some history. I would give this book from one to five I will give it a five because for me that I'm picky with books it amazed me and was a really great book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    This book will have you hooked!

    This book was a really great read it kept you guessing with a twist to it. What more can you ask for in a book. GREAT STORY LINE. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9