BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

King of Shadows

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

amazing historical fiction

I've read my fair share of historical fiction books of elizabethan england, and this one takes the cake. It trasports you right back in time along side Nat, and you feel like you're a player in the Globe with the Bard himself. As a theater actress myself, I could relate...
I've read my fair share of historical fiction books of elizabethan england, and this one takes the cake. It trasports you right back in time along side Nat, and you feel like you're a player in the Globe with the Bard himself. As a theater actress myself, I could relate to Nat's passion for the stage, and this book helps make you appreciate Shakespeare and his time. It's a fantastic book, and I DEFINATELY recommend it!

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

KOS

I hated this book beacuse i do not like shakesphere

posted by 10731305 on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    amazing historical fiction

    I've read my fair share of historical fiction books of elizabethan england, and this one takes the cake. It trasports you right back in time along side Nat, and you feel like you're a player in the Globe with the Bard himself. As a theater actress myself, I could relate to Nat's passion for the stage, and this book helps make you appreciate Shakespeare and his time. It's a fantastic book, and I DEFINATELY recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Getting better

    The book is finally getting intresting but it is nealy the end of the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    KOS

    I hated this book beacuse i do not like shakesphere

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Cooper at her best...as always

    Fun and interesting look at Shakespeare's England.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Friggin' Awsome

    I think the book was really good. Sure it got confusing at times but it was really good. And those who dont like it OH WELL!! It was your choice to read it in the first place. Anyways, Susan you did a great job on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    This is a marvelous book

    Compellingly written half in the 1990s and half in the 1590s, Nat Fields goes back in time from acting with an excellent troupe of boys given the opportunity to go to England and act in the newly re-built Globe theatre, to Shakespeare¿s original Globe 400 years earlier. Nat is now a part of the Lord Chamberlain¿s men, and involved in all the beauty and excitement of the life of Elizabethan theatre, playing Puck to Shakespeare¿s Oberon. Will Shakespeare is portrayed as a father figure to the orphaned boy, and is portrayed beautifully and winsomely, the reader finds himself loving Will as much as Nat does in all his words and meaning, and understanding of what it is to love and loose. There is a great deal of Shakespeare¿s text woven into the book, done without drawing attention to itself, but sowing in the reader a love for the words of the bard, the ¿ever fixed mark¿ he has set on all of the world through his plays and poetry. I loved this book when I read it in high school, and was concerned that now that I have studied a great deal about Shakespeare I might find it less engaging than before, but my fears were unmerited. It is well and throughly researched, and my respect for the book has only grown with my understanding of Elizabethan England.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    highly recommended you have to check it out!

    Have you ever wondered what the middle ages was like? Have you ever wanted to go back into time? If so, then you should read King of shadows by Susan Cooper. This book is about a boy named Nathan Field ; his friends call him Nat. This book starts off in the present in London. Nat is involved in an acting company where they perform Shakespeare's plays at the Globe Theatre. Well one day Nat gets super, super sick. When Nat goes to bed he wakes up in the middle ages. It turns out that Nat swapped places with another actor in the middle ages. Now, Nat has to live the life of another actor from the middle ages. One of the problems Nat faces is he wonders if he will ever go back into time and see his family and friends. If you want to find out if Nat goes back into the present or not you will have to read the book to find out. I liked this book because I like the idea of starting off int he present and then going back into time, and also Io like that you can see both sides of the situation. I recommend this book to kids ages 11- 15 who likes Historical fiction books. THE BOOK WAS AWESOME! READ IT!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    This book is the most boring and confusing book ever!!!

    Well, this wasn't the great book i thought it would be. To start it off, it was completely boring and i couldn't read it for more than five minutes at a time. The way the sentances are in this book is dull and never exciting. The sentances seem as if they are too wordy, and it needs to have more discriptions of what's going on! And, it is confusing. Yeah, i know it's now supposed to be some walk in the park, considering it does a lot of flip flopping back from the 1500's to modern day, but it needs to be less confusing! I didn't get it at all, and frankly i was very dissapointed.Please follow my advice and DONT BUY THIS BOOK

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    absolutely horrible

    this book is horrible. it makes no sense whatsoever and jumps all over the place. its like flying from china to texas, taking a boat to papua new guinea and getting shot. as a matter of fact, i think flying from china to texas, taking a boat to papua new guinea and getting shot is more interesting than this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Boring

    This is the most boring book i have ever read! I recommend NOT reading it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Excellent story mixing history and theater

    The previous review states that the book contains foul language. This statement is incorrect.It is a fun story about a boy who loves acting and finds himself taking the place of Puck in a Shakespeare play to save Shakespeare and his company from catching the plague while the boy with the plague takes his place in modern times and is healed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    The worst book in the world

    After reading 'King Of Shadows', I can now officially say that I have read the worst book in the world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    This is my favorite book!

    When my grandmother told me to read it I didn't think I would like it but after I began to read it I couldn't put it down! Their is such emotion and it feels so real it's unbelievable. The only thing that I don't like about it is the ending. It just isn't as good as it should be. I mean after reading the rest of that book you would be expecting something jsut as good or better then the rest of the story. Other than that though it's wonderful. I would highly recomend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    kos review

    I think that King of shadows should be dumped in the garbage. Susan, I thought you would do better. Im ashamed

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    wow!

    King of Shadows is one of the best books, if not the best book, i have ever read. Nat field, a kid around the age of 13 or 14 is chosen to be in the acting troupe 'The Company of the Boys.' Which is made of just boys. His dad died after his mom died, and so he joined the seperate world, a acting world. He felt safeness there. While in the Globe in London, he starts to feel ill. That night he has a dream, he is transported back in time about 400 years, around 1599. There he meets a bunch of friends and enemies. He also finds the father figure he has been looking for. William Shakespeare. The writing technique of this book is incredible. The way Cooper puts you in the spot where Nat is, is just simply amazing. Some of you who do not like History Books might not like it, but take it from me, i am not a histroy book reader... i liked it alot. it is not really just history, it is also mystery, and fictional. Give it a try!. i give this book a 5 star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    King of Shadows

    Nat field is an orphan currently being raised by his aunt in America when he is chosen by Arby to go to England to perform the Shakespear plays as they were originally producedin their new Globe Theater. He is excited to play his part as Puck in A Midsummer's Night Dream. But, when he starts to feel ill, he is taken to the hospital to be diagnosed with the bubonic plague. When he wakes up, he is in the Elizabethan Age and will be playing the part as Puck for Shakespear in the original Globe Theater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    GREAT BOOK!!!!

    This is a great book! It has mystery, suspense,and a historic background. I've never really been interested in Shakespere but this book made me more interested in 'A Midsummer's Nights Dream.' It keeps you going till the end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    This is a good book for you.

    This book is really one of the best mistery books I've read. It will have you thinking until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    THIS BOOK ROCKS!!!!!

    Well I just finished the book and it is AWSOME!!!! I always liked William Shakespeare and now I like hime even more!!! This book has been such an insperational book and I will always love it!!! READ IT!!! If you dont you will regret it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    I Couldn't Put It Down!

    This book was just awesome. I mean, I laughed, I cried, I smiled, I winced; it was just that kind of story! I loved the characters, they seemed so real! And Shakespeare...oh...he was amazing! Cooper really brought him to life! I felt like I knew him! All the characters were great, and the story was just so cool!! This is one book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2