Customer Reviews for

Kindred

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 185 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 10
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    A blend of today and the 1800s

    This is a well written book about, about a woman traveling back and forth from modern times to the time of slavery. The description of what she saw and the people she met makes this a interesting book. I was always wondering what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    a Must read!

    I can't believe that I never heard of this book before. It's amazing!!The story goes back and forth-in time- between the 70's and a pre-civil war southern plantation. BTW, our heroine is a black woman, married to a white man. This book is considered science fiction but it is for anyone who loves history and the human or inhumane condition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Outstanding!

    No words can describe how I feel about this novel. It is a fantastic out of the ordinary, time travel story that touches deeply unto the life of a young 20th century black american woman who unwillingly travels back & forth to the slave holding south about 10 yrs before the civil war. There is love, betrayal, & of course the physical & psychological cruelty of plantation life. The horrible bond between nadia & rufus, the slave holding plantation owner is riveting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Fantastic read!

    I was really impressed! I was upset when the book ended.. I wanted it to keep going. Highly recommend this boom if you enjoyed The Help you'll enjoy Kindred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Kindred┬┐ by: Octavia E. Butler is a very riveting book filled wi

    Kindred” by: Octavia E. Butler is a very riveting book filled with many twists. It has many authentic pieces in the story that even leave you off the edge of your seat. If you are looking for a book that is interesting and can also teach you something. This is the book you are looking for because it's very interesting and it also teaches the readers to have more sense of how slavery was back in time.The book Kindred is about an African American woman named Dana which she's accompanied by her boyfriend named Kevin in which they both live in Los Angeles,CA. Her boyfriend Kevin Is white unlike her which in that time it was allowed for whites to be with blacks unlike Rufus’s time. So basically throughout the book Dana travels through time from 1976 to 1815. The reason she travels into time is to save a small red headed boy named Rufus. Without any knowing of who the boy is , she keeps on traveling back and forth to save Rufus from trouble. Which was a very difficult thing to face for both Dana and Kevin because they were together and Dana as African American knew how to read and write so it was a struggle to know all this in Rufus’s time and for a African American to be married to a white person. The authors purpose of writing this novel “Kindred” is for readers to gain knowledge and a type of sense of how slavery use to be , but in this book the author uses a variety of ways to interact there reader into becoming interested in reading about something that actually happened a long time ago , something historical Except that the author uses science fiction for the character to travel back and forth in time.
    The plot of the novel “Kindred” is riveting it interests the readers by catching their  attention in an exciting way so that the reader doesn’t get bored. For example, when Dana first time travels to save Rufus from drowning and Dana takes him out to the shore where Rufus’s mother was, that was the first time that Dana had time traveled. The first time she had ever met seen Ruus other than that she didn’t have a clue who the boy was. This novel has the plot full of twist as when Dana is stuck in the past and she starts to read to Rufus and some slave workers that work for Mr. Weylin, it literally has you on the edge of your seat because back in that time no slave was allowed to read or write because they would write letter or run away and make plans, therefore Dana was making very dangerous decisions that could lead her to getting beaten, so this is something full of twists because you don’t know if she is going to get caught by Mr. Weylin when kevin isn’t around. This is also an authentic novel because the way the author describes everything in the book it makes the reader feel as if they were in the book living every event that was happening in the book, you can actually believe what’s going on in the story. 
    The characters in the novel “Kindred” are Dana which is the protagonist of the story , Rufus which is the second protagonist of the story and finally Kevin which is the supporting character. To start off with Dana has many personal traits that make her be relatable which is that she’s helpful and knows how to work under stressful situations, and she also overcomes her fears. I would say that she is a relatable character because many people have things in common with her that they can relate to like being helpful towards other without knowing them reminds me of people everywhere around the world that help people stay out of hunger by donating food and also some things that are even so simple like walking an elderly person down the street, thats what makes Dana relatable to people in real life but also she is a very unique character she goes through a lot to make sure Rufus learns how to read and makes her read to him which gets her in trouble and she gets beaten so she’s unique because even though she knew the consequences she still went on and read. In the other hand Rufus is a very complex character because he is influenced by his dad who is a slave owner and so rufus is inheriting  the old customs of calling the slaves inappropriate names. Rufus doesn’t appreciate the people who helped them as much because of the customs he has grown up with. Lastly Kevin is a supporting character and he is relatable because he supports Dana in anyway possible he can he is understanding and he makes sure Dana is okay when she time travels and helps her out a lot so that she has everything she may need. Therefore Kevin is a very relatable character in the story as well as Dana is they are both very helpful people that would do anything to help a stranger.
    I would say that this novel had great dialogue throughout which this made the book very engaging and interesting between the characters which gave the reader a sense of what’s going on. The dialogue was a very important element for this story to come alive to reader because it kept the story moving forward since there wasn’t a lot of descriptive language that was being given so therefore the dialogue was the most important of this story to make things exciting and engaging  for the reader.
    In conclusion “Kindred” is a great book for anyone to read I highly recommend it. I would give this book five stars because for the most I found this novel to be very catchy and a very intriguing story. It was set to be mysterious and not predictable so the reader is interested. It’s the kind of book that leaves you off the edge of your seat and makes you want to keep reading more and more because the author does a great job to actually make it seem as if you were in the times of slavery and to see how difficult it was for an African American person to survive in the past and how hard it was to be eligible for them to read and write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

     Imagine yourself in a zone where you don't know anyone and go



     Imagine yourself in a zone where you don't know anyone and going back to time to a place where people of your color are being slaves and you being able to see and smell their sweat. In the novel “Kindred” by Octavia E. Butler it tells a story about a 26 year old African- American woman named Dana Franklin, who would catch her self in time saving a young man named Rufus every time he was in danger. What counts as months and weeks in the past would count as seconds and hours in the present so she would feel like she was gone for a long time. Dana knew how to read and write because she was a writer in New York. In the 19th century no African- American would be educated and be able to do what she was capable of doing. This era was a very harsh time period for African- Americans that were being slaves of the white community. The author’s purpose is to teach you about the history the African- Americans went through and also not that just whites had slavery.
    The book starts with a very riveting start that makes you confused, but at the same time it makes you wonder what's going to happen next and also full of plots twists through the whole book. Also, the book is so interesting that it makes it feel authentic and visual what is happening and it feels so real, you can just imagine feeling those emotions and pain also. 
    The main two characters of this novel are Dana and Rufus whose relationship grew over time but they never became close friends. Rufus was white and Dana was African- American so Rufus had to treat her like the other slaves but didn't make Dana suffer that much like other ones. These two characters are complex, unique, and relatable in so many ways. It’s hard to find it relatable but by seeing Rufus actual personality he’s somewhat like Dana just in a little harder way. Both Dana and Rufus had a very tough personality because Rufus wanted to have everything his way but Dana also wanted to have something her way. Dana and Rufus would make mistakes but then still help each other no matter if they hated each other. Rufus and Dana also faced conflicts. Dana’s husband Kevin wouldn’t believe her about time traveling and Rufus’s dad would whip him.
    The Author doesn't really use a lot of descriptive imagery but does use a lot of dialogue. Throughout the whole book in the middle of each chapter something really interesting happens and would make you want to keep reading to find out what's going on. An example of this is, “The house, the books, everything vanished. Suddenly, I was outdoors kneeling on the ground beneath trees...”. This quote was unexpected because it makes you wonder why that happened and what's going to happen next. Another quote is, “I went over to pick it up, but just as i reached it, someone grabbed me and swung around me. Suddenly, I was facing a young white man...”.  Since Dana was African- American it is interesting that who can it be that grabbed her if it was a white men and if she would be in trouble. 
    Overall, the book “Kindred” was a very touching and shocking novel since it talk about African- American slavery and how cruel they would be with them. It also shows you that not all white people wanted to harm those innocent slaves but they had no choice then to do it and keep doing what their ancestors did. This novel is historical science fiction and is an amazing book to read. I recommend it to people because it keeps you on the edge of your seat and gives you a little background of some history. I would give this book from one to five I will give it a five because for me that I'm picky with books it amazed me and was a really great book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    This book will have you hooked!

    This book was a really great read it kept you guessing with a twist to it. What more can you ask for in a book. GREAT STORY LINE. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Kick a$$!!!

    Give this book a chance. It's so powerful and so different from everything else out there. I read it a couple years ago and I still find myself thinking back on it. Butler's Xenogenesis series is also very good, if not disturbing and scary and mind blowing!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Great work

    One of the most entertaining, yet meaningful books I have ever read. Butler was a very gifted, creative writer. This is a work that deals with an uncomfortable issue in the American experience. Yet, this story and its characters are presented masterfully. I highly recommend this book, and I intend to read it again myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    I loved Kindred!

    Butler's Kindred is an amazing sci-fi and historical fiction text. The protaganist Dana is transported to the time of her ancestors and that is where the adventure begins. Butler was a head of her time.
    It is worth reading as it weaves slave narratives, American history and the conflict of a modern black woman who transports to her past to save her future. Its an amazing read. I am now ready to read all Butler titles. Worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Awesome!

    Love kove loved this book! I bought this a few years ago could not put it down. It is a must read! EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great read

    Kindred is amazing. The story starts very quickly and takes you on an emotional roller coaster. I was angry, happy, and sad all at once. The author takes time travel and turns it into a historical story of a woman from modern day times and transports her to the days of slavery. The story is so vivid that you can relate to the characters. I highly recommend this book to anyone who would love to know what it was like being a slave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Good read!

    Felt the travel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    READ IT FIVE TIMES

    AT FIRST I DIDN'T LIKE THE TITLE OF THE NOVEL. I READ THE FIRST CHAPTER AND THOUGHT IT WAS INTERESTING, THEN KEPT ON READING THE BOOK. I READ IT IN THREE DAYS, TO ME THIS IS THE FIRST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ IN THREE DAYS. I READ IT TWO WEEKS LATER AND ONE WEEK AFTER THAT. SO YEAH, I RATE THIS BOOK FIVE STARS. WHO EVER THINKS THEY DON'T LIKE TO READ, THIS NOVEL WILL ENABLE YOU TO READ A BIT MORE THAN YOU USED TO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Great tragic love story!

    I had to read this book for one of my college classes and absolutely fell in love with it. It is now one of my favorite novels and I love the chemistry between Dana and Rufus in it! A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    Transcends time and language.

    This work excells at illuminating us about slavery in this country and the eventual consequences it had in American society well into the present. This was the first book I enjoyed in the English language after four years of studying Shakespeare's tongue. This book is not only a quick read but also extremely interesting and captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    out of the way

    this book shows wat can happen between real life and the past ,how different it is to live in the past how whites really treated blacks and how they never stopped at anything to try and ruin the life of blacks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    More African Americans Should Write Sci-Fi Novels

    This book was pure genius--I wish there were more black novelists like this one--this was a brilliant idea, and I wish they would make it into a motion picture! How awesome would that be??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Awsome!

    I've read this book five years ago by recommendation from my English teacher. All I can say is that this book is absolutely good! I recommend this book to any who are interested in US's history on slavery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    Memorable

    I read this book many years ago and I still think about it. It combines time travel, history, culture, personalities and events that are fascinating. I wish she'd write more books. I've read all her books and they're wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 185 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 10