Customer Reviews for

The King Arthur Flour Baker's Companion: The All-Purpose Baking Cookbook

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Pleased

    I kept taking this book out of the library and I finally got smart and bought one for myself. I've had great success with the recipes I've done and I'm very happy with the book. Lots of information at the back of the book on various flours, etc. For beginners and those who already have been baking for awhile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    Perfect Baking Book!

    This is the most useful cook book I have ever seen. It doesn't just give you recipes, but it also educates you on how the recipes work. With the foundational knowledge this book has given me I feel free to branch out and modify recipes without being afraid of ruining them. If you know why food cooks the way it does then the doors open up to a whole new world of creative baking. This book is a must have for anyone who will ever bake anything!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Fabulous!

    If you need a fantastic baking book on how to bake virtually everything, then this is the book for you! Most cookbooks out there fail to mention little things that are extremely important in a recipe, such as sifting flour, using eggs that are at room temperature, which type of oil to use etc. Most cookbook authors either know this information and figure you do too, or the author does not know these techniques and those recipes in those books are not all they could be. And most cookbook buyers know how to read a recipe, yet do not understand it. King Arthur Flour is a company that has been in business for over 200 years. It is their business to know flour, and to understand how to use it. It is also to their benefit to educate their flour buyers in how to bake better, so they will be happier with the end product, and thus buy more flour and even recommend their flour to their friends. In their latest book: The King Arthur Flour Baker's Companion: The All-Purpose Baking Cookbook they explain why you need to sift your flour (it adds air to the mixtures which aids in leavening), why French Toast bread should be stale, why you only fry in certain oils and much more. They also offer recipes for virtually everything; from breakfast foods to quick breads, from doughnuts to yeast breads, from cobblers to cookies and cakes, as well as pies and quiches. This book even offers a section on which kitchen tools are the best for your baking projects: from type of chocolates to pie pans. This is a must-read section for any baker. This cookbook is designed for 90% of the cookbook buying population. This cookbook is fantastic as now you can understand what you are doing rather than just following directions. When you decide to make modifications to your recipes, now you will know what parameters you must maintain if you want your recipe to turn out. For example, almond oil will not work when frying doughnuts, as it has a very low smoke point. For the price of this book, you get more than what you are paying for. This is an excellent book and should be a standard in any home that has any baking! For added interest, King Arthur Flour offers free baking seminars across the country, as well as online classes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    There was no recipe for Christmas cake or mince pies ( almond fl

    There was no recipe for Christmas cake or mince pies ( almond flour).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    An amazing book on Baking

    I have been baking for many years and received this as a gift. I then gave this as a gift. I actually learned a lot from this book. King Arthur Flour is the premium choice for serious bakers. Amazingly the difference in quality flour.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Best Baking Cookbook Ever!

    I have already made several recipes from this cookbook, and all of them have turned out amazing! Lots of instructions to help understand ingredients, utensils, methods, options, etc. A great cookbook for anyone who loves to bake!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Presentation only exceeded by the Results!

    The fine research which preceeded publication is commendable. Explanations of the chemical interaction of the ingredients are deep enough that even a beginner into the art of baking is encouraged to read the directions thoroly for the best results. The "why's" are so very important in these days of nutritional concerns that learning from such a well researched source is vital. I was "introduced" to this volume by a gentleman who is as devoted to baking now as he was to his first profession of architecture!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    The Ultimate Baking Book

    This has rapidly become my go-to book for baking. I have yet to find a recipe that did not produce outstanding results, but it may take me many years to cook my way through this huge tome. In spite of its size, I love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    My new go-to cookbook

    I have made some great recipes from this cookbook. Using this book along with the information on the King Arthur website has been fantastic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Wonderful!

    When I was given this book for Christmas I read it cover to cover! There are so many recipes that I have tried and loved and many more that I am going to be making in the future. I love all of the tips and extra information included in this book. When you buy this book, be sure to try the Three Layer Chocolate Mousse. I have made many variations of this for different occasions and it is a hit every time! I love that the instructions are complete making this book wonderful for both beginning and experienced bakers alike. This will be an important addition to any cookbook collection especially those in need of a good baker's handbook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    absolute must!!

    if you are a baker, even a very beginning baker, this is the book for you! I was totally impressed that one of the first things I saw in the book was the best explanation of high altitude baking & what to do to make your recipes turn out perfectly! These people are thorough!! the recipes are easy to follow, easy to understand, & the results are excellent. bread, cookies, cakes, whatever you fancy, it's all here. I highly recommend this book, the writers are clear & concise, exactly what every baker needs to have to refer to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Necessary Guide

    I am a novice amateur baker. To me, this work is foundational. I bought the hardback version because I expect to use this over the long run. For me this is a necessary book in my kitchen library.Baking bread gives me immense pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Excellent baking cookbook

    Includes recipes for breads, muffins, cookies, bars, quick breads and so much more. I live their pancake recipes. Each recipe Includes nutritional information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Perfect for the beginner. Great reminders and hints for those who have baked for years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2