Customer Reviews for

King Leopold's Ghost: A Story of Greed, Terror, and Heroism in Colonial Africa

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    A Face of History┬┐Human Rights

    A beautifully, thoughtfully written face of history of human rights and nations' hypocrisies. An in depth presentation of true heroes and villains, and human weaknesses. Introduces, well know people from varied disciplines [Arthur Conan Doyle, Bertrand Russell, Elihu Root, TR, etc, on this stage. A panoramic masterpiece. Thoughtful quote, page 204: And yet the world we live in¿its divisions and conflicts, its widening gap between rich and poor, its seemingly inexplicable outburst of violence¿is shaped by less by what we celebrate and mythologize than by the painful events we try to forget.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Great untold story

    Belgium is not very well known as an oppressive nation, England being the great colonial power of history. But the number of people it killed during its colonization of the Congo exceeded the European Holocaust! I'll leave it to you to buy the book and discover how much they really murdered and how. Another book that, as I like to say, will be the best time you ever had getting depressed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    a different world now

    If I believed in the innate goodness of human beings or a universal compassion for life that lives within us then - after reading this book - I feel like I was wrong. and naive. ignorant to the true nature of mankind. This book has filled me with a sadness that I'm not sure I have ever felt before... I turned each page with a hand that grew heavier and heavier and by the end it seemed like each page was filled with so much pain that I could hardly lift it up. Watching King Leopold II carefully create and control public perception and use his power to influence, manage and direct other governments, media and policy makes me acutely aware that the same thing is probably happining today. and always will. I feel overwhelmed and a little bit sick after reading this but I will recommend it to every reader I meet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    This book is insane.  It made me feel insane because so much of

    This book is insane.  It made me feel insane because so much of the information was so new to me.  Hoshschild is an amazing storyteller and this is amazing history.
    Insane, amazing, horrifying, and important. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly recommended. Not fiction, this is fact.

    I ordered this book to be shipped to a third party. The book arrived at its intended destination in timely fashion. I would order this way again.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An easy read of a terrible subject

    In checking the other reviews, there isn't really much that I can add; although I did find the author's personal reflections at the end of the book informative.

    My comment then is on the research and writing of Mr. Hochschild. I find it to be brilliant. Not only has extensive documentation been culled, the manner in which Mr. Hochschild writes, makes the narrative read like a novel. I was somewhat concerned before reading the book, that it might be to technical to be absorbed.

    E.D. Morel is a shining example of how we can all make a difference if we just pay attention to our surroundings. To think that a mere shipping clerk brought down this regime is proof that we can as individuals stop the flow of evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    King Leopold's Ghost

    ¿King Leopold¿s Ghost¿<BR/><BR/> <BR/> King Leopold¿s Ghost is a historical account by Adam Hochschild. The author was born in New York City in 1942. When he was a teenager he went with his father on a business trip to Africa. He saw how people had to live and survive. Later when he was in college he took a summer internship in South Africa at a newspaper agency. Adam Hochschild is the only person that has won Canada¿s Lionel Gelber Prize twice. These day Hochschild lives in San Francisco and teaches journalism at Berkeley. Adam Hochschild wants to show that colonialism is a bad thing and should be stopped, and show what happened to the Republic of Congo.<BR/> King Leopold¿s Ghost has the main ideas of greed, colonialism, power and struggle. I wish that he based more on how the people of the Congo had to deal with this; I wish it had their point of view also. I would have liked to know more about Belgium and why they gave so much power to King Leopold II.<BR/> I recommend this historical account because it is a great book to learn more about some modern colonization that happened a little more than 100 years. It gives a great insight to how one man can take over a country at its weakest time<BR/><BR/> Colonialism still happens, not as bad as it used to thought but it is still a problem. And some people still feel they are better than others because of where they are from and how they have grown up. Deal with Social Darwinism, saying where you live or what your race is makes you better than other people. With the Political Race right now, people are bashing Obama because he is from black descent and are bashing Sarah Pailin because she is from Alaska, and some people feel that is a low class state.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    A planted evil

    The Congo basin is the most cruelly raped part of Africa. It and its immediate northern and southern neighbors were the principal source of slaves for the American plantations. In colonial times, Belgian Congo suffered more than all the other African territories from the harshness of colonialism, a legacy that was carried over to the 1960s when efforts at liberation led to the independence of many African countries. That contemporary legacy of misrule, the fomentation of ethnic strife and genocide is what is haunting the land today, and the Belgian king Leopold played a crucial role in bequeathing that horrible legacy. The genocide in Rwanda and the strife in Burundi are all parts of the legacy. French genocidal legacy abound in Cameroon, Algeria etc. German legacy is felt in Namibia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    A Gripping Story of Greed and Meaness

    I almost didn't buy this book after glancing thru it for the fourth visit to the bookstore. BUT, it turned out to be one of the best books I've ever read. If you enjoy history, you must read this book for you were never told about this story in any of your educational classes. Truly a sad statment about man's inhumanity to man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2003

    An important book for anyone who wishes to understand colonialism

    I am still reading the book, in fact, I struggle to put it down. Hochschild's style is eloquent, easy to read and is at times appropriately scathing of the characters. The history of the Congo is absolutely fascinating. It would shock and surprise every reader, no matter how much you think you know about colonialism, and that's why I think it is an extremely important book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2000

    Heart of Darkness and Light

    A truly horrifying account of gross capitalist imperialism at work in the Congo region, one must remember that the Belgian colony was merely one of many slaughterhouses in Africa run by European imperialists. It is a sad fact that since the Cold War, Africa has not escaped the grasp of violence and exploitation; only the color of the villain's skin is different. However, the book shows that there are individuals who rise up against all opposition and win a war previously thought hopeless. Hopefully, people like Williams, Morel, and Casement will face old enemies on the same battlefield and force an unquestionable victory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1