Customer Reviews for

The King of Plagues (Joe Ledger Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

a great action thriller-must read

The blast at the Royal London Hospital in Whitechapel left thousands dead and many more injured. One hour after the deadly explosion, retired Department of Military Science agent Joe Ledger arrives to investigate the carnage caused by the terrorist attack and un-retire...
The blast at the Royal London Hospital in Whitechapel left thousands dead and many more injured. One hour after the deadly explosion, retired Department of Military Science agent Joe Ledger arrives to investigate the carnage caused by the terrorist attack and un-retires in a rage at the lunatics who caused this horrific violence. Not long afterward, Joe and his team are attacked by assassins of the Seven Kings who plan to rule the world with iron fists.

In Fair Isle in the Shetlands, a viral research facility is breached releasing Ebola. As other terrorist attacks raise the death toll around the world, Joe knows nothing about the Seven Kings except they seem to have much more resources than the nations of the world as this group uses modern weapons to release the Ten Plagues of the Old Testament to destroy the global economy.

The third Ledger case (see Patient Zero and The Dragon Factory) is a great action thriller that grips the audience from the opening sequence and never loses the reader's attention until the final explosive confrontation. Clearly over the top of the Wall Street-German merged exchange, the London Stock Exchange and the Bombay Stock Exchange combined; fans will relish this fast-paced modernizing of the Passover plagues. Jonathon Maberry satirizes the stock exchange-military-religious complex; as Joe learns politicians and other world rulers are expendable purchases on a ledger sheet.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good third one

This third Ledger novel took quite a while to get up to speed. Also it didn't give enough previous plot summary or character history. The main villains are back from the first novel, Patient Zero, which I read a while ago now so some history would have been helpful. I...
This third Ledger novel took quite a while to get up to speed. Also it didn't give enough previous plot summary or character history. The main villains are back from the first novel, Patient Zero, which I read a while ago now so some history would have been helpful. I would have also preferred a little more of the supernatural or techno science kinda stuff we found in the other 2 Ledger novels. While this was still a good, exciting book it was more of a typical thriller novel than the unique Ledger novel I was hoping for.

posted by beaglezrock on November 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    Pretty good third one

    This third Ledger novel took quite a while to get up to speed. Also it didn't give enough previous plot summary or character history. The main villains are back from the first novel, Patient Zero, which I read a while ago now so some history would have been helpful. I would have also preferred a little more of the supernatural or techno science kinda stuff we found in the other 2 Ledger novels. While this was still a good, exciting book it was more of a typical thriller novel than the unique Ledger novel I was hoping for.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a great action thriller-must read

    The blast at the Royal London Hospital in Whitechapel left thousands dead and many more injured. One hour after the deadly explosion, retired Department of Military Science agent Joe Ledger arrives to investigate the carnage caused by the terrorist attack and un-retires in a rage at the lunatics who caused this horrific violence. Not long afterward, Joe and his team are attacked by assassins of the Seven Kings who plan to rule the world with iron fists.

    In Fair Isle in the Shetlands, a viral research facility is breached releasing Ebola. As other terrorist attacks raise the death toll around the world, Joe knows nothing about the Seven Kings except they seem to have much more resources than the nations of the world as this group uses modern weapons to release the Ten Plagues of the Old Testament to destroy the global economy.

    The third Ledger case (see Patient Zero and The Dragon Factory) is a great action thriller that grips the audience from the opening sequence and never loses the reader's attention until the final explosive confrontation. Clearly over the top of the Wall Street-German merged exchange, the London Stock Exchange and the Bombay Stock Exchange combined; fans will relish this fast-paced modernizing of the Passover plagues. Jonathon Maberry satirizes the stock exchange-military-religious complex; as Joe learns politicians and other world rulers are expendable purchases on a ledger sheet.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent

    I finally get to read "The King of Plagues" and it was honestly okay. It was just too wordy...and incorporating real tragedies such as 9/11, didn't sit well with me. It wasn't like the first too books which I totally loved. However, Joe Ledger is still the bomb. He makes this book real fun to read. His " I don't give a rats ass" attitude keeps you wanting to read more. All the twist and secrets were surprising as well. I am still a fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    A True fans opinion

    Mr Maberry, If you read this review Please understand that Joe ledger is now one of my new fantasy hero's. Along side Dirk Pitt and Jack Ryan. My take on this recent adventure with our Hero (Joe) is boring from the start of the book. I am 275 pages into a 492 page book (Thanks JW for the ton of pages, the longer the better) ANYHOW.....Bud, its boring and very long winded. They are so many subplots and back ground subjects that its hard to keep up. Man no hard feelings. I have spent many awesome times with your imagination and have "Dust and Decay" on pre order. So i do really love your world. Joe was shot in the ass on this book. The story is full of deep thoughts and tons of religious underlined meanings. It really is no fun. No hard feelings Sir, PLEASE. Joe is still my hero and you are still one of my favorite story tellers. Your Loyal Fan, D Medley

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Knocked it out of the aprk again.

    I feel hard for Joe Ledger the first time I opened Patient Zero. Now, three books later, he can still rock my world.

    If you read thrillers then you have to read this series. It is very well researched, and Maberry makes sure that all the players have the coolest toys.

    I gave it a great review on The Charlotte Geeks website.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    The 3rd novel in the Joe Ledger series follows a similar script

    The 3rd novel in the Joe Ledger series follows a similar script as the first two. Joe finds himself immersed in a situation which he must stop to save the planet. Although the patter may be the same the author, Jonathan Mayberry, does a good job of mixing up the type of trouble not only from book to book but also within the book. He also does a good job of mixing action and moving the plot along. I also like that all of the Joe Ledger books (so far) are good stand-alone stories so if you want to pick up the series without reading the first two books you really don’t miss anything. If you’re looking for a thriller with a lot of action and a main character who’s a bit of a smart ass, the” King of Plagues” is right up your alley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Th weakest Joe Ledger novel

    Maybe it's that I didn't care about the targeted victims, but I never felt completely engaged by the ticking time-bomb. A side story dealing with the moral growth of a minor character was much more compelling and should have been given more weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Keep It Up

    Again an awesome read by Johnathan Maberry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    A+

    I love the Joe ledger series. I've never been into thriller novels because I've always been more of a fantasy buff, but the entire series has a bit for everyone and I love that. My only complaint is the year wait. I don't even care that it's a bit more wordy than the others in the series. A+ a model for others to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Love this series

    You cant break this team, nor can you put this series DOWN... you race along with Joe, Ghost and his team to beat the best bad guys out. Bravo Maberry..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great series!

    Joe is awesome, plus it is really cool that he is from Baltimore, my home town.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Can't get enough of the Ledger Series!

    I have been hooked since Patient Zero and this one was just as amazing. My only complaint is that the year wait between books in Unbearable! Maberry has now beat out King and Brooks as my favorite auther.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Can't put it down

    Good as the others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Why is the paperback cheaper than the ebook?

    I have not read this yet, I will of course being that I have been wating for this one to come out, but still - come on. I guess I will be buying the paperbak instead, but would much rather read on my ebook

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    makes me happy

    ive read all these books an they are an amazing contribution to an overdone genre. the characters are fascinating and his imaination are astounding

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Superb thriller!

    Jonathan Maberry had me at GHOST ROAD BLUES (my review), the Pine Deep Trilogy, and I am now a fan of the Joe Ledger series. I was exhausted after each reading time, so this made for a good bedtime read for that, though it did make for some whack-a-doodle dreams.

    The reader's eyes are flying across the page to keep up with quick scene changes and multiple characters, but the quick interludes within the chapters and the thriller storyline makes the pages turn faster and keeps you up way after your bedtime so you can read one more page.

    I highly enjoy the way Maberry writes a fight scene. I could almost see the end result of bullets and the fists and definitely dreaded what would happen with the infectious diseases. The descriptions were raw and graphic.

    The only time I felt like skipping ahead was while reading the scenes with the Seven Kings, the Goddess and the soldiers blindly following along. Not that the scenes were badly written, far from it. I just have a hard time dealing with zealots in any way, shape or form. And these are zealots who are the worst, the ones following the money.

    Five stay up all night from the vivid whack-a-doodle dreams beans....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4