Customer Reviews for

The King of Torts

Average Rating 4
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Irresistable Proposal

Successful writer John Grisham dazzles readers in his novel, The King of Torts, where he makes a moving argument about how greed is, once again, man¿s tragedy. We¿re captured in the average life of thirty two year old Clay Carter, a lawyer providing free legal c...
Successful writer John Grisham dazzles readers in his novel, The King of Torts, where he makes a moving argument about how greed is, once again, man¿s tragedy. We¿re captured in the average life of thirty two year old Clay Carter, a lawyer providing free legal counsel to impecunious defendants at the Office of the Public Defender where he has worked for a consecutive five years, and dreams of one day working in a real firm. He reluctantly takes the case of a young man charged with murder, which he assumes is just another random street killing. As explores the history of his client, however, Clay meets Max Pace, a man who reveals a hidden truth about a giant pharmaceutical company that has been testing anti-addiction medication on drug addicts. Even though the drug showed hopeful results, a small percentage of the users turned homicidal including Clay¿s client. Max offers Clay a deal: to help silence the victim¿s families with five million dollar settlements given by Max¿s employer and if the job is done successfully, Clay would receive fifteen million dollars. Tantalized by the offer of a new future, Clay agrees thinking he does not have much to lose. The job is a complete success and Clay begins his own firm. As time progresses, Pace provides new information and new cases helping Clay turn into a successful tort lawyer in a short period of time. Clay soon finds himself rich and famous as the ¿King of Torts.¿ Tort lawyers are attorneys that file large class action suits that bring massive payouts from corporations however, very little money goes to the plaintiffs but huge amounts go to the lawyers who represent them. Grisham depicts tort lawyers as vultures interested only in increasing personal fortunes as they drive corporations into bankruptcy. As you get deeper into the novel, you tumble down the spiral of greed, financial woes, and looming disaster, tempting you to read until the bitter end.

posted by Anonymous on May 25, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

No characters to like!

John Grisham always does such a good job of fleshing out characters. So much so that the protagonists have their faults and the antagonists seems plausible. Here, the main character, Clay, just didn't appeal to me at all. I seemed to be rooting against him. There wa...
John Grisham always does such a good job of fleshing out characters. So much so that the protagonists have their faults and the antagonists seems plausible. Here, the main character, Clay, just didn't appeal to me at all. I seemed to be rooting against him. There was no one to root for. I know every book doesn't need those things but Grisham's novels usually do. Oh well, they all can't be gems.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Just as good the second time

    I read this book so long ago that I had forgotten most of it so I decided to read it again. I thoroughly enjoyed it this time, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    LEGAL THRILLER FOR LAWYER WANNABEES

    Although I never got my law degree - and had to settle for my Master of Arts in Political Science and a Masters of Science in Hotel & Food Service Management - I have been obsessed with legal thrillers! Why? The degrees I received had enough 'pre-law' type courses to whet my appetite for the legal profession. KING OF TORTS takes on the hottest topic in the United States today - the law and the unbelievable amount of 'class action suits' and money to be made - much of it for lawyers; with clients expecting their fact share! YOU - believe it or not may PERSONALLY be confronted by a class action suit - sooner than you think ! A MUST READ *****+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Outstanding Book

    I was in ottawa for vacation this past week and i just happened to pass a bookstore. I was choosing books when i happened to come across this book. It was fantastic!! I couldn't put it down if my life depended on it. I read it all in the bookstore and then brought it and re-read it. The plot and the story were all very well written. John Grisham is still the king of the courts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Right up there with The Firm! I've read them all, and this one

    Right up there with The Firm! I've read them all, and this one was FABULOUS! A true glimpse into the world of legal greed! I have no doubt this is the stuff that lawyers are made of, and the unsuspecting public is none the wiser. A wild ride Grisham! Keep em comin if they're all like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Amazing!!!

    John Grisham has yet again shown us his talent for writing. Love, monry, the law, and a complex plot will keep you reading until the lastbpage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Greedy

    Clay is greedy good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Another good Grisham book

    This is one of his best. Good read. Hard to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed!

    Gotta love a good John Grisham. Poor Clay...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Great Book a real page turner

    Loved all the twists and turns. A easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    High reading level, easy with the nook though! But great read!

    Awesome book. keeps you hanging on your chair/couch till the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    John Grisham..King of Torts

    John Grisham always keeps you guessing and wanting more. You never know until the end how the story will end up. With all the ambulance chasers that are present and mass litigation that is in the news and television, this is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    READ THIS BOOK!!!

    I couldnt put this book down! Its as if i wanted to get to bed early just so that i could read! These is a great book. It sucks you in and - just like most of Grisham's novels - is so intense that you feel like your standing right next to the character as he learns secret after devastating secret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    Excellent Story

    This book is an excellent story of the power of money. I found it interesting how it ended however. Grisham does a great job at these twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    One of his best works!!!

    INCREDIBLE!!! Once i started reading I couldn't stop. Grisham will captivate you with The King Of Torts, you experiance first hand the journey a young attorney takes as his career thrusts forward and the corruption that faces everyday life whether you know it or not... a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    John Grisham is back!!

    This one was a real page turner, it reminded me of the suspense of 'The Firm', for awhile although a devoted fan, the books got a 'cookie cutter' feel, but in the 'King of Torts' the spark is back. This one maybe the best ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    Biggest John Grisham Fan Ever...

    I loved it. I always read John Grisham and I think this book was spectacular. No wonder why it was a bestseller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    A Great Grisham

    A modern ballot of extravagant spending, corporate cover ups and a public defender. Great twisting plot, a hard one to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    David - Grisham fan

    I have read all of John Grisham's books, including this one. I really like them all and definalty had a hard time putting this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Horror Story!

    Yeah, this was a legal thriller but the fact that such things can (and do!) happen in out jurisprudence system make it a horror story. All the cliche's apply: roller-coaster, couldn't put it down, etc. But if they apply are they still cliches?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    Smashing

    Once again John Grisham Delivers! This book is truly Awesome, you cannot put it down! You really do believe that the characters, and events are real. Keep up the excellent work Mr. Grisham!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7