Customer Reviews for

The King of Torts

Average Rating 4
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read!!

This book was one of the greatest books I've ever read. It was suspensful, mysterious, and it kept you guessing. I absolutely loved it and I would recommend it to anyone who loves to read!!

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

No characters to like!

John Grisham always does such a good job of fleshing out characters. So much so that the protagonists have their faults and the antagonists seems plausible. Here, the main character, Clay, just didn't appeal to me at all. I seemed to be rooting against him. There wa...
John Grisham always does such a good job of fleshing out characters. So much so that the protagonists have their faults and the antagonists seems plausible. Here, the main character, Clay, just didn't appeal to me at all. I seemed to be rooting against him. There was no one to root for. I know every book doesn't need those things but Grisham's novels usually do. Oh well, they all can't be gems.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 342 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed!

    Gotta love a good John Grisham. Poor Clay...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Blah!

    The story started out somewhat strong, but really fizzled out at the end. I never came to care about any of the characters in this book, and usually, I get drawn in by at least one. I didn't really care about the outcome of the book..I just wanted it to end. However, I was able to finish reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Not The Best

    Typical Grisham book - predictable to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Eh. It's...OK!

    I am a HUGE, HUGE, HUGE, HUGE, fan of John Grisham. Some of the best I've read by him are The Pelican Brief, The Client, The Partner, and the Testament. This one, the King of Torts, was all right. It had the perfect gripping sentence, but it didn't grip me. It had all the perfect ingredients in a typical legal thriller: lawyer, tough case, lawsuits, and all, but Grisham just didn't cook the ingredients into something I wanted. The story said it was about Clay Carter taking on a big case against a pharmaceutical company, which he did, but only for a short while. The book, in truth, is just about Clay in his first year of properly working as a lawyer and his successes and flaws with the cases he takes against many companies. If you're a die-hard Grisham fan like me, go for it. But, you might think it sucks, rocks, or if you're like me, think it's in between!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Great Book a real page turner

    Loved all the twists and turns. A easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    High reading level, easy with the nook though! But great read!

    Awesome book. keeps you hanging on your chair/couch till the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Like a story from the headlines, could be straight out of the newspaper or better yet, straight out of court records.

    Both my husband and I enjoyed King of Torts, by John Grisham. The plot has a couple of twists. The story contains neither gratuitous violence nor sex. Towards the end you know what is going to happen, what has got to happen, and yet you're still not sure. It deals with a current issue; tort law, suing for damages caused by a person or company's negligence. It could easily be today's newspaper story or legal scandal. The story made us think about how our legal system works; when is justice fair to the victim and when it just a money maker for the lawyers? We found the book, King of Torts, to be very interesting, nicely written to keep ones attention, easy to read, and one we would recommend to our friends and colleagues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Miss Grisham

    Classic Grisham. Brings to light a more clearer picture of the mass tort law firms. How the mass tort system works, who it affects and how it affects them. Several issues from several prospectives both legal and ethical are wonderfully covered within the scope of the plot. A really eye opening look for me at this slice of the legal pie. A dicussion/debate worthy novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Provocative with a quasi-likable protagonist

    I found the slimy world of class action torts to provide a fairly provocative story line for this Grisham novel. While it's hard to root for a main character who slips into the world of non-redeeming qualities, Clay Carter is nonetheless an interesting and conflicted character. Certainly the ramifications for clients in the mass tort system is revealed even if the narrative is sometimes over the top. Worth the read but don't get overly excited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    John Grisham..King of Torts

    John Grisham always keeps you guessing and wanting more. You never know until the end how the story will end up. With all the ambulance chasers that are present and mass litigation that is in the news and television, this is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    classic Grisham

    As always John Grisham proves that he is one of the elite in writing mystery and suspense novels. I have previously read The Firm and The Last Juror, and The King of Torts offers a new point of view to scandal and ethics. Clay Carter is a lawyer who works at the Office of the Public Defender and has worked there for five years. He is unhappy with what he does and how much he makes there, until he finally finds a way to get out and forms his own firm. He gets into a lot of trouble before getting what he wants. He takes the case of a young man charged with murder, which he assumes is just another random street killing. As he explores the history of Tequila, his client, he meets Max Pace, a man who reveals a hidden truth about a drug company that has been making a bad drug called Tarvan. This drug has been testing under privileged and delinquent boys in urban cities because they knew the side affects were random violent rampages. The drug company tried to pass off this violence as street killings. Max offers Clay to help him silence the victims that had being use this drug paying them five million dollars. Clay takes the risk and trust Max, and Max gives Clay fifteen million dollars to help him silence the people for the drug company. Later Max gives Clay more cases and helps him get his own firm. Clay turns into a successful tort lawyer in a short period of time. Clay soon finds himself rich and famous as the ¿King of Torts¿. Soon he finds himself in legal trouble with the FBI and he loses most of his cases. He has to file for bankruptcy and flee the country. This is a classic John Grisham, and I don¿t know who wouldn¿t enjoy this book. Well maybe if you're a boring person, then probably not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    Predictable

    This book had a great plot and it caught my attention at the begining and end. Now having said that after getting through about a third of this book I could see exactly what was going to happen next,even though I enjoyed the end. So for me this book was just okay, I was really just waiting and wanting something that I didn't expect coming to happen so for me it was kind of a let down that I predicted exactly what happened in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Very Good Grisham Novel, But Not Great

    Unlike other John Grisham novels, this book didn't grab me in the first few pages. I had to read a couple of chapters before I really got into it. The King of Torts does not have the same suspensful intrigue that other Grisham novels have. With that being said, it is a very interesting look into class action law and the tort system. It also shows what sudden wealth can do to someone that is not prepared for it. I recommend this book to all Grisham fans and anyone interested in the lawyer genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Interesting

    I am a big fan of John Grisham's legal novels ever since A Time to Kill. In fact, i must admit that during my high school years after reading his novels, i was inspired to take up law and hopefully become a lawyer. Anyway, i bought and read this book because at that the time i was taking up a 2nd year law subject called Torts and damages. I find the book the book very interesting although i was a bit disappointed when Grisham decided to skip with the legal principles involved when dealing with tortious acts, nevertheless it jarred my databank with regard to parmaceutical companies engaged in tortious activities with impunity. All in all, the book is interesting and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    good but predictable

    this book is good. 3 stars, but it is too predictable. not Grisham's best work. far from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Disappointing

    When I got to the end of the book, I was not pleased. Was this book supposed to be thriller fiction? If so, the attempt at creating the suspense effect was very disappointing. The book definitely had a plot to it. However, this book was not what I would have expected of someone of the same caliber as the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Must read..!

    I became a fan of the character of Clay Carter, the book is so beautifully written, a very unpredictable end, you'd wish it was the other way round...!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    READ THIS BOOK!!!

    I couldnt put this book down! Its as if i wanted to get to bed early just so that i could read! These is a great book. It sucks you in and - just like most of Grisham's novels - is so intense that you feel like your standing right next to the character as he learns secret after devastating secret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Slow, plodding, almost predictable

    While I am John Grisham fan this book simply did not fulfill my expectations. There seemed to be numerous plots within the book and little connecting all the stories. I kept waiting for Grisham to connect all the dots and he never did. At the end of the book I felt like I had finished a movie which producers blatently left the end of the film open for a sequal. The characters are predictable and the story gripping at times, plodding at others. The twists in the book are hardly surprising, until the end, and the biggest shock was the unanswered questions. Grisham closes the book leaving the reader with more questions than answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Surprising end !!

    I would recommend this book because the story symbolize the corupt society we have nowadays and it colud be interesting , even if its not real.You learn how people just can buy your soul to forget, or to beleive that money can solve everything. Money only destroys your view of life and makes you so greedy that you make so huge mistakes...Wich you can see in tis book! A exciting intrigue and unexpected turnings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 342 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18