Customer Reviews for

King of Darkness (Chronicles of Yavn Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Dark, passionate and full of suspense, King of Darkness makes for an intriguing start to an exciting new series!

After her parents were shunned by their own kind, Isabel Anthony and her family moved to the human world. At the tender age of thirteen though, Isabel loses her parents in a tragic accident and is orphaned, leaving her alone as a young vampire among humans. Now, years l...
After her parents were shunned by their own kind, Isabel Anthony and her family moved to the human world. At the tender age of thirteen though, Isabel loses her parents in a tragic accident and is orphaned, leaving her alone as a young vampire among humans. Now, years later, Isabel lives one party at a time. Hopping through clubs and raves, imbibing in red wine and drinking from humans she is free from responsibilities and attachments. Until the King of the Vampire’s shows up in the club with some farfetched idea about her being his destined mate, turning her life upside down. Thad Morgan is the new and somewhat reluctant King of the Vampires after the recent passing of his father. Now he is traveling across the country searching for the mate an oracle foresaw unlocking his powers and helping him rule when Thad was first born; the female vampire that he finally catches up with at a rave if Florida though is a far cry from the mate he expected to find. Now Thad must convince Isabel that she is destined for more than just that party girl life style and woo her into a future with him by her side. Can Thad keep Isabel from running or will she fall right into the arms of their enemies? The basis of the plot in King of Darkness really intrigued me. Thad is a new king, unsure of himself and his abilities as king searching for his destined mate. The author takes a new path in the paranormal romance genre with a hero that is not your typical alpha male vampire. The vampires themselves keep separate from humans and drink from each other for strength as human blood holds no power for them. Also, each vampire has their own unique gift though some never come into them, like Isabel’s parents. The enemies of the vampires are wizards who are a power hungry group that gain their abilities by consuming vampires and absorbing their powers. A unique twist for vampire romances but the icing on the cake is that drugs and such don’t affect vampires but red wine intoxicates them and has the side effect like ecstasy would for humans. This provided an interesting setting for the romance in the story. Thad is a strong yet vulnerable character, uncertain in his ability to live up to his father’s name as King. When Thad meets up with Isabel his confidence is thrown another curve. Their relationship starts off pretty rocky and I had a hard time seeing these two jive together, the attraction was there with plenty of spark but there was nothing solid beneath it. As the story progresses though and misunderstandings are corrected and communication more opened, their relationship begins to flow. Two sub-romances between secondary characters are interwoven into the main plot giving the story another layer of depth and I look forward to reading more about these characters in future installments. As with most debut novels in a series, there was a lot of world building and the first half of the book was an introduction to this dark new world but I found it well written. All in all, King of Darkness was a good debut for the author; the action, romance and suspense kept me turning the pages and the different characters kept me captivated. I would definitely say that author Elisabeth Staab is a bold new voice in vampire romance and I look forward to reading more from her. I waffled between a 3.5 - 4 with this one because of the main character's shaky start but lean more towards a 4.

posted by RBtWBC on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slow start - left you hanging without leading to another book!

I love these kinds of books and am always searching for a new and exciting author and book to come up! This story line was good but the story was choppy and hard to understand at times. Her vampires were kind of mushy and did not act immortal enough for what I have read...
I love these kinds of books and am always searching for a new and exciting author and book to come up! This story line was good but the story was choppy and hard to understand at times. Her vampires were kind of mushy and did not act immortal enough for what I have read in other books. When I finished the story I was left wondering way to many things with the secondary characters! I think it could be a good series so let's see what happens next, I may or may not read the second book, depends on who is in it???

posted by SavanaLC on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dark, passionate and full of suspense, King of Darkness makes for an intriguing start to an exciting new series!

    After her parents were shunned by their own kind, Isabel Anthony and her family moved to the human world. At the tender age of thirteen though, Isabel loses her parents in a tragic accident and is orphaned, leaving her alone as a young vampire among humans. Now, years later, Isabel lives one party at a time. Hopping through clubs and raves, imbibing in red wine and drinking from humans she is free from responsibilities and attachments. Until the King of the Vampire’s shows up in the club with some farfetched idea about her being his destined mate, turning her life upside down. Thad Morgan is the new and somewhat reluctant King of the Vampires after the recent passing of his father. Now he is traveling across the country searching for the mate an oracle foresaw unlocking his powers and helping him rule when Thad was first born; the female vampire that he finally catches up with at a rave if Florida though is a far cry from the mate he expected to find. Now Thad must convince Isabel that she is destined for more than just that party girl life style and woo her into a future with him by her side. Can Thad keep Isabel from running or will she fall right into the arms of their enemies? The basis of the plot in King of Darkness really intrigued me. Thad is a new king, unsure of himself and his abilities as king searching for his destined mate. The author takes a new path in the paranormal romance genre with a hero that is not your typical alpha male vampire. The vampires themselves keep separate from humans and drink from each other for strength as human blood holds no power for them. Also, each vampire has their own unique gift though some never come into them, like Isabel’s parents. The enemies of the vampires are wizards who are a power hungry group that gain their abilities by consuming vampires and absorbing their powers. A unique twist for vampire romances but the icing on the cake is that drugs and such don’t affect vampires but red wine intoxicates them and has the side effect like ecstasy would for humans. This provided an interesting setting for the romance in the story. Thad is a strong yet vulnerable character, uncertain in his ability to live up to his father’s name as King. When Thad meets up with Isabel his confidence is thrown another curve. Their relationship starts off pretty rocky and I had a hard time seeing these two jive together, the attraction was there with plenty of spark but there was nothing solid beneath it. As the story progresses though and misunderstandings are corrected and communication more opened, their relationship begins to flow. Two sub-romances between secondary characters are interwoven into the main plot giving the story another layer of depth and I look forward to reading more about these characters in future installments. As with most debut novels in a series, there was a lot of world building and the first half of the book was an introduction to this dark new world but I found it well written. All in all, King of Darkness was a good debut for the author; the action, romance and suspense kept me turning the pages and the different characters kept me captivated. I would definitely say that author Elisabeth Staab is a bold new voice in vampire romance and I look forward to reading more from her. I waffled between a 3.5 - 4 with this one because of the main character's shaky start but lean more towards a 4.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting start to the series! Characters that you care about and

    Exciting start to the series! Characters that you care about and enough threads left open for more books in this fresh and exciting series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good first entry in a new series....

    I thought that this book was good. I was on the search for a new read and this story kept me interested. Loved all of the secondary characters and look forward to the next book with Tyra & Anton, but most looking forward to Alexia and Lee's story...cause you know, this series will have to have one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great

    I really liked this book. All the characters mesh really well. You can tell there are multiple threads going on. It was nice that not everything was wrapped up nice and pretty at the end and not all stories should end prettily. I am looking forward to reading about the rest of the group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    King of Darkness by Elisabeth Staab! I'M HOOKED!!!! This book

    King of Darkness by Elisabeth Staab! I'M HOOKED!!!! This book has vampires , wizards and a ton of twists and turns! Thad and Isabel's story was painful for me at times, I wanted to jump in and smack them both! No seriously,from the first page to the last page I was enthralled by them and the secondary characters in this book. If you love sexy vampires like I do you won't be disappointed in this book! Can't wait to read book 2, which I'm starting today! Thanks Elisabeth!


    Lucinda Jester Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Great start to a new series!

    Great start to a new series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    Love it .

    Love it .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When I got this book wasn't sure if I even wanted to read it bec

    When I got this book wasn't sure if I even wanted to read it because I just came off 2 other vampire series books. I'm glad I didn't blow the book off. Its got a great plot of a New King and Queen, and the best part - its a little different because this one includes wizards. There are battles being faught throughout the book, mysterious circumstances as to why the kings sister and his lead guard are missing. I can't wait to get the next book int he series to see what happens.

    Really liked the phrophecy on how the king would find his king and the results of each of them coming to their powers. Staab has a great writing style that makes this book easily read and difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great beginning to a PNR vampire series. Think Heroes with fangs

    Great beginning to a PNR vampire series. Think Heroes with fangs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I admitt it took a little bit to really get into this story. Sin

    I admitt it took a little bit to really get into this story. Since it is the beginning of th series there was a lot of background to get you familiar with the characters and the life of these vampires. I really liked the fact that they also eat, enjoy junkfood. Everyone smiles when you talk about Krispy Kreme Donuts and the Hot sign being on. I will say that although it took me longer to finish this book it is well worth the wait. I know wish the next book in the series was done. Thad and Isabel make a perfect couple and the struggle between vampires and wizards looks to be a wonderful ride. Definitely give this book a go YOU will NOT be SORRY!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Good story!

    Definitely a different twist on vampiries, but good. The main character was a tad to sentimental for me. Looking forward to a story between Lee and the saucy Alexia.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1