BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Kingdom of Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful and exciting!

Set in the 1400's, Jenny and Royce's love is the kind of love that endures no matter the adversities they have to face to be with each other. Captive or not, Jenny comes to love her captor, kind of like PERFECT, which is another one of McNaughts that I fell in live with...
Set in the 1400's, Jenny and Royce's love is the kind of love that endures no matter the adversities they have to face to be with each other. Captive or not, Jenny comes to love her captor, kind of like PERFECT, which is another one of McNaughts that I fell in live with, (Contemporary).
Kidnapped from the Scottish abbey to be used as a weapon against her own father, Jennifer uses her quick wit to fight Royce, her captor. Their relationship is brought to an abrupt end when Jenny is rescued. Peace between the two countries does not extend to their new castle. Royce and Jenny must find each other all over again, before it becomes too late.
I love this format! Wonderful and exciting! Great summer read!!!

posted by hannahprescott on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good not Amazing but Good

although i read this book in two days i would hardly call it a page turner. i was however intrigued, and it was interesting in parts, what i can't get over is that royce and jenny love eachother even though royce killed her brother. i just dont see a love story in this....
although i read this book in two days i would hardly call it a page turner. i was however intrigued, and it was interesting in parts, what i can't get over is that royce and jenny love eachother even though royce killed her brother. i just dont see a love story in this. i hated the way judith made royce kill a family memeber on accident. and then made it seem like it was ok? also i hated how again and again jenny made royce look like a fool. over all not one of my favorite books. this was the first book i read by judith mcnuaght and i wasn't impressed. although i am going to read another one of her books just to give her another chance.

posted by Anonymous on March 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful and exciting!

    Set in the 1400's, Jenny and Royce's love is the kind of love that endures no matter the adversities they have to face to be with each other. Captive or not, Jenny comes to love her captor, kind of like PERFECT, which is another one of McNaughts that I fell in live with, (Contemporary).
    Kidnapped from the Scottish abbey to be used as a weapon against her own father, Jennifer uses her quick wit to fight Royce, her captor. Their relationship is brought to an abrupt end when Jenny is rescued. Peace between the two countries does not extend to their new castle. Royce and Jenny must find each other all over again, before it becomes too late.
    I love this format! Wonderful and exciting! Great summer read!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT ROMANCE AT ITS FINEST!

    This novel is something every self-respecting romance reader should at least have read, if not have for keeps. I've probably read this a dozen times and I never get tired of it. Full of passion, humor, and even a dash of action. Very rich in that deep emotional turbulence that only MS Mcnaught can deliver. Not just conflict in the feelings between the hero and the heroine, but also among the other characters. what I also really loved about this novel is that I have a learned a lot about medieval England, framed against the backdrop of a fairy-tale like romance.<BR/>for any Mcnaught enthusiast, the signature "misunderstandings" and "assumptions" between the hero and the heroine is very evident here. Royce and Jennifer had a long heart-rending journey to make before they reached their happily ever after ending. There were issues abounding regarding family loyalty, acceptance, trust, and finally letting oneself take the risk in falling in love. Both characters had serious emotional dilemma that they had to confront, making the story highly relatable and realistic. Just like a sumptuous masterpiece of a dinner laid out in an ethereal setting, Ms Mcnaught ended the story with the perfect touch, like a delicate piece of dessert; fills you completely and leaves you with a well-satisfied smile on your face. This novel is one of the best in historical romance, proving yet again why the name Judith Mcnaught is a force in the romance genre...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A very forgetable story... Thank God!

    I read this book years ago and did not like it at all. When it was recently recommended to me by B&N I knew it looked familiar, but could not remember what it was about. Reading the summary it all cam crashing back to me.

    My main point of dislike is the heroine who was unlikeable. She's a demanding shrew who can't see what was good, not perfect but good, about the man in front of her because she was busy sticking up for her horrible family. This all led up to a tournament near the end of the book where Jennifer almost proves herself unredeemable while getting Royce, the leading man, killed. She wasn't fiesty, she was a brat. It seemed less like a romance and more like Survivor.

    I'm a McNaught fan, but this book is definately not one to keep. Check out some of her other books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Good not Amazing but Good

    although i read this book in two days i would hardly call it a page turner. i was however intrigued, and it was interesting in parts, what i can't get over is that royce and jenny love eachother even though royce killed her brother. i just dont see a love story in this. i hated the way judith made royce kill a family memeber on accident. and then made it seem like it was ok? also i hated how again and again jenny made royce look like a fool. over all not one of my favorite books. this was the first book i read by judith mcnuaght and i wasn't impressed. although i am going to read another one of her books just to give her another chance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Love this book!

    Judith Mcnaught is a new discovery for me, and this book has made me a huge fan! I was truely enthralled by this story. It was funny and hugely romantic with lots of really fun secondary characters that just made this book fantastic. You'll laugh out loud and cry in sympathy through out this wonderful book. It's a keeper!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Kingdom of Dreams

    I bought Whitney, My Love, my first Judith McNaught book on the 15th of April. I have now read 4 of Judith's books. I cannot tell you how much I loved this book. I read Whitney, My Love and just didn't think another book could be written as well and as captivating. I was wrong. This is as good as it gets. Judith McNaught is the best. After reading Whitney, Until you and then Kingdom of Dreams, I am just amazed. (I just finished Something wonderful, also, and that is fantastic too) But Kingdom and Whitney are so wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2000

    ANOTHER BEST!

    I READ EVERYTHING THAT THIS LADY WRITES . . ALL OF HER BOOKS ARE FANTASTIC. . .THEY REACH CLEAR INTO YOUR SOUL AND MAKE YOU LOVE THE CHARACTERS AND YOU CAN NOT PUT HER BOOKS DOWN UNTIL YOU ARE SURE THE CHARACTERS ARE ALL WELL TAKEN CARE OF . . .SHE IS ONE REMARAKABLE AUTHOR . .ANOTHER GREAT NOVEL THAT TOUCHES THE CENTER OF YOUR HEART IS STOLEN MOMENTS BY BARBARA JEANNE FISHER . .I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMEND BOTH BOOKS TO EVERYONE . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2000

    This novel deserve more stars!

    Wow! What can I say. This book has taken me by surprise. I didn't know what to expect when I bought this book. I thought it was just the same as any of the romantic novel I've read so far. That was proven to be just as wrong when I begin reading it and couldn't put the book down. Ever since that I've read it over again and again. I only finished in about one day! Judith McNaught is the best romance writer ever. Thank you for such a heartwarming book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    A Kingdom of Dreams was great, I want more!!!!!!

    I thought this book was great.This was my 1st book from Judith and I couldn't put it down. I hope she decides to continue the story of Royce and Jennifer (Stefan & Brenna too)It makes you want to have a man like Royce(not the bad part) he sounds so sexy. I'll read it again and again until there's more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    Judith McNaught has done it again!

    This lady's books are the personification of what romance is. Believe me, I've read almost all of her books.I'm a real McNaught buff. Let me tell whoever is considering buying this book, please do! Because real romantic buffs read McNaught. My college friends and I go crazy over her.In a Kingdom of Dreams, the emotions were sizzling between Royce Westemoreland and Jennifer Merrick. And let's just say she caused a - little trouble for him. But he hung in and found that, although she was violent, she was a woman meant to be loved. She was the daughter of a Scottish Lord, one that was misunderstood and labelled evil through treachery by her friends and family, which led her to create an imaginary kingdom where she corrects the wrongs and becomes a hero ; he was a knight,The Wolf called he, loyal to his English king and who suppressed the Scots and whose name caused fear to chill their blood. Odd mix, but the recipe for true romance. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    A Kingdom of Dreams far surpassed my expectations.

    A Kingdom of Dreams was a wonderfully romantic novel that kept my attention through every twist and turn of the plot. You won't be able to put this book down until it's finished, and then you might just start at the beginning again! Jenny was an incredible heroine, full of youthful, and idealic aspirations about her future. She was no cardboard cutout perfect beauty. She often made mistakes, which are common for one so young. Her age did not affect my reading enjoyment what-so-ever (I don't usually relate to heroine's that are half my age) She was the perfect combination of youthful exuberance and womanly courage. I loved how she cleverly outwitted Royce, or rather how he allowed her to in the end. Those Westmorelands are one sexy bunch! I knew I was in trouble when Royce began to invade my dreams! What a man, tough-as-nails, yet he had a very tender and gentle heart. One that felt compassion and empathy, but never compromised his masculinity. Read this story, you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Great romance novel. Perfect amount of plot and romance. 

    Great romance novel. Perfect amount of plot and romance. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    I read this book back in the early 90's and still pick it up and

    I read this book back in the early 90's and still pick it up and read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I honestly don't know why people gave this book great reviews be

    I honestly don't know why people gave this book great reviews because it wasn't all that great to me. The characters emotions were almost always out of line and never made sense. And when he/she should have been feeling a certain way, they weren't. I'm not sure if I was just confused by this book and that's why I did not like it, or because it truly was terrible...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    what age group would you recommend this for ?

    what age group would you recommend this for ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    This could be one of my favorites. It's the first Judith McNaug

    This could be one of my favorites. It's the first Judith McNaught book I read. Hands down... I loved it!! It has everything you could want in a passionate love story and is written with humor and wit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    excellent read

    excellent read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    This was an excellent read. I was up half the night because I di

    This was an excellent read. I was up half the night because I did not want to put this book down. The story is full of twists and turns, the characters are appealing and Jennifer's antics had me in stitches. This is one book that is definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    please come out with this for nook

    I so wish this was out for nook!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    recomended but..........

    i like it, but it is like almost the last in my list of favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8