Customer Reviews for

Kindred in Death (In Death Series #29)

Average Rating 4.5
( 309 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

FAMILY MATTERS

The beauty in Robb's In Death series is in Eve Dallas' journey of discovery towards finding kindred spirits, kin and family. In an earlier novel Eve justified her ploy to use herself to lure a murderer out of his craven cover by saying she could count on one hand the pe...
The beauty in Robb's In Death series is in Eve Dallas' journey of discovery towards finding kindred spirits, kin and family. In an earlier novel Eve justified her ploy to use herself to lure a murderer out of his craven cover by saying she could count on one hand the people who care for her and about whom she cares. Shaken, Roarke asks her how many cases she has had and how many dead she has "stood for." Hundreds!

Roarke knows Eve has never forgotten each face and name. And along the way this brilliant, courageous, difficult and troubled heroine has gathered kin, friends, love and family, the ultimate forces behind all of the books in the series.

Dr. Mira often reminds Eve that the cases are personal, a fact which drives Eve to right the wrongs, give dignity once again to the dead and restore them to their family. Indeed, family factors into this novel when a lovely daughter of a police Capt. is raped and murdered.

Eve knows first hand the horror of the abuse this innocent suffered. Now she examines the dynamics and dysfunction of the murderer's family as well as other family units. What drives one terrorized child to kill and another equally terrorized to stand for the dead as Eve does.

On this quest Eve learns about herself. But this courageous defender is tentative and inexperienced in outward displays of affection and fellowship-of babies, friends, parents and love. Brilliant and confident, Eve stands for the dead, yet awkward and unprotected she stands before those who love her.

But Robb surrounds Eve in every novel with people such as Peabody, Mavis, Louise, Nadine and other kindred folk who gravitate to Eve. Of course, there is Mira. In one scene Dr. Mira escorts Eve on an interview and compliments Eve for her kindnesses. Amusingly, Eve shows off before Mira with a chase and take down of a petty thief, winning Mira's amazement.

Is it coincidence that Mira's name begins with M- for mother, or am I searching for a symbol. Wonderful scenes between motherly Mira and unfolding Eve appear in all of the books. Mira matters dearly to Eve. And even Mira's children reveal to Eve that Eve is a child of Mira's heart.

Who could doubt Feeney's( F for father) protective, nurturing relationship to Eve and his developing kinship with Roarke, "son-in-law" and mutual defender of all things Eve.

This entry to the series is not perfect, but when one loves the characters, it does not matter. I wanted more humorous interaction with Peabody, and a car chase, of all things, featuring Eve's fully loaded, low profile car, a present from Roarke in Promises.

Actually I even wanted more of the Greek chorus- Summerset. He pushes the spitfire Eve to be a better person, able to show her true feelings. One funny exchange occurred when he remarked on Eve's banged up face: "I see you have had your monthly facial, Lieutenant."

In Kindred, Robb surrounds Eve with families, some dysfunctional and dangerous, willing to destroy their own, and others growing and changing positively. Ultimately, we have Peabody's free ager family, Dr. Mira, her loving husband and grandchildren, best friend Mavis, Leonardo and baby Belle among the many family units enfolding Eve with their warmth and comfort. Finally, Roarke and Eve, two "lost souls" further cement their love and family ties, while hosting Louise and Charles' wedding ceremony, uniting two kindred spirits before their extended family.

posted by Trueheart on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not her best.

I was disappointed. The plot wasn't well thought out. It was a stretch as to why the murders were being committed. The wedding seemed to be an afterthought. Language usually doesn't bother me but the grandmother's profanity seemed off. I did enjoy seeing that Eve i...
I was disappointed. The plot wasn't well thought out. It was a stretch as to why the murders were being committed. The wedding seemed to be an afterthought. Language usually doesn't bother me but the grandmother's profanity seemed off. I did enjoy seeing that Eve is mellowing some or it could have been the characters just weren't developed well in this book. The book just seemed hurried but, even a bad book by JD Robb (Nora Roberts) is better then many writers good books.

Read this book, especially of you into the in-death series, but don't expect JD Robb's usual great read. If you've never read a book by JD Robb, don't base the series off this one book.

posted by ILikeReading on November 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    Not her best.

    I was disappointed. The plot wasn't well thought out. It was a stretch as to why the murders were being committed. The wedding seemed to be an afterthought. Language usually doesn't bother me but the grandmother's profanity seemed off. I did enjoy seeing that Eve is mellowing some or it could have been the characters just weren't developed well in this book. The book just seemed hurried but, even a bad book by JD Robb (Nora Roberts) is better then many writers good books.

    Read this book, especially of you into the in-death series, but don't expect JD Robb's usual great read. If you've never read a book by JD Robb, don't base the series off this one book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    FAMILY MATTERS

    The beauty in Robb's In Death series is in Eve Dallas' journey of discovery towards finding kindred spirits, kin and family. In an earlier novel Eve justified her ploy to use herself to lure a murderer out of his craven cover by saying she could count on one hand the people who care for her and about whom she cares. Shaken, Roarke asks her how many cases she has had and how many dead she has "stood for." Hundreds!

    Roarke knows Eve has never forgotten each face and name. And along the way this brilliant, courageous, difficult and troubled heroine has gathered kin, friends, love and family, the ultimate forces behind all of the books in the series.

    Dr. Mira often reminds Eve that the cases are personal, a fact which drives Eve to right the wrongs, give dignity once again to the dead and restore them to their family. Indeed, family factors into this novel when a lovely daughter of a police Capt. is raped and murdered.

    Eve knows first hand the horror of the abuse this innocent suffered. Now she examines the dynamics and dysfunction of the murderer's family as well as other family units. What drives one terrorized child to kill and another equally terrorized to stand for the dead as Eve does.

    On this quest Eve learns about herself. But this courageous defender is tentative and inexperienced in outward displays of affection and fellowship-of babies, friends, parents and love. Brilliant and confident, Eve stands for the dead, yet awkward and unprotected she stands before those who love her.

    But Robb surrounds Eve in every novel with people such as Peabody, Mavis, Louise, Nadine and other kindred folk who gravitate to Eve. Of course, there is Mira. In one scene Dr. Mira escorts Eve on an interview and compliments Eve for her kindnesses. Amusingly, Eve shows off before Mira with a chase and take down of a petty thief, winning Mira's amazement.

    Is it coincidence that Mira's name begins with M- for mother, or am I searching for a symbol. Wonderful scenes between motherly Mira and unfolding Eve appear in all of the books. Mira matters dearly to Eve. And even Mira's children reveal to Eve that Eve is a child of Mira's heart.

    Who could doubt Feeney's( F for father) protective, nurturing relationship to Eve and his developing kinship with Roarke, "son-in-law" and mutual defender of all things Eve.

    This entry to the series is not perfect, but when one loves the characters, it does not matter. I wanted more humorous interaction with Peabody, and a car chase, of all things, featuring Eve's fully loaded, low profile car, a present from Roarke in Promises.

    Actually I even wanted more of the Greek chorus- Summerset. He pushes the spitfire Eve to be a better person, able to show her true feelings. One funny exchange occurred when he remarked on Eve's banged up face: "I see you have had your monthly facial, Lieutenant."

    In Kindred, Robb surrounds Eve with families, some dysfunctional and dangerous, willing to destroy their own, and others growing and changing positively. Ultimately, we have Peabody's free ager family, Dr. Mira, her loving husband and grandchildren, best friend Mavis, Leonardo and baby Belle among the many family units enfolding Eve with their warmth and comfort. Finally, Roarke and Eve, two "lost souls" further cement their love and family ties, while hosting Louise and Charles' wedding ceremony, uniting two kindred spirits before their extended family.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is another excellent installment in the series and well worth reading.

    KINDRED IN DEATH J.D Robb The first thing I don't like in books is the ugly four letter words in all conversation! KINDRED IN DEATH is entertaining and not only do I enjoy Eve and Roarke but the whole cast of characters is interesting and they keep me wanting more. The mystery is gripping and riveting, though rather gruesome. If you love guessing who the murderer is you will love this series. There is obviously a lot of research that goes into these murder mysteries. The murder scenes are shockingly real and can actually make you feel queasy. Great dimension in this rape / murder of McMaster's young, innocent daughter that begins the tireless frenzy that the department is in to find this killer before he strikes again.Too late! More frenzy, more sleepless nights. The author inserts a bit of humor here and there to break the monotony of misery and disgust that makes the murder scenes bearable. For the first time in the series Eve seems to develop a better understanding of her disturbing dreams. Compared to Deena she was lucky enough to be able to defend herself against her father. Because of that she finally seems to accept that killing her father was necessary and out of her control. This is another excellent installment in the series and well worth reading.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another awesome read in the "Death" series

    I love the entire series by J.D. Robb and have read and own them all. I even go back and reread them after I know "who done it" so that I can follow Eve's thinking process. Her books never loose my interest.

    Eve's character is strong and focused. Her and Roarke are the perfect couple as all fictional couples are. I enjoy the ying and the yang of their relationship.

    If you have read the other books in the series you will also love this one. If you haven't don't let that stop you. You'll still find it an entertaining, yet thrilling read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    terrific "In Death" futuristic police procedural

    Kindred in Death
    J.D. Robb
    Putnam, Nov 2009, $26.95
    ISBN: 9780399155956

    NYPD Police Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her husband Roarke are enjoying a rare three day weekend until she receives a call from Commander Whitney telling her to go to a crime scene wheere he will be waiting for her. Newly promoted Captain Jonah MacMasters and his wife went away for the weekend, but returned to find their sixteen years old daughter Deena dead; the teen was raped and sodomized several times before being suffocated to death.

    The security discs are missing in their home so no pictures of the perp is available, but the cops assume this was personal because on a video, Deena says this was her dad's fault. The Captain asks Dallas to lead the investigation; though close friends with Whitney and feeling exorbitant pressure, Eve agrees. During her investigation she learns the victim was deliberately targeted and the killer diligently researched to insure he knew when to attack and leave no ties. That Eve feels is his biggest mistake as Dallas and her team interview Deena's friends learning the teen she was secretly seeing a college aged boy. Witnesses give Eve a description of Deena's boyfriend. After he kills again with ties to the first homicide, Eve concludes he has a death list so she works even harder to bring this wannabe serial killer to justice.

    The key to the terrific "In Death" futuristic police procedural saga is the recurring cast grows and changes yet their basic essences remain the same so that they become more than just characters to the readers. In this harrowing case that Dallas wants no part of as she knows whatever she learns will disturb her friends, the murder of a cop's daughter hits home to readers (and Eve). J.D. Robb provides an excellent whodunit in which the heroine and her team meticulously step by step investigate without any unbelievable incidents not even by Roarke; making KINDRED IN DEATH one of the best entries in a strong series.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Robb (Roberts) Just Kee[s Them Coming

    I love the in Death series. Per ususal I could not put Kindred in Death down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I've always enjoyed this series. I like the futuristic setting (I like how advanced technology is in this series). Plus, I love the characters . But, after 29 books (there's actually a newer one than this plus 2 more set for release in fall and winter), I'm wondering if the series is starting to get redundant.

    Yes, Dallas is still battling her inner demons. I understand how after years of repressing it, it's going to take awhile for the memories to not fill so raw. But, I would like a book or too, were the case doesn't connect with Dallas. At the same time, I think each of these cases helps Dallas heal a little more. So, I hope you see my inner battle.

    I like the stories that seem to involve the whole gang more. This one seems to focus so much on Dallas, that even Peabody is a background character. I did really enjoy the case. It's gruesome and the police have so little to go on, I'm amazed they solved it. I liked how all the pieces fit so neatly together. I also liked how I was think the killer was someone completely different than it was.

    I'm sure I will keep reading this series. Eve and Roarke are to good to give up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Dallas and Roarke are the perfect characters

    I love this series. It always keeps you guessing and J D Robb always comes up with new ways to peak your interest. Every murder and murderer are different from the last and the stories are never boring. The characters in Roarke and Dallas' circle of friends and colleagues are wonderful and add great color to every book. Loved this one. Kept me interested from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Robb at her best!

    This series just gets better & better. The cast of characters is fantastic. The razor sharp wit never fails to amuse & the intimacy between Eve & Roarke continues to deepen. An excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Another great JD Robb book

    I always enjoy these books. I love following the character lives through the series and can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    She's done it again!

    I love this series by J.D. Robb. I can't wait for the next book to come! This one was fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable if you're into the series.....

    Another great book from the In Death series!! I would suggest though that the series move its characters along a little more. Mabe jump ahead 3 or 4 years. Let McNabb and Delia get married, have a kid. Engage Roarke and Eve into family talk!! While the crime stories remain excellent, the characters can be more challenging. Eve and Roarke while a great couple could face some more personal obsticles, his family could become more involved, where is Eve's mother, no relatives at all, we need a long lost cousin or aunt to boost these fantastic characters along. I will continue to read the JD Robb books as the Nora Roberts books have become so lame and predictable, I only read the In Death series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kindred in Death is JD Robb's 29th in her Eve Dallas series and if you're thinking they're getting stale, think again. This may be the best yet.

    JD brings us a fresh new mystery for our hero Eve Dallas and her stable of detectives to solve with the help of her suave and handsome husband the estimable Roarke. The characters while familiar are always revealing just a little more about themselves which adds depth to the story, while the hero and heroine are a constant they continue to wow their audiences with painful glimpses in their pasts. Her dialogue is classis Nora Roberts where her In Death series is concerned from her very abrupt Eve, to her classic good cop Peabody, to e-geek cops McNab and Feeney, her best friends quirky and spunky Mavis and newshound Nadine and who can forget her main squeeze and everyone's favorite hunk Roarke. The plot/story line is unique and her unfathomable imagination always wows me as to how she can keep coming up with new and different situations to put her characters in. And we always get to meet new and memorable folks in each read especially her villains which in this case is a cold blooded killer who's reason behind the crimes will keep you turning page after page until you come to the final outcome. The love scenes are as always sizzling and steamy and as we get to know our hero and heroine more and more we see just how much in love they are even or maybe because of their differences.
    So if you think you can just start reading this book without raising your blood pressure or increasing your pulse think again and get ready for one scary, exciting ride with this page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love the "Death By . . ." Series

    As a former law enforcement officer, I find the writing very authentic for law enforcement (though in the future). Normally I do not like the writing style of most female authors, but her style has crossed gender-stamped books. Although I don't think this story is as good as some she has written, it is still very enjoyable and worth the time to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for all readers

    I will read just about anything by Nora Roberts/JD Robb. Though, this series is my favorite. My 12 year old and I listen to these books on CD in the car (after i have read them). I just skip over the inappropriate parts (because of her age). We love discussing who we think did what and why. And cry over the characters who die unexpectedly.
    We just got my daughter a horse and she named the horse "Eve Dallas", she so admires the main character's brain and actions to make sure the bad guy gets caught.
    Though, the Lt's vocabulary is a often harsh, i would reccomend these books (I have all kept of them!) to anyone who loves to read or listen!
    Although it is a book, my daughter thinks she will find her own "Roarke" someday! Thank you Nora Roberts for so many hours of pleasure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Another solid Eve Dallas story! Like most of the others, Kindred

    Another solid Eve Dallas story! Like most of the others, Kindred had me laughing at parts and completely enthralled in the story. But this one also had me tearing up. It's possible that Kindred may have been the most emotional one of the series for me. I can't wait to see what is coming next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    You can not put it down

    This was very sad in ways....you feel for everyone in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Still waiting to receive the book

    I would love to be able to give a review of this book but I can't because I am still waiting for it. I ordered this book back on January 31, 2013 and have yet to receive it. All my emails have gone unanswered and I have no idea what is going on. The only thing I can give a review on is the poor customer service.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    JUST OKAY

    Not my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    This is the first Robb book I have read and I amsure will be my last.

    If I had rated this on the first 50 pages it would be even worse. The story was confusing because the author would change settings, scenes, people, conversations, etc. with no notice or break in the "action". I am the kind of person that finishes a book that is started - that makes it frustrating because I never should have finished it. Myrecommendation is, do not even start this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16