Customer Reviews for

King of Thorns (Broken Empire Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

King Jorg celebrates his wedding day but all is not auspicious:

King Jorg celebrates his wedding day but all is not auspicious: the Prince of Arrow has surrounded the Haunt with thousands of men. On his way to becoming emperor, the prince will defeat all and any in his path - and Jorg is in the way.

Jorg has a necromantic power he ...
King Jorg celebrates his wedding day but all is not auspicious: the Prince of Arrow has surrounded the Haunt with thousands of men. On his way to becoming emperor, the prince will defeat all and any in his path - and Jorg is in the way.

Jorg has a necromantic power he does not want, a mysterious copper box he fears to open, and a ghost who haunts him in private moments. His new, determined wife is an intriguing addition to the mix - young but fearsome - and Katherine has her own, most welcome point of view. Chella the necromancer appears again, and new characters are added, both allies and enemies.

King of Thorns, like Prince of Thorns, is a tale told on many levels. First, the battle plays out in breathless action and presents a series of strategic puzzles to be solved. Second, the pages of Katherine's diary, which are found blowing through the mountain valleys, are similarly scattered throughout the book. Third, intense flashbacks bring Jorg in contact with his family and new allies.

Told in Lawrence's trademark, lush prose, and never ceasing to surprise, King of Thorns pushes young Jorg ever more towards adulthood. I strongly recommend this book.

posted by Mazarkis on August 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book! This is the 2nd in the series & I did'nt think i

Good book! This is the 2nd in the series & I did'nt think it was good as the first. Jorg our ruthless "hero" stays the same & we get to meet the "brothers" in more detail. Mr. Lawrence does try to let you know when he is going back in time, ...
Good book! This is the 2nd in the series & I did'nt think it was good as the first. Jorg our ruthless "hero" stays the same & we get to meet the "brothers" in more detail. Mr. Lawrence does try to let you know when he is going back in time, but it becomes disjointed at times, making the shift between past & present confusing. At times he can focus too much detail of the land which can get a little boring. Over all a solid read.

posted by Arrat on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    King Jorg celebrates his wedding day but all is not auspicious:

    King Jorg celebrates his wedding day but all is not auspicious: the Prince of Arrow has surrounded the Haunt with thousands of men. On his way to becoming emperor, the prince will defeat all and any in his path - and Jorg is in the way.

    Jorg has a necromantic power he does not want, a mysterious copper box he fears to open, and a ghost who haunts him in private moments. His new, determined wife is an intriguing addition to the mix - young but fearsome - and Katherine has her own, most welcome point of view. Chella the necromancer appears again, and new characters are added, both allies and enemies.

    King of Thorns, like Prince of Thorns, is a tale told on many levels. First, the battle plays out in breathless action and presents a series of strategic puzzles to be solved. Second, the pages of Katherine's diary, which are found blowing through the mountain valleys, are similarly scattered throughout the book. Third, intense flashbacks bring Jorg in contact with his family and new allies.

    Told in Lawrence's trademark, lush prose, and never ceasing to surprise, King of Thorns pushes young Jorg ever more towards adulthood. I strongly recommend this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Simply an amazing continuation of this series! It grabs you and

    Simply an amazing continuation of this series! It grabs you and slowly embroils you in the plot and with a few twists has you begging for more. A great book by a great author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    A Must Read

    I was drawn in at the start with this book. It keeps you wanting to know what happens next. I liked this book so much that I am on the pre-release list for the next one in the series. Read it, you will enjoy it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Good book! This is the 2nd in the series & I did'nt think i

    Good book! This is the 2nd in the series & I did'nt think it was good as the first. Jorg our ruthless "hero" stays the same & we get to meet the "brothers" in more detail. Mr. Lawrence does try to let you know when he is going back in time, but it becomes disjointed at times, making the shift between past & present confusing. At times he can focus too much detail of the land which can get a little boring. Over all a solid read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Ui .jk

    Yiyim nmbmdjgj .nm . ?nmuinm yugjbmtijk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Amazing

    King of Thorns hooked me even deeper into Jorg's tale I can't to reach the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    recomend

    I enjoyed the trilogy. Not super but good and worth the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A very good continuation of the series, though slightly lacking

    A very good continuation of the series, though slightly lacking from the first book. I still enjoyed it, even with all the jumping around and confusion, in the end the story was connected, fascinating and I can't wait for the next one.

    Reminiscent of fantasy/"game of thrones" type of genre, with dark humor and cocky wit. So glad I stumbled across this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    PRINCE OF THORNS, the first book in THE BROKEN EMPIRE, was proba

    PRINCE OF THORNS, the first book in THE BROKEN EMPIRE, was probably my favorite discovery of 2011. The pace was swift, the action sharp as a knife, the prose subtly effective and the characters hiding unseen depths beneath their violent exteriors.
    So it’s high praise indeed that KING OF THORNS is even better than its predecessor.
    In the opening book, Lawrence chose to tell his story by introducing Jorg at his worst and then providing backstory primarily in the second half of the book. While I admire the tactic, I wonder how many readers Lawrence lost, people who never read to the second half of the book to find that while Jorg may not be a character you want to root for, he’s at least an understandable character.
    Of course, I love a good anti-hero — Raistlin Majere, Gerald Tarrant, Nicomo Cosca, anyone? — so Jorg was right up my alley.
    In KING OF THORNS, the tale bounces back and forth between the current action, in which an overpowering army prepares to invade the kingdom Jorg won in PRINCE OF THORNS, and four years earlier, when Jorg begins to explore his newly-won territory. It’s easy enough to tell which story thread each chapter addresses, as the chapters are all titled either “Four Years Ago” or “Wedding Day.”
    The two storylines work well together and take full advantage of the dynamic world Lawrence has created, one that can host ghosts and dreamwalkers and computers and trolls without feeling like an awkward mash-up.
    The secondary characters in the book aren’t given much time, but there are surprisingly likeable characters mixed in amongst the thugs who typically surround Jorg. In the first book, I liked characters such as The Nuban, Gorgoth, Gog and Morgog. In this book, Makin fills a similar role to that of The Nuban, and Gorgoth and Gog are key to the first half of the book. The two main female characters are also interesting. Nonetheless, none of the characters are explored too closely — in fact, Jorg is surprised in this book to learn the Nuban’s name.
    Of course, Jorg is a self-centered character, so it wouldn’t make sense for him to be too concerned about his compatriots’ back stories and motivations, but it also takes away some of the impact when members of the band die. At one point, Jorg gets angry and avenges a comrade’s death in bloody fashion, but afterwards he’s asked why he bothered — he never liked that fellow in the first place. Jorg has no answer to this query.
    Other characters die with only a passing mention.
    It fits, of course, with Jorg’s worldview — he truly doesn’t treasure the lives around him, so why would he stop and weep for the fallen? At times I’d like to see more reaction when one of my favorite characters dies, but that really doesn’t fit with the tone of these books — it’s a violent world with a violent protagonist.
    It’s a recipe that makes for a bloody (good) read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Loved both books from this series

    I love the anti-hero, he just speaks to the rebel in all of us. That need to push back for no other reason than we are being pushed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jorg said he would be King, and King he is, but can he keep hold

    Jorg said he would be King, and King he is, but can he keep hold of his throne?
    Book 2 picks up four years later and Mark Lawrence still delivers a good read! Now I have to wait until the next book comes out? Ugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Good

    I look forward to the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    IN YOUR FACE AGAIN - This book like the first in the series is a

    IN YOUR FACE AGAIN - This book like the first in the series is a fast paced romp through an apocalyptic medieval landscape where a nuclear holocaust in ages past has caused the veils between reality, sorcery and death to be very thin. This book also as in the first book of the series switches from the present involving a siege of the Haunt in Renar by the Prince of Arrow to the past involving a quest to find the fire mage, Ferrakind and the charred pages of the journal of the woman he loved. Jorg on the surface appears to be more humane and ethical as he is haunted by memories of his past actions to include the thousands he killed in Gelleth with a nuclear weapon – so haunted that he has some of his crushingly painful memories suspended in a small copper box. He also explains some of his seemingly cold blooded murders in the first book as being preemptive and rationale rather than psychotic. Jorg recognizes that some of his actions have been at least in part influenced by sorcerers – powers hiding behind the lords of the land. However, Jorg finds that he wants to be emperor much worse than he wants to be humane and ethical. The stratagems and tactics Jorg employs to snatch victory from defeat are entertaining although I grew a bit weary with the emphasis on fire throughout the book. Nevertheless, I am impatient to get my hands on the next book of this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3