Customer Reviews for

King Peggy: An American Secretary, Her Royal Destiny, and the Inspiring Story of How She Changed an African Village

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Loved this book!

    This story is really interesting. Its quite a learning experience while being both amazing and often funny. Its one of my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I can't recommend the audio version enough! The characters in P

    I can't recommend the audio version enough! The characters in Peggy's memoir really come to life in the spoken version, superbly voiced by J. Karen Thomas. In addition to being an interesting story about an American secretary becoming the king of a town in Ghana, the depiction of local culture is fascinating--the pouring of libations at ceremonies and the special stool on which the king sits in particular. Opening the book after hearing the story was an added benefit to see photos of the relatives Peggy speaks of in the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great Read!

    I traveled to Ghana this last summer and visited many of the places that Peggy speaks about. Her account of cultures is accurate and strengthened my understandings.
    I felt as if I was back in Ghana, with the happiest and most loving people I have ever encountered.

    One day I hope to return!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Excellent Book

    This is a great book and I really admire King Peggy! She is amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I THINK THIS WAS AN AWESOME BOOK AND I HAVE RECOMMENDED TO MY FRIENDS
    AND RELATIVES TO READ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Had a hard time putting it down only because my eyes burned. Read it

    I found it interesting that a king could be a women. I truly enjoyed reading this book. And to think this is a true story. The Lord sure has blessed her. She has done great things for her country. I hope this will be a contiued story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful Story of Courage and Strength

    Told in a very engaging style and as a personal narrative, this tale of surprize, strength, hope, and determination was inspiring to read. Uniquely weaving 2 cultures together - in more ways than one! - the story of King Peggy provides a model for women in any society who are struggling for equality, good government, and a better future for our children. Even in the US, where we think of ourselves as oh so civilized and advanced, there is much to be learned from the simple act of doing what is right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Thursday

    Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Insightful, thought-provoking, and a fun read!

    A real live lady King! Peggielene's story is a redemptive one. A mesh of modern America and a modern African village and the differences therein. I enjoyed reading about the culture in the village and how King Peggy held to those while fostering change that still respected those cultures. An enjoyable and well written book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Love it!!

    Interesting story about Peggy becoming king of a small village. I read the book in one setting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    I would highly recommended.

    I loved the words, story, and the sentiments. The story was inspirational and enlightening. A great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    A MUST READ book for any one who wants to rule her own world no matter how big or small.

    Easy to read and thouroughly enjoyable, I loved this book because it inspires hope and encourages action. Ms Bartels sets a wonderful example for all women everywhere. Look around you. See what needs to be done to make it better, and then, make it happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    nice!

    nice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1