Customer Reviews for

Kindred in Death (In Death Series #29)

Average Rating 4.5
( 310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

FAMILY MATTERS

The beauty in Robb's In Death series is in Eve Dallas' journey of discovery towards finding kindred spirits, kin and family. In an earlier novel Eve justified her ploy to use herself to lure a murderer out of his craven cover by saying she could count on one hand the pe...
The beauty in Robb's In Death series is in Eve Dallas' journey of discovery towards finding kindred spirits, kin and family. In an earlier novel Eve justified her ploy to use herself to lure a murderer out of his craven cover by saying she could count on one hand the people who care for her and about whom she cares. Shaken, Roarke asks her how many cases she has had and how many dead she has "stood for." Hundreds!

Roarke knows Eve has never forgotten each face and name. And along the way this brilliant, courageous, difficult and troubled heroine has gathered kin, friends, love and family, the ultimate forces behind all of the books in the series.

Dr. Mira often reminds Eve that the cases are personal, a fact which drives Eve to right the wrongs, give dignity once again to the dead and restore them to their family. Indeed, family factors into this novel when a lovely daughter of a police Capt. is raped and murdered.

Eve knows first hand the horror of the abuse this innocent suffered. Now she examines the dynamics and dysfunction of the murderer's family as well as other family units. What drives one terrorized child to kill and another equally terrorized to stand for the dead as Eve does.

On this quest Eve learns about herself. But this courageous defender is tentative and inexperienced in outward displays of affection and fellowship-of babies, friends, parents and love. Brilliant and confident, Eve stands for the dead, yet awkward and unprotected she stands before those who love her.

But Robb surrounds Eve in every novel with people such as Peabody, Mavis, Louise, Nadine and other kindred folk who gravitate to Eve. Of course, there is Mira. In one scene Dr. Mira escorts Eve on an interview and compliments Eve for her kindnesses. Amusingly, Eve shows off before Mira with a chase and take down of a petty thief, winning Mira's amazement.

Is it coincidence that Mira's name begins with M- for mother, or am I searching for a symbol. Wonderful scenes between motherly Mira and unfolding Eve appear in all of the books. Mira matters dearly to Eve. And even Mira's children reveal to Eve that Eve is a child of Mira's heart.

Who could doubt Feeney's( F for father) protective, nurturing relationship to Eve and his developing kinship with Roarke, "son-in-law" and mutual defender of all things Eve.

This entry to the series is not perfect, but when one loves the characters, it does not matter. I wanted more humorous interaction with Peabody, and a car chase, of all things, featuring Eve's fully loaded, low profile car, a present from Roarke in Promises.

Actually I even wanted more of the Greek chorus- Summerset. He pushes the spitfire Eve to be a better person, able to show her true feelings. One funny exchange occurred when he remarked on Eve's banged up face: "I see you have had your monthly facial, Lieutenant."

In Kindred, Robb surrounds Eve with families, some dysfunctional and dangerous, willing to destroy their own, and others growing and changing positively. Ultimately, we have Peabody's free ager family, Dr. Mira, her loving husband and grandchildren, best friend Mavis, Leonardo and baby Belle among the many family units enfolding Eve with their warmth and comfort. Finally, Roarke and Eve, two "lost souls" further cement their love and family ties, while hosting Louise and Charles' wedding ceremony, uniting two kindred spirits before their extended family.

posted by Trueheart on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not her best.

I was disappointed. The plot wasn't well thought out. It was a stretch as to why the murders were being committed. The wedding seemed to be an afterthought. Language usually doesn't bother me but the grandmother's profanity seemed off. I did enjoy seeing that Eve i...
I was disappointed. The plot wasn't well thought out. It was a stretch as to why the murders were being committed. The wedding seemed to be an afterthought. Language usually doesn't bother me but the grandmother's profanity seemed off. I did enjoy seeing that Eve is mellowing some or it could have been the characters just weren't developed well in this book. The book just seemed hurried but, even a bad book by JD Robb (Nora Roberts) is better then many writers good books.

Read this book, especially of you into the in-death series, but don't expect JD Robb's usual great read. If you've never read a book by JD Robb, don't base the series off this one book.

posted by ILikeReading on November 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 197 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Eve Dallas: Justice, her mission, her mania

    The first time I read a J.D. Robb Death series book, it was one I found in a bargin bin a few years ago. I was immediately hooked. Eve Dallas is a riveting character and her husband Roarke(the prototype for the dark, dangerous, passionate, strong, yet vulnerble lover and husband), are a duo that criminals can't match.

    In this book, Eve is fighting the ghosts of her past while trying to find a killer who has slain the daughter of one of the NYPSD. The theme is original, the plot, emotional and thrilling. You actually feel as if you are part of team with the clock ticking down, while you match wits with a mad man. All of the books in this series are must reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I love this series!

    You can not go wrong with the death series!! They are always great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another installment of Eve and Roarke is never to be overlooked

    This novel is the latest in JD Robb's in death series. I love Nora Roberts for romance and never miss one of her books. I love JD Robb for suspense and this does not disappoint. I have read all the "In Death" series and my only complaint is they don't come out fast enough. This one expands the recurring characters roles and brings in new characters who will become favorites. Even though these are futuristic stories, they are not out of the realm of possibility-which is why I love them. I have hooked several of my friends on the series too and we all wait with impatience for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    This book is awesome - one of the best "In Death" installments in the past several years!

    I've read all of J.D. Robb's "In Death" series, and this novel was one of her more enjoyable efforts, at least in the past several years. The plot was great, the character development is better than in a few of the recent installments, and J.D. stepped up the humor, which I like! I usually listen to the audio books of this series (because I'm too cheap to buy the hardcovers and I drive long commutes), and I caught myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion. Susan Erickson ROCKS as the narrator of the audio books. She does a fabulous job bringing the characters to life, and you can practically see all of them as they go about their activities - Eve scowling around the homicide bull pen, Roarke taking over the corporate world, Peabody worrying over her weight and sex appeal, etc. If you have an opportunity to listen to any of this series, DO IT!

    Anyway, this is one of the better stories of the past few years, and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kindred in Death - Another Winner!!

    Great book again!!!! This book is a great addition to the In Death series. New plot, new twists. I read/listen (CD) Eve, is mellowing a little, good. The grandmother in this story was a hoot!!! I love when JD Robb has an unexpected character in each story, it makes the book more interesting. These books are never boring.

    I would like to see more of Roarke as a focus in one of the upcoming In Death series as well as McNabb and Peaboy. It was good to read that Louise and Charles' wedding went off without a hitch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    Love the series! Great addition!!

    The series is great! Robb really puts you into the characters fears, feelings and life. Wonderful addition to the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    I love the whole series.

    I've read the whole entire series and can't wait for the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book I couldn't put the book down. If your a J.D. Robb fan you will love and wish for more.

    One Day I hope she puts faces of some of the characters on the cover. Ive read all of them 29 I think and this was my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Good book!

    This is an awesome series that continues to get better and would highly recommend the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    Kindred in Death

    J.D. Robb just keeps getting better with each novel in the "In Death" series. She also continues to flesh out her characters with each book giving us more and more insight into their past history shaping them into the people they are today in the book. The books are multi-genre in that they have a little bit of everything for everyone to enjoy (action, romance, humor, etc.). My fondest wish is that before the series ends we get to see Eve dealing with pregnancy and the birth of her first child. Twice a year for this series is definitely not enough. I always make sure when I start reading the new one that I have a block of time in which to finish it at one sitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    JD ROBB Books, music CD, Astrud Gilberto

    I collect all of JD ROBB"s books i find the plot always intriguing, the action fast paced, never boring, has in fact read the books at least twice. i consider Nora Roberts one of the most versatile and talented writers in the world, her books are so varied in content and style. I don't like science fiction as a rule but JD ROBB's books are the exception. it's a good read all the time.

    Astrud Gilberto is one of my favorite singers, & I like to listen & sing along with her. This cd is worth the price and the time spent listening to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    great read

    I own all the JD Robb books and reread them constantly. This one will be among the more frequently read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    J.D. Robb is always a great read.

    Great read, I like all of the chacttors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    29 adventures with "Dallas, Lutenant Eve".

    It's hard to beliece that Dallas has had 29 advenuters - and each has expanded the characters in her extended family. I look forward to each release.

    It's interesting how things like wedding rituals and female pampering can freak such a strong woman. It's truly endearing the humanity that J.D. Robb brings to this amazing character.

    Thank you for this episode in the life of Eve Dallas. . .and here's to many more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Eve Dallas always is a winner

    JD Robb's (Nora Roberts) latest Eve Dallas thriller is hard to put down I always look forward to the next chapter of the In Death Series. All of the usual players are included in the story especially Eve's husband Roark. There is always a twist in Eve's personal life that adds to the story and makes the characters seem human not one dimential. It is a must read for all of JD Robb fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SHE'S DONE IT AGAIN!!!!

    I love this character, her husband Roarke, team of characters she call's friend's and co-workers.
    This book is another page turner and I have to say that again I lost a nights sleep because I could not put this book down. I love JD Robb (Nora Roberts) and Dallas. Nora Roberts can write a suspense novel and yet add that little bit of romance with Dallas and Roarke, and she does so in the future. SHe is amazing and so are her books. I love anything that she writes!! Can't wait for another "In Death"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series! This is one of the best. Please read it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and plot. This book gives an example of strange parenting. Just to cover their ass or lack of structure, some parents will destroy their children. Serial killers are made by their home environments. You'll enjoy this. Sometimes it's graphic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Good Read

    Just enough of the future to make it fun to read. Love the characters.
    I can hardly wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Kindred in Death

    Loved it,love anything by Nora Roberts/JD Robb.Once start her books,hard to put down.Always anxious for next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Consistently Excellent Writer!!!!

    Whether writing as Nora Roberts or J.D. Robb the books are always outstanding. I have and do love anything written by her. Continue the good work!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 197 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10