Customer Reviews for

Kindred Spirits

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Friendship and Martinis

A few years back I was in the bookstore looking for something to take to the beach with me, when the title Bubbles Ablaze caught my eye because, really, how could it not? I devoured it, and quickly whipped through the rest of the Bubbles series which is how I became a f...
A few years back I was in the bookstore looking for something to take to the beach with me, when the title Bubbles Ablaze caught my eye because, really, how could it not? I devoured it, and quickly whipped through the rest of the Bubbles series which is how I became a fan of its author, Sarah Strohmeyer. So when she offered an advanced copy of her upcoming novel, Kindred Spirits, for review, I jumped at the chance, and I'm so glad I did.

The book's opening chapter focuses on the end of Lynne Flannery's eight year battle with cancer. Although it is sad, Lynne faces her final hours with grace, dignity and even a little humor. Through Lynne's eyes, we get to know her three best friends; Carol, Mary Kay and Beth. The longtime friendship of these four woman began in young adulthood, but had waned somewhat in more recent years.

Lynne leaves a letter for the other three women, asking them to do something for her she was unable to accomplish before her death. The three of them of them loaded up in a car to drive from their home in Connecticut to western Pennsylvania in order to fulfill their friend's dying wish. While they explored this unfamiliar part of the country, they also explored parts of themselves and their friendship that were also previously unknown to them. Along the way they share laughter, tears and martinis. Over the course of the trip, it is apparent that by asking them for this favor, Lynne has actually done them an even bigger favor because their friendship strengthens.

It may start with a death, but Kindred Spirits is truly a celebration of life. Sarah Strohmeyer is able to weave together the separate stories of these four women into one story about the life affirming power of friendship. It will remind women to nourish friendships because those friendships are what helps us through the trials of life. And do I even need to mention the great martini recipes?

posted by MyNameIsCat on February 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

ugh

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don't waste your time...unless you like boring, perdictable, stereotypical, preachy, close-minded drivel. Then you are welcome to it.

posted by 9826363 on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Friendship and Martinis

    A few years back I was in the bookstore looking for something to take to the beach with me, when the title Bubbles Ablaze caught my eye because, really, how could it not? I devoured it, and quickly whipped through the rest of the Bubbles series which is how I became a fan of its author, Sarah Strohmeyer. So when she offered an advanced copy of her upcoming novel, Kindred Spirits, for review, I jumped at the chance, and I'm so glad I did.

    The book's opening chapter focuses on the end of Lynne Flannery's eight year battle with cancer. Although it is sad, Lynne faces her final hours with grace, dignity and even a little humor. Through Lynne's eyes, we get to know her three best friends; Carol, Mary Kay and Beth. The longtime friendship of these four woman began in young adulthood, but had waned somewhat in more recent years.

    Lynne leaves a letter for the other three women, asking them to do something for her she was unable to accomplish before her death. The three of them of them loaded up in a car to drive from their home in Connecticut to western Pennsylvania in order to fulfill their friend's dying wish. While they explored this unfamiliar part of the country, they also explored parts of themselves and their friendship that were also previously unknown to them. Along the way they share laughter, tears and martinis. Over the course of the trip, it is apparent that by asking them for this favor, Lynne has actually done them an even bigger favor because their friendship strengthens.

    It may start with a death, but Kindred Spirits is truly a celebration of life. Sarah Strohmeyer is able to weave together the separate stories of these four women into one story about the life affirming power of friendship. It will remind women to nourish friendships because those friendships are what helps us through the trials of life. And do I even need to mention the great martini recipes?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Highly Recommend! A Journey of Best Friends...

    Last week, I received a special package in the mail. In this package was the newest (KINDRED SPIRITS) from Sarah Strohmeyer, after a long wait and multiple rewrites. And let me tell you, it was worth the time that she took to get it perfect. This is her best yet.

    Cried in the first chapter, as it reminded me of what my brother was going through before he died. So there, that was the hard part, getting through that first chapter while wondering if tissues should be kept handy. Lynne had fought her fight, and then had made the final decision.

    However, there was something that she needed her three best friends to do for her, that she had been unable to accomplish before her death. And so, these three start the journey whilst fulfilling Lynne's request that they partake of a different martini each night. There was much laughter as they remembered the good times they had shared, and there are tears for their friend. As they take this trip, they also learn more about themselves and what love means.

    The love these friends shared was the hook that got me. None were perfect, but it was the love that shone through. It was sentimental without being sappy. Loving and funny, without detracting from the loss of their dearest friend.

    So now, I sit and contemplate what book to read next. There are many from my Mount To-Be-Read that I could consider. Or maybe start reading the books that I will be judging. But really, I just want to sit and absorb and think on how wonderful this book was..and maybe even read it again.

    Now, I eagerly await the official release of KINDRED SPIRITS by Sarah Strohmeyer, as this is definitely going to be my gift book of choice this year. Besides wanting the final version as my own keeper, I also have dear friends and loved ones who will appreciate it.

    This is definitely a book to share with your dearest friends, as life may be short, but the love continues to grow.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Sarah Strohmeyers's Best Novel Yet!

    Sarah Strohmeyer (author of Cinderella Pact and The Sleeping Beauty Proposal) has outdone herself in her newest novel, Kindred Spirits. In this novel, we meet four women who form an unlikely friendship brought together after a difficult PTA meeting and the concoction of their favorite cocktail, the martini. Thus the Ladies Society for the Conservation of Martinis is formed. Through the years they re-create and perfect the delicious cocktail while their friendship continues to grow and strengthen. These women essentially become sisters. They see each other through wonderful, exciting times in their lives; and they also support each other through various difficult, life-changing situations. After the tragic loss of one of their beloved group members, the remaining three friends find themselves traveling across state lines to fulfill a last request, and finding themselves forced to question where they are in their lives and whether they should go on with their lives with business as usual. Sarah Strohmeyer has gone from writing chick-lit, beach-read novels to now writing a substantial, compelling story about the strength of female friendships. One can't help but feel very deeply about Mary Kay, Beth, Carol and Lynne. This story affirms the strength of the female bond and how even after death love lives on. Every woman, who after reading this book, will want to gather their girlfriends for their own meeting of the Ladies Society for the Conservation of Martinis.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    The laughter and tears will make it hard to put down.

    This book is quite different than the other Sarah Stromeyer books I have loved. The story focuses on the relationships of 4 women who are close friends for many years after becoming acquainted at a PTA meeting. They form the Society for the Preservation of Martinis. Brought together in a whole new venture when Lynne dies after losing her long battle with cancer,they put their lives on hold to fulfill Lynne's last request of them. The remaining trio promised to clean out Lynne's personal things after her death. They find surprising unfinished business that Lynne had hidden from everyone in her life. She asks the Society members to go on a road trip to tell her mother that she has died and to find the daughter, unwillingly given up at birth, that no one knew Lynne had. Lynne hadn't spoken to or about her mother since before she arrived in town as a teenager running away from pain and betrayal that she couldn't deal with. The story is thought provoking and emotionally riveting. Every woman who is fortunate enough to have had the unconditional love of friends will relate to the characters. Every man who says he can't understand what makes women tick should read this book. PS It also has some great martini recipes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The bonds of friendship.....

    This novel takes the reader on a path of a beautiful friendship between four amazing women. They experience the ups and downs of life without losing sight of the bond they share. I laughed and cried and made a promise to myself to make some martinis with my very best friends. This novel is definitely worth noticing and youll be glad that you decided to immerse yourself in their story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    A must read! I highly recommend this heartwarming story!

    Kindred Spirits is a heartwarming tale of life, friendship, family, devotion and martinis! The story about four best friends and their struggles in life remind us all of what's really important in our lives. Strohmeyer's writing style grabs the reader and pulls her into the story right away. It's difficult to put down after you begin. I love the Bubbles stories and the fairy tale titled stories also by Strohmeyer. However, they are very different than Kindred Spirits, much more light-hearted reading. But, Strohmeyer's writing gets better with every word that she writes! This is an excellent read! You must indulge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1