Customer Reviews for

King of Paine

Average Rating 4.5
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    One of the best novels I've read this year, hands down!

    Frank Paine was once an actor, in fact he was a sex symbol. But now he's traded in close-ups for a badge and a gun. The actor turned Federal Agent finds himself at the heart of an investigation that puts his past center stage. When the clues point back to a scorned love (who maybe the love of his life), Frank is forced to face the indiscretions of his past head on.

    King of Paine is more than a suspense novel. It's a story that asks hard questions, it makes you think about who you are and what you stand for, and it's an all around great read! The cast of characters will keep you guessing, the thought provoking story line will have you wondering, and the fast pace will keep you turning the pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Better than The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo!

    Larry Kahn's King of Paine is a well written story full of action pack suspense. This is the kind of book where you can open it on ANY page and the story just pulls you in. It's that good! I can honestly say I was hooked from beginning to end. Although I lost a bit of sleep, I had a blast reading it! There's definitely some saucy scenes in this book, so I only recommend this for adults. I have to say one of my favorite things about Kahn's writing is every chapter has a fantastic opening. This is definitely part of the magic of this book. His characters, in particular Joylnn are well thought out and masterfully crafted. I have to admit i've heard the comparison between The Girl and the Dragon Tattoo and King of Paine and in my opinion, Kahn is better. I was never bored, in fact I hung onto every word in this story. Some of my favorite chapters were the chatroom scenes. I thought Kahn did a wonderful job building the story and propelling the plot forward with them. The chapters themselves were quick and left no room for "fluff," which I thought was great. Overall, I thought this book was fantastic! I hope to read more from Larry Kahn and I hope he continues writing suspense novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    A Kinky Cocktail of a Novel

    This is a kinky cocktail of a novel that gives us two main characters who are both lost in facing new modes of living. One wants redemption from a former life of easy Hollywood sex and scandal. The other craves true love even more than he does the bottle. Their dovetailing investigations bring them together in hot pursuit of an online murderer who haunts the sex chatrooms of cyberspace. Mix these ingredients and add a thoughtful, intricate plot and you get a toast of an ending where both wind up getting what they want in ways they never could have expected. Fun and serious, thought-provoking and engaging, this is no ordinary suspense book. It is graphic reading that uses sex rather than violence to propel the story forward and give the reader a buzz of intoxication. Kahn is a writer who is going places.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    "Take me to my river!" - A great read!

    King of Paine by Larry Kahn is an exciting fast paced read. Frank, the main character is fresh out of Quantico and ready to take down some criminals. Frank is an actor turned FBI agent who also has a penchant for kinky online role-play rooms. After failing to help the one person who needed him, Frank changed careers and started a twelve step program to leave the past behind. But, before he can truly get started, his past catches up to him. Somehow, someone in Atlanta knows his secret and is using it to get revenge, and a chance at a miracle drug. Now, he has to find the UNSUB and make peace with his past.
    Kahn¿s writing is well paced and his character development is superb. I found the character Roger Martin, a washed up reporter, to be easy to identify with and easily my favorite. Angela was a complex character who was exciting and mysterious. While Frank¿s extracurricular activities are not something I would normally choose to read about, I enjoyed Kahn¿s storytelling and became caught up in Frank¿s plight. The chat-room style conversations also added to the authenticity of the novel. I¿m looking forward to more of Kahn¿s books to come.


    Reviewed on Tracy Riva Books and Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Many surprises

    This novel held a few surprises for me. I, of course, was aware of the practice of BDSM but never put much thought to the role discretion played. Absolute trust even beyond that called for in normal sexual relationships is paramount. If that trust were broken it very well could mean a life. I never know what I¿m going to get into when I start a new book. The author moved me to a new expectation for suspense.

    He builds his case from many directions and it just seemed that around each corner was a new surprise. But it wasn¿t over whelming like it can be in some books. The lead character Frank Paine is likeable despite himself. I very much enjoyed finding that out.

    Paine¿s motives for discovering the truth are obvious throughout and he uses a dogged determination to pursue the end of the trail, which was suspenseful and surprising. The author used every trick in the book to hide, deceive and suspend each turn and angle. It was a wonderful trail of discover I was lead on and I am very happy to recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Better than the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo!!!

    Larry Kahn's King of Paine is a well written story full of action pack suspense. This is the kind of book where you can open it on ANY page and the story just pulls you in. It's that good! I can honestly say I was hooked from beginning to end. Although I lost a bit of sleep, I had a blast reading it! There's definitely some saucy scenes in this book, so I only recommend this for adults. I have to say one of my favorite things about Kahn's writing is every chapter has a fantastic opening. This is definitely part of the magic of this book. His characters, in particular Joylnn are well thought out and masterfully crafted. I have to admit i've heard the comparison between The Girl and the Dragon Tattoo and King of Paine and in my opinion, Kahn is better. I was never bored, in fact I hung onto every word in this story. Some of my favorite chapters were the chat room scenes. I thought Kahn did a wonderful job building the story and propelling the plot forward with them. The chapters themselves were quick and left no room for "fluff," which I thought was great. Overall, I thought this book was fantastic! I hope to read more from Larry Kahn and I hope he continues writing suspense novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Thought-provoking and entertaining

    Frank Paine was once an actor, in fact he was a sex symbol. But now he's traded in close-ups for a badge and a gun. The actor turned Federal Agent finds himself at the heart of an investigation that puts his past center stage. When the clues point back to a scorned love (who maybe the love of his life), Frank is forced to face the indiscretions of his past head on.

    King of Paine is more than a suspense novel. It's a story that asks hard questions, it makes you think about who you are and what you stand for, and it's an all around great read! The cast of characters will keep you guessing, the thought provoking story line will have you wondering, and the fast past will keep you turning the pages.

    One of the best novels I've read this year, hands down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Live To Read

    I was a little skeptical that this book was that similar to The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, but I found that I enjoyed it just as much as that book and it is a little similar.



    One of the more dynamic, and consequently, main character is Frank. Frank kept my attention throughout the book. He wasn't the typical FBI or Hollywood actor type at all. He has kinky secrets in his closet, ones he doesn't like to advertise and more often than not leads him to ask for forgiveness from the current woman of his dreams.



    Jolynn is another character the reader will meet who figures greatly into the plot. She is also Frank's dream girl. She is portrayed as practical, intelligent, and imaginative. She will appeal to female readers of the story while Frank will appeal to male readers.



    Jolynn and Frank work together to uncover the plot of this story and potentially take down the antagonist. I liked that the antagonist seemed both real and elusive; the author did a wonderful job with the sometimes gloomy and dark undertones that drift within the book. The ending was perfect, wouldn't change a thing. This book is recommended for adult readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1