Customer Reviews for

King James Compact Text Bible

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It's great!

It's nice n' small, hardcover, very sturdy-can handle lots and lots of abuse, nice n' legible, words of Christ in red-which is way cool. It's a very nice Bible. As a teen I don't like carrying huge Bibles around, and I'm very bad at taking care of my stuff. So, it's gre...
It's nice n' small, hardcover, very sturdy-can handle lots and lots of abuse, nice n' legible, words of Christ in red-which is way cool. It's a very nice Bible. As a teen I don't like carrying huge Bibles around, and I'm very bad at taking care of my stuff. So, it's great because it's small, and very strong.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Big bang for your buck

Guys, this is an edition you can disrespect physically, and it'll still hold up to the wear and tear. The binding is sturdy enough to withstand abuse. The slightly textured binding surface is smooth enough to use as a notepaper writing surface. The casual appearance of ...
Guys, this is an edition you can disrespect physically, and it'll still hold up to the wear and tear. The binding is sturdy enough to withstand abuse. The slightly textured binding surface is smooth enough to use as a notepaper writing surface. The casual appearance of the mass-market dimension hardcover is enough to throw off disdainful heathens who have unerring radar to spot a Bible-toter from across the street. The printer assembled the hardcover edition (ISBN 0718001311) in Belgium, which continues to be a land of QUALITY layout and binding. The paper is thin but adequately opaque. The typeface is surprisingly EASY to read; the black ink is rich enough to make out the rather small font (point size unknown). Warning: should you absolutely need/require an edition (soft/hard) that has center-column reference or verse-reference, then move on: this little tome has neither. The tint of the red-letter words of Jesus is paler than I would have preferred, yet most publishers seem to scrimp on the red pigment, so this baby is no paler in red intensity than others. Folks, you owe it to yourself to have this powerful little sucker: the concordance-free text is REFRESHING; you can get immersed in the narrative or message(s) without getting bogged down or sidetracked by minutiae. just like candy has 'mouthfeel', the ?hand? of this Bible --the cover and pages-- feels just right. A perfect edition to give away without remorse over the cost, and a volume which fits perfectly in the hands of a pre-teen guy, a petite woman, or anyone whose arms SAG from steadily holding up heftier complete Bibles. Easily less than the cost of an admittance for an adult to the cinema (these days). Have this in your glove compartment, or in your roomy pocketbook, or in the hip pocket of grunge jeans. I recommend the hardcover over the paperback, since the dollar difference is offset by much greater resistance to dog-eared corners and torn-off covers. No apocrypha. I withheld 1 star because of no concordance, and 1 star because of no apocrypha (don't start w/ me!). Other than that, no misgivings. A footnote for those whose eyes SEEM to be failing/fading: for some reason my unaided eyes picked out the rather fine print of the text without a problem when studying on a brightly-lit day. I have had problems to decipher LARGER typeface, so this gem won't be a headache. Bye.

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    It's great!

    It's nice n' small, hardcover, very sturdy-can handle lots and lots of abuse, nice n' legible, words of Christ in red-which is way cool. It's a very nice Bible. As a teen I don't like carrying huge Bibles around, and I'm very bad at taking care of my stuff. So, it's great because it's small, and very strong.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    small, ideal

    Ideal Bible for those who don't like to carry much or huge bibles. Small letters, hardcover, fits in any purse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    the best book in the world

    when you read this book you get know who GOD is.No other book comparees to this book.This book teachs the world who GOD is.It lets everyone know that GOD is the same yesterday,today &forever.If you wany answers about what is happining in your life you will find it in this book.I found out that GOD is coming for his people.The book is real&true.The love of GOD for the world.He will only open the eyes to a person that he plans to save.Don't miss out on the word of GOD.Nothing compares to his LOVE.Ruth.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    Very nice and portable

    this compact KJV Bible is great for easy storage. moving around. its dimensions are about 6.5in x 4 to 4.5 in wide and and about 1 inch thick. they get it that thin by using about 870 VERY thin pages. very nice version of the KJV bible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Big bang for your buck

    Guys, this is an edition you can disrespect physically, and it'll still hold up to the wear and tear. The binding is sturdy enough to withstand abuse. The slightly textured binding surface is smooth enough to use as a notepaper writing surface. The casual appearance of the mass-market dimension hardcover is enough to throw off disdainful heathens who have unerring radar to spot a Bible-toter from across the street. The printer assembled the hardcover edition (ISBN 0718001311) in Belgium, which continues to be a land of QUALITY layout and binding. The paper is thin but adequately opaque. The typeface is surprisingly EASY to read; the black ink is rich enough to make out the rather small font (point size unknown). Warning: should you absolutely need/require an edition (soft/hard) that has center-column reference or verse-reference, then move on: this little tome has neither. The tint of the red-letter words of Jesus is paler than I would have preferred, yet most publishers seem to scrimp on the red pigment, so this baby is no paler in red intensity than others. Folks, you owe it to yourself to have this powerful little sucker: the concordance-free text is REFRESHING; you can get immersed in the narrative or message(s) without getting bogged down or sidetracked by minutiae. just like candy has 'mouthfeel', the ?hand? of this Bible --the cover and pages-- feels just right. A perfect edition to give away without remorse over the cost, and a volume which fits perfectly in the hands of a pre-teen guy, a petite woman, or anyone whose arms SAG from steadily holding up heftier complete Bibles. Easily less than the cost of an admittance for an adult to the cinema (these days). Have this in your glove compartment, or in your roomy pocketbook, or in the hip pocket of grunge jeans. I recommend the hardcover over the paperback, since the dollar difference is offset by much greater resistance to dog-eared corners and torn-off covers. No apocrypha. I withheld 1 star because of no concordance, and 1 star because of no apocrypha (don't start w/ me!). Other than that, no misgivings. A footnote for those whose eyes SEEM to be failing/fading: for some reason my unaided eyes picked out the rather fine print of the text without a problem when studying on a brightly-lit day. I have had problems to decipher LARGER typeface, so this gem won't be a headache. Bye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    Does Not work Properly

    Nothing but problems, not formated properly for the Nook. Really caused frustration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    Holy Bible King James Version

    King James Version is the way to go, this Bible is wonderful every time I read it I feel closer to God and our Lord the Savior Jesus. This is no story or tale it is all true and good, the truth of it goes beyond nonfiction everything you read is pure fact yet it is even more interisting than any fictional story. If you read this you will feel like a better person 100% satafaction gaurenteed. Buy this, it is great!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    A Rewiew of the Bible

    Rarely ever do I read, but when I do it is always a farm magazine or the Bible. I have not read an entire book or novel since I was a freshman in high school. However, I do read my Bible on a regular basis. The King James Version of the Bible, inspired by God, has become and will forever more be my guide to life.<BR/> The whole book is based upon the death,burial,and resurrection of Christ. It builds up to the climax which occurs in Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John;which is the crucifixtion of Christ and his ressurection. Our Savious was sent to trial for blasphemy. Pontius Pilate asked the people what they wanted to be done with the man, and the cried "Crucify Him!" Therefore, Christ carried His own cross to his death site where he was then crucified on the cross for forgiveness sins.<BR/> The apostles then left for all humanityto see the way of salvation. Hod has given us five stips to this salvation in which we will be judged by in the ind of time as to whether we will spend eternity in Heaven or Hell. In His inspired word it is revealed to us how to be saved and they are as follows: hear, repent, believe, confess, and be baptized. We must them be faithful until death. <BR/> This book, the Bible is an inspired book from a loving God and that is one reason I enjoy it so much. It was given to all humanity to study and be given a chance to salvation. Another reason I study it is because we are commanded to study to show ourselves to be approved. This great work of inspiration is my way of life and this world would be a better place if people would study and read this book more often.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    One of the greatest books ever written

    The King James version is one of the most accurate translations of the Bible. This translation includes stories, insight and advice for all who seek a Christlike life. It is very motivating and inspiring. And the history, teaching, and advice are true.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    Ok for fiction, but comes up short for actual moral value

    This is my honest review. The Holy Bible is a good read if you are looking for fiction and a chronicle of some historical events, but comes up short in actual moral value. There are many contradictions and logical impossibilities which greatly take away from the overall value. This will probably outrage many of you, but if you take a logical view of this piece of literature you must come to terms with some of its problems, such as a glaring contrast between the Old and New Testaments. If this offends you then I suggest you take a closer examination of this work.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    this is my favorite book

    I love this book. It is all i really need and want to read. It will change your life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2